We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty nice dining in Old Town.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Church Street Cafe

Church Street Cafe
2111 Church St NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104-1408 (West Old Town)
505-247-8522
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 1,536 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Price range: $0 - $14
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: West Old Town
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
276 reviews 276 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Pretty nice dining in Old Town.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had a nice luncheon meal which was heightened by an over the top server named Daniel. He was incredibly good and helpful. The food was very good and some of the best and freshest Mexican that we have had. No complaints on any of it in our party of seven. We are all very critical of everything but really could not find much to complain about. We had a 30 minute wait for a table but we knew that going in. Would definitely return to this place. We loved the location, the facility and the staff.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    368
    310
    116
    65
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Clueless Server Kills Dinner”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We heard good things about this place in Albuquerque. Upon arrival, we were shown a four-top in a back courtyard which only added to the ambience. Our perky server was able to recite the menu verbatim and quickly wrote down our drink and dinner selections. She must have undergone a significant transformation on her way back to the kitchen as everything from that point on was wrong. Simple requests such as having the red and green chili on the side instead of it being lathered on top, placing plates of cold to lukewarm in front of us, and failure to check back with us were only part of our disaster in dining. Even our drink orders were twice mixed up. Our server ruined the evening. We left very disappointed in an eatery which has promise. Management should realize that untrained and inept servers will kill business.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Maryland
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“New Mexican in Old Towne”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Great service, large portions. A little bit touristy, but not over the top. Lots of seating and reasonably priced.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“what a suprise- such nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Our daughter told us about this not miss place. We had
a delightful dinner and great food. It is on church street !
Treat youself for a nice experience

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclenny, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was our last meal before leaving the wonderful state of New Mexico for home. We stopped in for breakfast before visiting the museum in Old Town. Wonderful breakfast - extra large helpings. I ordered the small breakfast burrito and it was almost too large. Wish I could get the green chili sauce here in Florida. The service was wonderful - friendly, attentive. Beautiful atmosphere in this authentic historical building.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Church Street Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Church Street Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Church Street Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.