We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right price, nice feel, nice price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Albuquerque - Journal Center

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Albuquerque - Journal Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albuquerque - Journal Center
5400 San Antonio Avenue, Albuquerque, NM 87109   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 146 hotels in Albuquerque
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Right price, nice feel, nice price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

It seems to becoming more difficult to find a nice, clean place at a great price in Albuquerque, but this one has become my new choice to stay when I am in Albuquerque. The rooms are nicely appointed with a small kitchen with a refrigerator/freezer, and there is a fresh smell and appearance throughout the place. The price is very reasonable and lower than comparable properties in the area. The location is very close to Cracker Barrel and about 1-2 miles from a lot of restaurants, theaters, and entertainment, so there are plenty of options to choose from. However, being a few blocks off of I-25 on San Antonio, the property is very quiet - which is a really nice thing. The breakfast was above average as well.

Room Tip: If you need a little more room, you might want to spend a little more and get a larger room than the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn_Keeper_NM, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Albuquerque - Journal Center, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We offer clean and comfortable hotel with a very reasonable price. Thank you for noticing the appliances that we have provided for our rooms. We are very pleased that you find our location convenient for you. Thank you also for liking our breakfast selection. Please advise us of your trip and we will be more than happy to ensure you receive the highest level of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    40
    18
    14
    10
See reviews for
50
24
6
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gallup, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Staff was friendly and informative. Rooms were clean and came with a microwave, refrigerator, and a dishwasher. Our stay was comfortable and quiet. There are several shopping centers and restaurants nearby. The hotel was conveniently located just off the freeway. Continental breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn_Keeper_NM, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Albuquerque - Journal Center, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
It is so nice to hear such a wonderful review about our Hotel. It is our goal to provide our guests comfortable and enjoyable accommodation and we are happy to know that we were able to meet that expectation with you. We are pleased to know as well that you liked our breakfast choices and our hotel's location was convenient for you. Your comments will be shared with our staff, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

On 9/27/2013 I spent the nite at Homewood and as always I found it very enjoyable and comfortable. Sheena and the other staff members are always helpful and friendly. The breakfast was very good and my room was very clean and comfortable. I really enjoy staying at this location

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn_Keeper_NM, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Albuquerque - Journal Center, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
We are very pleased to hear that you had a pleasant experience following your most recent visit with us.It is the goal of our hotel to provide our guest's excellent service. We are happy that you find our rooms to be clean and comfortable. Your kind words towards our staffs will be shared with them. We will do our best to maintain the quality of our facilities and services. We hope you will choose our Hotel again, the next time you will visit Albuquerque.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

What a great place to stay! From the moment we checked in until departure a week later we found the staff to be helpful, pleasant and genuinely interested in making our stay a happy one. The breakfast and dinners were unbelievable both in taste and quantity. The staff even prepared a special 'go bag' for those of us heading to the balloon fiesta. The 2 rooms + kitchen are ideal for families who need space. The location is right off the major highway so there's easy access to Albuquerque and Santa Fe. We loved everything and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn_Keeper_NM, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Albuquerque - Journal Center, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for sharing the details about your recent visit. Our goal is to provide clean and comfortable accommodation to our guests. We thank you for mentioning the breakfast choices as well as the spacious rooms of our hotel. We are pleased to hear that our location was of convenience to you and your family. Again, thank you and we look forward on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The Albuquerque Balloon Fiesta is very popular and draws a large number of tourists such as ourselves to the area. This is why we booked our room back in January 2013 for our stay this past week (October 4-8 2013).

We booked our room for $99.00/night. That is the rate offered to us by their web site (I have the original booking email confirmation).

Three weeks before we were to depart from Alaska on a trip planned well in advance, I received another email confirmation from Homewood Suites with a new rate of $179.00/night.

I called to clear up the mix-up and was immediately connected with the manager. He stated that there were about 10 people who were given an incorrect rate, but all of us were going to have to pay the much higher rate.

He was able to give us the $99 rate for our last night (as the fiesta was finishing), but we would have to pay the higher rate on the other nights.

He stated that he would be happy to cancel my reservation if I thought I could find another room in Albuquerque during the fiesta at this point.

They had us. He was correct.

So, we could cancel our vacation plans entirely, or pay up.

We paid.

We won't be back.

I've never before encountered this in the travel industry. When someone gets a good deal (be it hotel rooms or airline tickets), whether or not the price was a mistake, it's always honored.

Room Tip: Beware of bait and switch room pricing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn_Keeper_NM, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Albuquerque - Journal Center, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

I do share your concern about this unexpected glitch in our reservation system. During Balloon Fiesta our room rates were commensurate to other first-rate hotels in the area. But at no time did we ever mislead our valued guests (as was insinuated). Thanks for your understanding and continued loyalty.

At our hotel guests can enjoy lots of great amenities, including free hot breakfast, fully-equipped kitchens, free Wi-Fi powered by AT&T, and free evening manager’s reception. I regret not earning a better score from you when my staff went above and beyond to ensure your total satisfaction.

Kind Regards,

Gabriel Ruiz
General Manager
(505)998-4663 x401
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becket
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

First time visitor to area; came for Balloon Fiesta. Location is off highway, no noise. Can see balloons from there. Clean and spacious. Plenty of parking. Stayed 6 nights. Great breakfast provided each morning and great dinner each week night. Fresh food and extremely clean and neat. Room cleaned nicely and every staff member we met spoke to us and asked if we needed anything. Pool is small but clean. Mix up on billing but fixed, with apologies,when I questioned it.
would book again for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor (3) city side to see balloons. Other side is mountains. Room 324 has 2 queens beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn_Keeper_NM, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Albuquerque - Journal Center, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
We are very pleased to hear that you had a pleasant experience following your most recent visit with us. We are very happy that you enjoyed our breakfast and dinner choices, the quietness around the hotel, and most especially the location, the cleanliness and comfort that our hotel gave you. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amarillo, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We made a quick trip to ABQ for the balloon fiesta and the Biking Bad tour and booked the Homewood Suites by Hilton ABQ/Journal Center last minute. We were very lucky they still had a suite available but also concerned because everything else was no vacancy. We were pleasantly surprised when we walked in and were greeted with friendly staff and a stylish, clean lobby and suite. When we got up at 3:45 am to go to the balloon fiesta we were treated with morning goodie bags since we would be missing breakfast. The location right next to I-25 was perfect. A check out time of noon made it possible for us to nap before our cycling tour and the bed was super comfy; linens smelled fresh and the bathroom was super clean and roomy. Overall a great experience. We would've stayed longer if possible and I would absolutely recommend anyone stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn_Keeper_NM, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Albuquerque - Journal Center, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
It is so nice to hear such a wonderful review about our Hotel. We are pleased to know that you find our location convenient. Providing comfort and enjoyable accommodation is one of our hotel's goal. We are committed to delivering the the highest level of service to our guests, and we will do our best to maintain our services. It was a pleasure to serve you, we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Albuquerque - Journal Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Albuquerque - Journal Center

Address: 5400 San Antonio Avenue, Albuquerque, NM 87109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#34 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Expedia and Otel so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Albuquerque - Journal Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Albuquerque - Journal Hotel Albuquerque
Homewood Suites Albuquerque
Homewood Albuquerque
Hilton Albuquerque
Homewood Suites Journal Center
Albuquerque Homewood Suites
Albuquerque Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Albuquerque - Journal Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.