We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay with great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Albuquerque - Journal Center

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Albuquerque - Journal Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albuquerque - Journal Center
5400 San Antonio Avenue, Albuquerque, NM 87109   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 145 hotels in Albuquerque
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good place to stay with great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the Homewood Suites - Journal Center. A very clean and well maintained hotel, with an excellent staff. The bed was comfortable, linens were clean as were the towels and the bathroom. Housekeeping was prompt and very courteous. The front desk staff was also very courteous and helpful. There were only just a couple of nits. First, their website lists that they have roll away beds available, but they do not. This caused a bit of a problem for us as my two teenaged daughters have a real problem sleeping on a sofa bed together. Had I known (and I should have checked further) that there were actually no roll aways, I would not have booked there. But end the end it worked out okay. Free wifi worked fine and the breakfast was pretty good. The breakfast area was small, but they opened up the conference room for additional seating. I wonder what people are thinking when they finish eating, but languish around the tables chatting while others that need to eat, have to sit, and balance their food on their knees, in the lounging area or even sit on the floor to eat. The staff did their best to keep the table turnover fast so that everyone had a place to sit, but some people are just thoughtless. One other nit, was that the exercise room was down for renovation. Overall it is a good value and a good place to stay in the area.

Room Tip: Get a room on the third floor. On the 2nd floor you can hear people walking above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    37
    18
    14
    9
See reviews for
46
23
6
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Reason i continue to come back to this location is its staff, and the people at the desk. Sheena, Heather and the other people who work the desk always greet you with a smile and make you feel at home. I really enjoy staying at this hotel. Wont stay at any others locations if i can help it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona, british columbia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

the room is clean, with good bed and linens,
but wifi is basically non-functional\
logged on to hilton honors, but then wouldn't access internet
it worked fine in the lobby

very annoying, and desk staff not able to correct problem
said they would have to call a technician in
we preferred to go to sleep

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn_Builder, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Albuquerque - Journal Center, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

I’m so sorry to hear about your experience with our complimentary high-speed internet. It appears you may have picked up a stray wireless internet signal from the hotel next door and tried to log-on to the wrong network. Our hotel’s network name is hhonors. I’m glad to know your wireless device worked successfully in our hotel lobby. For added convenience, you could always connect via Ethernet port in our guest suites.

We thank you for your continued loyalty to the Homewood Suites brand and look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Gabriel Ruiz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The swim pool is really clean. The spa is nice. They don't have any alcohol during the dinner because of New Mexico liquor laws. I have spent a lot of time in Homewood Suites, so I know what to expect from their meals and I haven't had any complaints about them in the past. However, the food here was extra salty, at least to my taste buds. They have a very small dining area but it didn't cause any problems for us. The rooms are clean, as is the rest of the hotel. The staff is very friendly.

Room Tip: If you're staying here for the balloon festival you will be close to a shuttle lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This hotel is your average franchise hotel with clean rooms, good internet access, comfortable beds, and free breakfast and evening reception. My room also had a small kitchen area with a stove, fridge, plates, pans, silverware, etc. It can be summed up as a standard, all-suite, good value hotel. The one notable factor is that the hotel is close to the Balloon Fiesta Park, which every October hosts the internationally famous hot air balloon festival. You can see the sky full of hot air balloons from your hotel window.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stayed at the Homewood Suites during Balloon Fiesta 2012. The hotel is the usual standard medium budget chain hotel except all rooms are suites. It is nice though to have a kitchenette - 2 ring stove and full sized fridge. The rooms are larger than standard rooms, having a lounge separate from bedroom.

In my room the 2 spaces are separated by the kitchenette which is situated in a hallway between them. There are no doors separating the spaces. The bed was comfortable and there is a sofa, chair and desk in the lounge. There is also a flat screen TV in the bedroom and lounge.

The hotel has an indoor pool and hot tub. I didn't use either but they looked a good size through the window. The free buffet breakfast was good. With a hot selection of eggs, sausage, bacon, pancakes or other assortment changing every day. As well as fruit, cereal, pastries, etc.

The only issue I had was that the corridor on the 3rd floor smelled of smoke. My room did not though.

If you're going to the Balloon Fiesta it's a great location.

TIP: Don't go to Balloon Fiesta on I25. Instead turn right exiting from the hotel onto San Antonio Dr, left onto San Pedro and another left onto Alameda. This will avoid the long line on I25 and the off ramp.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallup, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

my husband and I traveled to Albuquerque once every couple of months we always stay at this homewood the rooms are big the beds are comfortable and we like that they have an indoor pool and a gym room. its a clean hotel and I've had no complaints i would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Albuquerque - Journal Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Albuquerque - Journal Center

Address: 5400 San Antonio Avenue, Albuquerque, NM 87109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hilton Hotels and Expedia so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Albuquerque - Journal Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Albuquerque - Journal Hotel Albuquerque
Homewood Suites Albuquerque
Homewood Albuquerque
Hilton Albuquerque
Homewood Suites Journal Center
Albuquerque Homewood Suites
Albuquerque Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Albuquerque - Journal Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.