We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot and good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monica's El Portal

Monica's El Portal
321 Rio Grande Blvd NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104 (West Old Town)
(505) 247-9625
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 1,562 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: West Old Town
Vienna, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Hot and good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Wanted to try authentic (i.e. non-touristy) New Mexican food, selected this restaurant based on reviews from Yelp. Love the margarita, tried both red and green chili (the green is way hot) but it was all very good. Great service and reasonable prices.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    38
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Soldotna, Alaska
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Quick stop for Mexican food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The staff was excellent and seated our group quickly. Our orders were prepared and all served quickly. The food ran from average to very good, depending on what was ordered. But all in all quite satisfactory. The location is close to old town AND has ample parking, which is worth points!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Super awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The food here is great! Oh my gosh, we were impressed. The chili is hot, everything tasted SO good! Very friendly staff. We will be back for sure!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Ranchos de Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good Mexican Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was the first place we ate at when we moved to Albuquerque. Staff are very friendly and food is out of this world...but is hot (green chilis). So if you are afraid of spicy (hot) food...let them know. Also had them cater an event....and everyone commented on how good it was. Don't miss this place when in Albuquerque and when visiting old town.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Gotta Eat Here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Best Mexican food we have ever had. It's like Grandma is in the kitchen cooking for you with love. Ingredients were fresh and the tortillas soft and yummy.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monica's El Portal also viewed

 

Been to Monica's El Portal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monica's El Portal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.