We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Non-Smokers Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Monterey Non-Smokers Motel to your Saves list
Monterey Non-Smokers Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2402 Central Ave SW, Albuquerque, NM 87104   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 146 Hotels in Albuquerque
South Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

We based our selection of this hotel on the reviews. Yes, it may not in the best section of town and yes, it is dated BUT what do you want for the really great price? We travelled around New Mexico for a week and stayed at more expensive hotels but we have fond memories of the place and would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    115
    24
    6
    6
See reviews for
70
159
54
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2010

The motel is in an excellent location just across a busy highway – Route 66, no less! – from the “Old Town” of Albuquerque, which rather cheatingly seems to have been mainly built during the 1960s. The Old Town is very attractive with some good restaurants, history museum and a relaxing central square. It’s also only a short walk to the banks of Rio Grande, where unfortunately hungry mosquitoes camp out in droves. Downtown is walkable too in just 30 minutes, although there’s also a good bus service.

The room was pleasant but basically dark all day with just one small window and wi-fi was variable. As a comparatively old hand at visiting the USA I was as usual well-stocked with quarters and one dollar bills, but was amazed to see that on a very thirsty day the soda machines took “dimes only”! Some sort of historical oddity? Unfortunately, I didn’t find reception very helpful or friendly when I made a couple of queries.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorpark, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights on our 3 week trip of Route 66. This was a rest day for the bicycle riders in our group (riding from Santa Monica to Stroud, Oklahoma). My sister and I are driving the support vehicle which is pulling a 6' x 10' trailer. We pulled into the back of the hotel and walked over to see where to park. We were greated warmly by the husband and wife team and given a large area in the back to park. After we checked in, we went to our rooms. They were so incredibily neat and clean, every detail taken care of. This is a very charming motel and a lovely place to stay. It is walking distant from Old Town Albuquerque where we walked to for meals. The laundry room and vending/ice area are also extremely clean and set up perfectly for convienence for travelers. We have stayed in a lot of the chain motels on this trip and this was a wonderful change. Wonderful place!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, OR
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

The owners were very nice, contrary to other reviews written about this place. Old style court motel but updated very nicely. Walking distance to Old Town. Clean and moderately priced. We were originally only booked for 2 nights, but went back again later in our trip.

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2010

We stayed here because of positive reviews on this site. I'm not sure that we stayed at the same hotel as everyone else. #3 hotel in Albuquerque? We paid for this old motel more than much better Best Western Rio Grande Inn. It's not to say the Monterey Motel is a terrible place to stay; it was just OK. The room was very dated and a bit musty smelling, location in one of the seediest sections of Central Avenue. The management was friendly and helpful, but I would not stay in this place another time

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2010

In a few years, this place will probably be an historic landmark due to its location on Route 66. A lot of the other nearby motels like it have either shut down or gone to seed, but this place is like a time capsule that appears to be going strong. We stayed two nights recently and found it to be very accommodating, and the price was right. The location is very good for access to Old Town.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2010

Monterey Motel is consistently clean, quiet, resonably priced. Good location near botanic gardens, downtown, old town etc.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monterey Non-Smokers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Non-Smokers Motel

Address: 2402 Central Ave SW, Albuquerque, NM 87104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#8 Best Value Hotel in Albuquerque
#30 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
#48 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Monterey Non-Smokers Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Monterey Non-Smokers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Non-Smokers Hotel Albuquerque
Monterey Non Smokers Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monterey Non-Smokers Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.