We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great from start to finish” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Artichoke Cafe

Artichoke Cafe
424 Central Ave SE, Albuquerque, NM 87102-3518 (Huning Highland Historic District)
505-243-0200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Artichoke Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 1,562 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Huning Highland Historic District
Description: The Artichoke Cafe was reopened in 1989 by Pat and Terry Keene. Pat, who was formally trained in New York City, is executive chef and Terry has 30 years experience in restaurant management. Their dedication to the best in food, wine, and service has made this 120 seat restaurant one of Albuquerque's finest dining spots. Its downtown location on Route 66 in the Historic Huning Highland/EDO District, cozy modern decor and rotating art exhibits add panache and charm to its ambience. The food is a mix of French, Italian, and creative American, using only the finest ingredients.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great from start to finish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

We took our large family to dinner here and found the food and service to be excellent. Although it was a busy Saturday night, we found the waitstaff highly attentive and the atmosphere vibrant. Don't miss this restaurant when in Albuquerque!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    125
    38
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of my favorites!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Whenever I feel like a mini vacation, I take myself to dine at the Artichoke. It is swanky and elegant, with a superb cosmopolitan feel. The food and service are always excellent. In my opinion, the best a salad in the city, along with the best martinis.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious, creative, way above the average!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We ate some of the best food ever in this lovely, friendly restaurant. The chefs are creative, classically trained and meticulous in preparation and presentation. The sauces and soups are crafted with the best ingredients in the time honored preparation. For example, the soup stocks are prepared with bones or meats cooked very slowly for 3 days, then turned into fabulous foundations for the best of the best soups and sauces. My husband, loves French onion soup and pronounced that this was the best he ever ate! They use only the best cheeses and spices.

The service is impeccable, there is a well thought out wine list. The staff is knowledgeable and can help you select the best wines for the dishes you order. The desserts are fabulous. We had the best chantilly creation with a true, light Genoise cake. The creme brulee was perfect.

Whatever you do, don't miss this restaurant while in Albuquerque!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Some of the finest dining in Albuquerque”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

One of the two or three best restaurants in Albuquerque. We usually save it for special occasions, but sometimes, we just splurge.
It can be a bit noisy, so if that's a problem for you, ask for a table in the back room.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Birthday Meal Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Family visiting from NYC joined us for husband's birthday dinner. After ordering some scrumptious pre-dinner cocktails, some names I haven't heard before, we ordered mussels and tuna tartare for appetizers. Both were delicious. Entrees were also amazing including the steak frites, filets and pork chop. We love to go to the Artichoke for special occasions and we are NEVER disappointed. Our waitress seemed new, however, got our drinks, appetizers, wine, food and dessert absolutely 100%. Will continue to be my favorite restaurant in ABQ.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Artichoke Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Artichoke Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artichoke Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.