We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean property, warm cookies, decent location, nice rooms, but hot gym” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque / Journal Center

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque / Journal Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque / Journal Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5320 San Antonio Dr. NE, Albuquerque, NM 87109   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #36 of 145 hotels in Albuquerque
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Clean property, warm cookies, decent location, nice rooms, but hot gym”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This is a better than average Hilton Garden Inn. The staff are friendly and make great efforts to keep their guests satisfied: they were even able to get me a set of headphones for my workout when I'd forgotten mine at home. The warm cookie happy hour made the stay delicious. The rooms are clean and well-appointed - very much up to HGI standard. Only complaint - the gym is kept at 85degrees! Way too hot for comfort!!! Other than that, I loved this hotel.

Room Tip: Shoot for a room that faces the back parking lot on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle M, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque / Journal Center, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as our warm cookies in the evening. We are very happy to have earphones available for our guests at the Front Desk, as you were able to take advantage of. I hope you will return should your travels bring you back this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    43
    20
    10
    11
See reviews for
41
27
12
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I have stayed at thsi hotel several times. I am always extremely happy wiht the experience. As a Hilton Honors Diamond memeber for several years, it is nice when a hotel stands out amidst the many of this same brand I frequent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle M, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque / Journal Center, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. I am happy to see that you enjoy our Garden Sleep System Beds. WE look forward to welcoming you back to our property in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulogne-Billancourt, France
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This HGI is about 5 miles from Albuquerque old town, but located near Interstate 25.

A very pleasant hotel, quiet, clean, comfortable, nice breakfast and next door to Cracker Barrel.

2 Exits from Fiesta Ground at time of Balloon Fiesta in October, a good place to stay at.

What Else ?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle M, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque / Journal Center, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
We appreciate the opportunity to accommodate you during your stay. Thanks again for your kind words and we really hope to see you the next time you are in the area.

Michelle Mombleau
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern New Mexico
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed here recently for the Balloon fiesta and it was a very convenient location to the park. The hotel is clean, the staff is great (the kitchen manager got us breakfast burritos at 5AM when we were going to see the balloons) and it was an enjoyable stay. That said, I've stayed at lots of other HGI hotels and for whatever reason, this one just has poor sound insulation between the rooms. I don't know if it's a different construction or what, but spoken (not loud) conversations were somewhat audible in the adjoining rooms and footsteps above us sounded very loud. We were trying to get to bed early and normally thing would have been settled down later, but it wasn't a great night's sleep...

Room Tip: No "bad" rooms per se - hotel is set back from the freeway so no road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle M, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque / Journal Center, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for providing your review of your stay with us. We are very glad that you experienced an exceptional level of customer service from our staff and hoped you enjoyed the balloon festival! While this part of your stay was great, we apologize that you did not get a great night’s sleep due to noise levels. This is an area we will actively examine to make sure all guest have a great stay. Thank you again.                  
 
 
Tracie L. Jernigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa fe, nm
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel gave me an impression of a converted independent living space. An older building re-built. The rugs were falling apart, the bathroom sink is too big, meaning too tall, and extends out to far, especially if you are a short person. the location is not the safest area in abq. the rooms are not sound proof, and wallpaper needs work. The staff is friendly, and attentive. The rooms need work. the waiting area when walking into the hotel is well done, inviting. Do not think I will be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Staying here for business on a project for my company. Your typical HGI property, but well kept up and clean. The staff is extremely pleasant and helpful, and the food in the in-house restaurant is quite good both for breakfast and dinner. Decent location within close driving distance of multiple restaurants.

Room Tip: No particular issue with noise on either side of hotel. I prefer upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle M, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque / Journal Center, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
I am very happy to read the comments about your recent stay and glad that you found our staff, restaurant food and our location to your satisfaction. Hope to see you return soon....safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickerington, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

My family of three spent a week at this hotel for our vacation. It was great. The rooms were very clean; the beds were comfortable and the staff was pleasant and accommodating. And a nice view of the Sandia Mountains. My wife is an Honors member and I work for the government, so we checked in at the government rate. We also got the hot breakfast included, which made our total $89 per night. My wife stays at these hotels when she travels for work and swears by them for their service and attention to detail. This hotel was no exception. You have to pay for breakfast, but it is GREAT! Lot's of fruit, yogurt, cereal, oatmeal, pastries, toast, and juices on the regular menu, and made-to-order-items on the hot menu (which includes everything on the regular menu also). The hotel is very conveniently located off of I-25. I had looked at staying closer to Old Town (which was only 5 miles away), but this was much better. It has a washer/dryer (we packed for 1/2 a week with the plan to wash clothes for the rest of the week). Make sure you have plenty of quarters; if the front desk doesn't have them, you can get them at Denny's right across the street. The hotel has room service til 10. Not a full restaurant menu, but there is probably something for everyone. If you don't find anything there, you can walk to t Denny's (open all night) or the Cracker Barrel right next door (closes at 10). There is a 7 Eleven about a 1/2 mile up the road; a Walmart within 2 miles and various other retailers/restaurants one exit in either direction. There is a housing community nearby and it must be a safe area because saw several women and even some elderly people walking around at night. The pool/spa area were clean. Our only complaint with the hotel was that they have 4 smoking rooms on the 4th floor and that's were our room was located. We could smell the smoke in the hallway when someone was smoking. That only happened for two nights, but be aware. Don't let that deter you, though. If it might bother you, when you book, ask for a room on floors 1-3. It was a good stay and we hewould definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the front parking lot and on floors 1-3 if you might be bothered by smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle M, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque / Journal Center, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel. I am glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your week long vacation with us. It is also great to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location and all of the amenities that our hotel has to offer. We look forward to accommodating your family on their next visit to Albuquerque!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque / Journal Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque / Journal Center

Address: 5320 San Antonio Dr. NE, Albuquerque, NM 87109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#21 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
#37 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque / Journal Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque/Journal Center hotel is located in the north end of Albuquerque, New Mexico and adjacent to the Albuquerque Journal Center Business District. This Albuquerque, NM hotel is north of downtown and only 15 minutes from the airport and the city of Rio Rancho, New Mexico and other things to do in Albuquerque. Available meeting facilities along with free business services make this a great place for your next meeting, reunion or getaway. Whether you're with family or on business, we want to help you start your day off right with a delicious cooked-to-order breakfast served in The Garden Grille & Bar(R). Enjoy dinner in The Garden Grille & Bar(R) or if you prefer, order room service. After a long day, enjoy an evening drink in our Lobby Lounge. We also offer complimentary WiFi internet access, and friendly, helpful service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque / Journal Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque / Journal Hotel Albuquerque
Hilton Albuquerque
Albuquerque Hilton Garden Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque / Journal Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.