We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When I Said Bar-B-Q, This is What I Was Talking About” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rudy's Country Store & Bar-B-Q

Rudy's Country Store & Bar-B-Q
2321 Carlisle Blvd NE, Albuquerque, NM 87110
(505) 884-4000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 1,536 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Price range: $8 - $8
Cuisines: Barbecue, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Yachats, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“When I Said Bar-B-Q, This is What I Was Talking About”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The GPS said Rudy's Bar-B-Q. Rudy was Carol's father's name so with a name like that it will be good so we said let go. You are greeted with a sign that says "World's worst Bar-B-Q. What is with that I asked. Well, they said: "Everybody else claims to have 'the best,' we thought we would be different." They are. The brisket is the best we have ever had. The ribs are FOB (fall off bone) the atmosphere is pure Czech Republic beer hall with country music. Long tables with red checked vinyl table cloths.

The absolute highlight of their menu is the creamed corn. Get a double portion to start with and it will save you a trip back to get another one. We were traveling in an RV so we got a pint to go. We just wanted a snack later that day. Your right we ate the whole pint.

The meat is sold by the pound so you can get any amount you want.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    99
    40
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Rudy's is a great place to go for Barbeque.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Their prime rib is excellent and their service is very casual. We discovered the original Rudy's in Texas several years ago. It had a big sign, "The worst BBQ in Texas" It has to be some of the best BBQ offered in a franchise setting in New Mexico. You can also take it home! I highly recommend this for lunch.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We love their BBQ and the atmosphere is very casual. Great place to drop in and eat or take it home. If we have lots of company in town, we will pick up some of their briskett, ham and sausage links.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“O M G What an Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Where can you find yourself sitting with half the ABQ police force whilst munching on amazing BBQ? Rudy's!! We walked in not knowing what to expect and were greeted at the door by a member of staff who went through the procedure with us and got us on our way. Plumped for the brisket and the smoked turkey - both delicious. Great experience sitting at the trestle tables with strangers eating some fantastic meat. I only wish I could pack it in my case and take it home with me.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Rudy's is the BBQ in ABQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I take my BBQ very seriously having grown up in the southeast. This style is different than I'm used to but very good. & the sides remind me of home. Just wish we had one in Santa Fe.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rudy's Country Store & Bar-B-Q also viewed

 

Been to Rudy's Country Store & Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rudy's Country Store & Bar-B-Q, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.