We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gotta Eat Here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monica's El Portal

Monica's El Portal
321 Rio Grande Blvd NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104 (West Old Town)
(505) 247-9625
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 1,536 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: West Old Town
California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Gotta Eat Here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Best Mexican food we have ever had. It's like Grandma is in the kitchen cooking for you with love. Ingredients were fresh and the tortillas soft and yummy.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    36
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Always a pleasant experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My family and friends have eaten at Monica's for years. The food is delicious and the staff works hard to make each visit a pleasant experience. The sopapillas are outstanding - the best in Albuquerque! If you are in the Old Town area, don't miss this great dining experience.

My husband enjoys the carne adobada. The green chile always is a delight!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best New Mexican cuisine at good prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We have gone to Monica's many times and it does not disappoint. While the interior is simple, it is perfect for the simple but delicious fare. We started the meal with warm chips and great salsa. My usual selection is the Carne Adovada, which is the best I have had. My wife and other family members enjoy the combination platters, some of which offer tamales or chile rellenos. No menu choice has disappointed. Most importantly the sopapillas are wonderful and two are served with many of the meals.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Great food. I enjoyed my carne adobada chimichanga very much. Lunch on the patio was nice. No chips & salsa but 2 sopapillas more than made up for it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent food, very accomodating to menu modifications.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We kind of stumbled on Monica's the night we got into Albuquerque, based on TripAdvisor reviews. We were a little bit worried when we walked in, as there was not a single other diner in the place (we were early, but not THAT early). Our waitress was very pleasant, taking time to answer our menu questions and to go get answers from the kitchen for the one's she didn't know. We loved the food, and by the time we left, the place was packed with what appeared to be regulars, so I guess we just ate a lot earlier than the locals. Very, very good chili rellenos, and enchiladas. Reasonably priced.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monica's El Portal also viewed

 

Been to Monica's El Portal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monica's El Portal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.