We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and value. Not otherwise memorable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monroe's Restaurant

Monroe's Restaurant
1520 Lomas Blvd NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104-1255 (Downtown)
505-242-1454
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 1,404 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $5
Cuisines: Mexican, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
Neighborhood: Downtown
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Good food and value. Not otherwise memorable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We checked out this restaurant based on Trip Advisor reviews -- actually based on the photo attached to the reviews. My golly, the food looked amazing in the photo. I was sure there would be unique and interesting Mexican food. Well, not quite. The menu is basic fare -- which is very well prepared. The ambiance -- well, there is none. The meal was very good and a good price -- but not memorable at all. Will look elsewhere next time in Albuquerque.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    52
    16
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
402 reviews 402 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
445 helpful votes 445 helpful votes
“wonderful lunch, sparkling floors, helpful and happy staff, great owner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

it was meant to be, we stopped by Skip Mansels NAtive Indians Goods store on Central in Downtown, to shop for gifts before leaving town and realized we were hungry, asked one of the folks at Skips and they recommended Monroes, nearby so we went. Have to say it was the best meal in New Mexico and maybe the whole trip. Our's was a routine meal cheese enchiladas platter, and son had one of the combinations. We were both very satisfied. When I think of Mexican/Southwestern I think of entree beans and rice, nothing real fancy just plain good food.... all was fresh, hot, and made on site...BRAVO! The thing that struck me walking in how clean the floors and the dining room was very organized, the staff was happy upbeat and helpful, mostly 40 somethings..glad to have met them, and the food was really very good. thank you Monroes for making our last meal in New Mexico a really great one! Best wishes in 2013 and beyond!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bent NM
Top Contributor
340 reviews 340 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 230 cities Reviews in 230 cities
240 helpful votes 240 helpful votes
“Good workmanlike Mexican food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Monroe's is a good, middle-of-the-road restaurant with offerings produced in a professional manner, presented quickly and nicely, and pleasing to the palate. It is mid-priced and worth every penny. But I agree with reviewer mbin8910 below that there are many better places to eat in Albuquerque.
Quick and polite service keeps the place busy.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Delicious New Mexican Food, Great Salsa, Reasonable Prices.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

What a great find! My wife and I were driving from Flagstaff, AZ, to Santa Rosa, NM, and decided to stop for a late lunch. She was in the mood for Mexican food, so we logged onto TripAdvisor and found Monroe's.

Our server was fun, laid back, and hilarious. The food was delicious and not too heavy (a big plus when you still have hours of driving ahead of you). We liked it all so much that we bought a couple of their three-salsa gift packs for family we were meeting down the road.

Eat at Monroe's… you'll thank me later! :)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“We cleaned our plates...... FAST!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

On our way back from the Fiesta Bowl in Phoenix we were in the mood for quality New Mexican food. We sure found it! Menu has great variety and this food isn't dirt cheap for a reason! We made our selections and saw our food within 10 minutes easily. From stuffed sopapillas to enchiladas and fajitas everything was top notch! Green and red chillies are a MUST. But don't stop there; order dessert too, sopapilla (again) and fried ice cream were our targets and again we were impressed! A great place to stop while passing through and cheaply a local favorite! Just shy of 5 stars.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monroe's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Monroe's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monroe's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.