We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Fish in the Desert” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pelican's Restaurant

Pelican's Restaurant
9800 Montgomery Blvd NE, Ste B, Albuquerque, NM 87111-3560
505-298-7678
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #338 of 1,533 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Price range: $20 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous Fish in the Desert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Three of us ate here on a recent busy Saturday night. The service was attentive, but not invasive. We had the halibut, which was the freshest halibut we had ever tasted, the salmon, which was delicious and the tilapia with red chile butter. Three great dishes that we all said we would order again. Fresh warm bread was served along with roasted garlic cloves (yum!) to spread on the bread. A large salad bowl was served - fresh lettuce with broccoli, scallions, sunflower seeds, cucumbers, croutons, & tomatoes. Wonderful meal and we will be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    19
    15
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Pro in many ways”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

From our initial greeting to being seated at the table to the many well-worded menu choices followed by the delicious meals, we will return when next in Albuquerque. The ambiance was totally conducive to our getting re-acquainted with a longtime friend. We could talk and not yell at each other. All this created a special evening for us.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Seemed like could be bettter. Kinda dingy, food fair. Nothing memorable except a big salad bowl. Looks like they've been coasting so to speak

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Ranchos de Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice place to meet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We always eat at the bar. Good happy hour and like the bar menu as well as the large menu. Love the roasted garlic in butter and bread...mmmm so good!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Service and Seafood - Both Fresh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

As a frequent reviewer and reader of reviews, I simply do not like to write bad reviews although they're the easiest. This one is not so easy because my entire family regularly dines at the Pelican.
What attracts us? The ambience isn't bad at all. The Dining Room, off to the left of the entry is spacious and comfortable. Our favorite, however, is the bar. The bar has a large round gas fireplace which lends heat and comfort, as well as being eye catching, to the bar area. There you're surrounded by windows over which are blinds to hold back the bright NM sun.
The menu is widely varied. There are daily specials displayed on an insert card in each large menu. Specials always include fresh fish of varying types: The grilled fresh Halibut is wonderful. Peruse the specials, including appetizers and don't forget to order up a half dozen or so of Blue Point oysters, if they're your thing. Finding Blue Points out here in the west, far away from their native east coast waters, is a treat to be enjoyed. Another appetizer that is also served as an entree is Seared Ahi Tuna. Encrusted in a spicy rub, seared over open flame on a gas grill and served with freshly sliced Ginger, along with a fiery bit of Wasabi will invited your taste buds back, again and again. We've made this place a favorite for more than 20 years and the service, servers, managers and chefs never fail us. If you are not up for any of the many menu items, mix and match; they'll do it. If you are a salad lover, the bottomless salad bowl matches incredibly well with their house made Italian dressing, served in green, former Grolsch beer bottles: Delicious.
Do yourself a favor: Next time in Albuquerque add the Pelican to your place to dine. You won't be sorry.!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pelican's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Pelican's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelican's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.