We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good to awful” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Japanese Kitchen Sushi Bar

Japanese Kitchen Sushi Bar
6521 Americas Pkwy NE, Albuquerque, NM 87110 (Uptown)
(505) 884-8937
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #526 of 1,398 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Uptown
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pretty good to awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Highly inconsistent. At times, probably when the fish has arrived on that particularly day, it's pretty good. And at other times it's awful, as is often the case on weekends. The quality of the fish the last time was extremely poor, and made both of us ill. The service is lackluster at best, and the wait staff seems to change every time we've stopped in. It's a shame, really, as now that the grossly under-appreciated Noda's Japanese restaurant is no more, there's really no place in Albuquerque to get good quality sushi.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    14
    8
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bernalillo
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Entertaining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

It's always fun to watch the cooks, and the surprised looks around the table. The food is fresh, and cooked to order, and the ambience is very nice!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

This is my favorite restaurant, bar none. Fantastic food, authentic atmosphere. I go here every year on my birthday, often we I live elsewhere!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Best Chirashi sushi I've eaten”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

I try the chirashi sushi in most Japanese restaurants. Here, it was very well presented (in beautiful lacquered layer box). The best variety of fish and seafood were beautifully displayed. The flavoring of the rice was subtle, the fish and seafood very fresh. Out of all the restaurants I've tried, this is the best.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Love their sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

This is the only place I get my sushi from I have encountered no problems when I eat here. The service has always been great the food delicious we definitely leave here full :-)

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Japanese Kitchen Sushi Bar also viewed

Albuquerque, NM
Albuquerque, NM
 

Been to Japanese Kitchen Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Japanese Kitchen Sushi Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.