We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Multiple Good Experiences” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Church Street Cafe

Church Street Cafe
2111 Church St NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104-1408 (West Old Town)
505-247-8522
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 1,536 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Price range: $0 - $14
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: West Old Town
Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Multiple Good Experiences”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

My wife and I have eaten at the Church Street Cafe numerous times and always direct out-of-town friends and family there when they visit. At first I thought it was a small (cramped) restaurant, but it is actually quite large passed the first dinning area. If you visit when the weather is nice, ask to be seated out on the back patio area otherwise ask for a seat in the back room. I prefer the breakfast menu, but you can find some great lunch items too. The service can be hit or miss. I've had some of the best service there, but I've also had one or two lackluster servers. As the cafe is located in a tourist spot, the prices are a little higher than you would expect (though not ridiculously overpriced). Occasionally, musicians play in the restaurant and the back patio which is a real treat, especially when the musician is guitarist Ronaldo Baca. We've had a small event at the restaurant and had a wonderful time and the service and food was great.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    368
    310
    116
    65
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Historic, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Our motel owner recommended church cafe & it was not disappointing. The very old building was decorated beautifully for Christmas, & although we got off to a slow start service- wise, our server made up for it with a complimentary queso dip & a good attitude. Food & margaritas were delicious & portions super generous for a very economical price. Would recommend & definitely return on a future trip to ABQ

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponca, Arkansas
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Nice cultural Albuquerque dining experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

The combination of cultural ambience and the excellent Mexican food made this restaurant a big winner in our book during a week-long stay in Albuquerque. We enjoyed it so much, we dined there three times! We particularly loved sitting in the fireplace room with its floor-to-ceiling Christmas tree. The only reason I did not give CSC 5 stars is because I felt the margaritas were a little on the "mass production" side in terms of taste. But, the tamales and guacamole? Bravo! Bonus perk: the restaurant is located in historic Old Town, which makes visiting the restaurant an added pleasure.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We end up at this place because the High Noon was too high dollar. It came recommended by our High Noon server. When you walk into the place it appears very small, but after a few turns, it opened into a beautiful serving room with a real wood fireplace. The NM Beer options were tasty and the strawberry margarita awesome.... But the food... WAS out of this world!! I was running short of time, but would definitely have lingered over a couple more beer and margaritas. And maybe had dessert.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The real deal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

For authentic New Mexican food in a friendly comfortable atmosphere you can't beat The Church Street Care! The fahitas were fresh and tasty. I had the steak and my wife had the vegetarian and we both enjoyed them immensely. The cafe also featured a good selection of wines and local herpes.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Church Street Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Church Street Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Church Street Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.