We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, very comfortable, moderate prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Non-Smokers Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Monterey Non-Smokers Motel to your Saves list
Monterey Non-Smokers Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2402 Central Ave SW, Albuquerque, NM 87104   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 146 Hotels in Albuquerque
Austin, TX
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Clean, very comfortable, moderate prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

This is a renovated motel on old Route 66 within easy walking distance of Old Town. Our room was spacious with plenty of light, something often lacking in motels. There was room for both of us to use our notebook computers at the same time comfortably, with free wireless access, of course. Lots of room for our stuff. Heated inground pool with pleasant sitting area, coin-operated laundry, microwave and fridge in the rooms. All in all, very well planned and very clean. A most welcome place to stay for those of us who would rather spend our vacation dollars on something besides 5-star luxury. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    115
    24
    6
    6
See reviews for
70
159
54
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

Old Town in walking distance, rooms clean and cozy, flowered sheets,
flowers and small trees in front of your room - we would choose theis small motel again!

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

If you want to walk to Old Town & the Biopark this is the place to stay. The rooms are very comfortable at a great price. But if you want pleasing landscaping, a window view and a magnet pool area then you should look elsewhere. Their pool looks serviceable enough for cooling off but not something you'd want to sit around for half-a-day.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
franklin, WI
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

My friend and I stayed here and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The owners were very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the throw back rooms, complete with a ceiling fan, glass glasses, coffee mugs, serving tray (no plastic), 'grandmas' flowered sheets, etc. Would recommend this motel to anyone traveling through Albuquerque area. Within blocks of Olde Towne, take the train to Santa Fe.

Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

There is nothing, nothing special about this old motel. It is just barely clean and the people who manage this place are the rudest, nastiest people we have ever had the unfortunate dealings with.
For about the same prices there are many better places in Albuquerque.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nachman105, owner at Monterey Non-Smokers Motel, responded to this review, October 6, 2009
As judged by all other reviewers, we run a well-maintained, well-managed and super clean motel.
Combined with our hospitality, we offer unsurpassed historic old town location at a competitive price.
Thank You! The Monterey Non-Smokers Motel Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

The Monterey Motel is a real hidden gem. Found it through TripAdvisor and was very happy with it. Small complex, very friendly owners, rooms nice and spottles clean (have seen much worse conditions in 5-star hotels in the US). I really enjoyed my stay there and will surely come back if my plans will ever again lead me to Albuquerque.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

This is a nice motel that is very close to Old Town. If "Route 66" and well-maintained motel from that period hold a great deal of charm for you, this is the place. The room was clean and well-decorated, but the air conditioning unit was so loud, we needed to turn it off to sleep. We were in room 6, and some sort of machine in the next room turned on periodically, waking us up. For myself, I would would be happier in any old Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monterey Non-Smokers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Non-Smokers Motel

Address: 2402 Central Ave SW, Albuquerque, NM 87104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#8 Best Value Hotel in Albuquerque
#30 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
#48 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Monterey Non-Smokers Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Monterey Non-Smokers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Non-Smokers Hotel Albuquerque
Monterey Non Smokers Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monterey Non-Smokers Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.