We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More of a Take-Out Joint ~ Chaos Eating In” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Wasabi

Wasabi
417 Tramway blvb. NE, Albuquerque, NM
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #561 of 1,533 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Carefree
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
342 helpful votes 342 helpful votes
“More of a Take-Out Joint ~ Chaos Eating In”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We love Japanese food, therefore, always looking for something interesting. Wasabi looked OK from the outside, but it soon became clear that dining in was a mistake. You order at the counter, and combined with the austere interior should have been our tip off. While waiting for our food there were two loud and ruckus boys running wild in and out of the restaurant door. We actually watched in shock as they pulled a large piece of siding off the exterior wall as the wind blew the insulation from the building all over the parked cars outside. Turns out, it was the owners kids! He finally went out to pick up the mess his kids had made. Meanwhile, our food came out served in plastic bowls with plastic utensils. The taste and presentation was marginal at best. We wanted to leave, but were very hungry and didn't want our food to get cold, so we stayed. The circus became even more entertaining when the large party eating across from us also had children with them who joined in the fun by running around and under the tables and through the restaurant screaming, crying, and knocking large objects over which went crashing to the floor. The parents didn't seem to notice and made no attempt to control their circus animals. When the Circue Soleil (figurative) family mercifully finished eating and exited their stage, the restaurant employees were left with a huge mess to clean up. Neither of us have ever experienced a more chaotic experience while visiting a restaurant in our lives, and we are getting up there. I suppose a reflection of the decline of Western civilization, culture, and the cumulative effect of Day 'Care?' Prisons throughout this sick society. Honestly, I felt sort of sorry for the kids, nothing more than a sad reflection of their so-called 'parents.' Sort of made the food very hard to digest...won't be returning for an encore...

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    1
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Cashier seemed annoyed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Let down aftee waiting for a chance to come here. Too much cabbage filler in food. Fast food. Cashier abrupt with me over asking for my dessert twice and unhappy acting overall. Probably won't go back for awhile.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Crest, New Mexico
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Wow - I am impressed - glad we stopped in -first time.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

But it won't be our last. The food was tasty and reasonably priced. There were enough options that it's going to take awhile to try them all. The bento box was a good choice. The food wasn't fast food, but the wait wasn't bad at all. Don't know how the previous reviewer spent $60 on a meal - they must have ordered for 6 people or more.
We both had bento boxes and green tea and the bill was less than $25 total.
Very good food. The shrimp tempura was delicious, as was the seaweed salad.
Glad it's on our way to and from town.
They do need to touch up the paint job on the floor in the area that wasn't previously a dining area.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

After driving by Wasabi many times we were very happy we finally stopped. The bento boxes are great. It offers a great variety in one meal and everything is delicious. The restaurant is very pleasant and the service was fast and helpful. This is now my favorite Japanese restaurant in Albuquerque.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“worst customer severice ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

After waiting 20 min. To order we ended up spending 60.00 on are meal and the rude cashiers gave us a beeper and told us it would be right out in her pretentious voice as we waited over 35min they mad everyone's food but mine after realizing that we were their and everyone had their food but us they quickly made are food and throw it at us the quality of food WAS THE WORSE we have ever had DO NOT WAST YOUR TIME OR MONEY ON THIS SO CALLED SUSI CRAP

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wasabi also viewed

 

Been to Wasabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wasabi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.