We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Orleans in Albuquerque” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen

Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen
5011 Pan American West Fwy NE, Albuquerque, NM 87109-2239
505-345-0240
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 1,398 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Boynton Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“New Orleans in Albuquerque”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

My wife and I were staying near the Balloon Festival and decided to look for a place for dinner. We droive south on Rte. 25 to Exit 228 or 229, where there is a large accumulation of nice looking restaurants alongside the highway.

We did not feel like a meat meal, so we stopped at Pappadeaux. Well, it wan't good, it was terrific. It was as if New Orleans best restaurant was transported to Albuquerque.

The menu is incredibly extensive and included both the spicy and tame items. We loved it so much, we ate there three times and had wonderful meals each time. whether it was the halibut; the shrimp and grits or their lobster special, the food was top notch and the service was perfect. the restaurant is huge - so unless you are going at a very busy time, you probably do not need a reservation - but they do take them.

In a city filled with Mexican restaurants, this was a great alternative!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    87
    23
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fisherville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great seafood and steaks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I have visited this Pappadeaux location before for business but enjoyed a meal with family here during this trip. It was as always a great experience of food and service. I had the cedar plank salmon with asparagus and it was cooked perfectly and very flavorful. The portion size was over the top and barely left room for the creme brulee that I finished the evening with. All in all a great time with family and food. The only drawback if any was how loud the restaurant was, but for the size of the place that is to be expected. Would definitely recommend a visit if you are in town.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, Connecticut
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Amazing Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The first thing that you notice at Pappadeaux is that the waitstaff is amazing efficient, they are attentive to your every need, and everyone seems to help out wherever possible to enhance your dining experience. We loved our seafood dinners, the wine list, and the dessert (which they served as take-out since we could not manage it after our meal), and Pappadeaux is one of the few restaurants that has broccolini as a side dish. Conveniently located just off the highway, it was a great find.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Good fried seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We were in town for the Balloon Fiesta and the dear wife had never been to a Pappadeaux Seafood restaurant. We arrived with directions from the GPS and put our name on the list and waited with our pager/buzzer. The wait was not long at all considering how busy they were and with all that was going on in town. We were seated and decided on the Seafood Platter and the Fried Shrimp & Cajun Chicken platters. We both ordered the mashed red skin potatoes as our side and we were given bread before the meal. Our only complaint so far was the particularly loud and drunk bunch seated just across from us. Not a lot Pappa can do about that, so no biggie. Our food arrived and the wait was reasonable. Wow, that was a LOT of food. The seafood platter comes with fried shrimp, fried crawfish, fried tilapia as well as the fried chicken tenders. The meal is served with tartar sauce, cocktail sauce and honey mustard. It was delicious. The wife did indeed like her shrimp and chicken as well. We were stuffed and the mashed potatoes were great. Cool thing about Pappadeaux is that they will box your to go box up for you. Nice little gesture. We had to pass on dessert and we thought it was great. For those that have not been, Pappadeaux is a pretty pricey restaurant with entree's ranging in price from $20 to $50. Overall, the food was good, the waitress was great and it was a great experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewood, New Mexico
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Consistent and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Well, believe it or not, we had friends in for the Balloon Fiesta and all wanted to go here. One person though had seafood allergies but was accommodated with a chicken salad that was well prepared. Wait staff was very good and accommodating. The manager came to talk with our friend with the seafood allergy and reassured her that the chicken would not be cooked on the grill that fish, etc was cooked on. We had a very pleasant time on the outdoor patio and will return.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.