We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I haven't been to Monroe's in a while” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Monroe's Restaurant

Monroe's Restaurant
1520 Lomas Blvd NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104-1255 (Downtown)
505-242-1454
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 1,533 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Price range: $5 - $5
Cuisines: Mexican, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Neighborhood: Downtown
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
“I haven't been to Monroe's in a while”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I used to frequent the restaurant and the food used to be fantastic. Today, on my lunch hour I decided to try again.
The wait for service was long-the ala carte burrito took 30 minutes to prepare. The restaurant was busy but everyone was getting their food relatively quickly.
When the food finally came-it was terrible! Dry and tasteless. It was not cheap either.
I will never go there again on my lunch break.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    43
    16
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Incredible!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

We found Monroe's by using trip advisor. I had the seafood enchiladas and they were delicious. The service was the best we have had in months. The waiters work as a team, a unique concept, so we did not sit without water when a waiter would pass our table, they all took care of us. Next time we are visiting we will definitely return to Monroe. Thanks Monroe's and tripadvisor.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“New Mexican Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The atmosphere and Enchiladas with sopaipillas and honey are out of this world....
Salsa and chips were homemade and also great.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portales, New Mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful New Mexican cuisine.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is the original Monroe's and you will often find the owner here. He is a delightful gentleman and if he recommends a special, try it! When he cooks you will enjoy your meal.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great New Mexican food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Yummy food at this casual spot in ABQ. Great value for excellent chile rellanos, enchiladas, burritos, tacos and green chile cheeseburgers. The servers were super friendly!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monroe's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Monroe's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monroe's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.