We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Smoking Here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Non-Smokers Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Monterey Non-Smokers Motel to your Saves list
Monterey Non-Smokers Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2402 Central Ave SW, Albuquerque, NM 87104   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 145 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“No Smoking Here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Great little spot very close to the old town. The guy who owns it is a nice old fella, although he clearly has a big thing about not smoking. Kinda over the top really, but endearing really. The rooms are well kept, and one of the cleanest and well furnished of the old 66 motels.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adamconn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
SPRING CITY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

I love trip advisor & use it regularly. I read the reviews on this facility & saw a couple unhappy people but thought it is hard to please everyone. With an uncertain travel schedule, I booked the room the day before my arrival. Entered my credit card & received a confirmation. Arrived after hours of travel to find a less than friendly man at the front desk. He said my card was not charged & proceeded to run my card at an increased the rate by $10 because there were 2 people in my party & he said the rate I reserved was only for 1 person. WHO does this? Hotels/Motels charge by the room - youth hostels charge by the person. I was not under the impressive this was a young hostel. Does another towel & wash cloth really cost $10? Then, after running my credit card, he refused to allow us to take our bicycles into the room. They are professional racing bikes & I was NOT putting them in his storage room. Why didn't he make this clear BEFORE he ran my credit card. Then I needed to wait until he figured out how to cancel the charge. We walked out to our car to leave & a woman approached us asking us to reconsider. She was kind but at this point we were frustrated & felt like we were treated unfairly. Besides we found a Best Western Plus down the road for a few dollars more with breakfast included. They wasted the time of a weary traveler & now I have to monitor my credit card for the cancellation. Huge disappointment.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 132Hartford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Our family decided to stay at this motel after reading the rave reviews here - however, we were completely disappointed. The owner is very rude, didn't seem to know or care to greet guests or respond to a warm greeting from the guest, was arrogant and abrasive. Zero custom service. Room is old and dated, bed very uncomfortable, AC too loud, toilet leaks, bathroom stinky and swimming pool dingy. Price is high for the low quality of the hotel. Would never stay there again. NOT RECOMMENDED.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

First time to stay at Monterrey Motel and loved it. Bo and Henry are the most hospitable hosts we have met.
The pool is the cleanest we have ever seen, the bathrooms are not cramped, and the rooms are very comfortable. The location is perfect for access to Old Town, Botanical Gardens, and other points of interest. We enjoyed our stay so much we are already planning our return.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillPayer1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
92 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I stayed one night for business. I usually stay at big name hotels and wanted a change. I was in room 115 and had a single queen bed. They provided coffee, tea and a Belvita snack. They had a hairdryer and fridge, no microwave. Super clean and quiet. No nonsense owner but he was respectful. I
would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

This hotel is an a great location near Old Town. The front desk person was very helpful in directing us to local restaurants. The rooms are small, but have comfortable beds, flat screen TV, and a good shower. The pool is also very nice. The only thing I didn't like was the small size of the room, and the very low toilet, which I find annoying.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobL1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

This was one of the prettiest rooms we have ever been in. We needed 2 rooms as we were meeting family. Both rooms were so inviting. Lovely colors, comfy beds and pillows, fun polka dot sheets, nice decor, clean and fresh. We felt really welcome there not like just another customer. It was a hot day when we arrived, the air was on in the rooms so we didn't have to wait for them to cool down. The man that checked us in was ever so kind. He had an accent but it wasn't distracting ( my husband has an accent and often gets the deer in the headlights look... if you listen to what is being said, not the accent, accents don't get in the way of listening... anyhow, he took out a map and showed us the best places to go and how to get there. He was so helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Econo Lodge Old Town
#6 of 145 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 stars 550 reviews
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#16 of 145 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 stars 1,303 reviews
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#2 of 145 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 stars 1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#11 of 145 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 stars 1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Non-Smokers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Non-Smokers Motel

Address: 2402 Central Ave SW, Albuquerque, NM 87104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#13 Best Value Hotel in Albuquerque
#26 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Monterey Non-Smokers Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Monterey Non-Smokers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Non-Smokers Hotel Albuquerque
Monterey Non Smokers Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing