We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Rooms, Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Non-Smokers Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Monterey Non-Smokers Motel to your Saves list
Monterey Non-Smokers Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2402 Central Ave SW, Albuquerque, NM 87104   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 146 Hotels in Albuquerque
Orangeburg, NY
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice Rooms, Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This was a decent little motel. Friendly staff, comfortable rooms with everything you'd expect for the price. The real selling point is that it's only a block from the Old Town Plaza so you'll be able to walk over if you want to spend the day in the area. Only rated 4 out of 5 because the price was a tad more than I'd hoped, but I suppose that's what you pay for the location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    114
    24
    5
    6
See reviews for
68
157
52
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed a few nights mid way through our 5 wk trip in the US. Our room was spacious and quiet located towards the end of the motel. The rooms are spotless and we were happy with the facilities (fridge, pool, laundry). The coffee maker in the bathroom is a little odd, but we moved this to the dining room. The motel is a short walk to Old Town, and the owners recommendation for dinner at the local Mexican restaurant was a huge winner. The bed was a little hard, but for the price of the room this is still excellent value. We normally stay in 4-5 star hotels but were very happy with our stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Located right on historic Route 66 this family run motel is walking distance to Old Town with very easy access to I-40 and downtown Albuquerque. The motel is clean, has comfortable rooms and beds, is quiet even though on a major thoroughfare. Decent laundry facility and nice pool area are pluses. Motel is run by Henry and Bo who expressed great concern and help for one of our party who required hospitalization. We stayed there in all a total of seven nights, at the beginning and end of our 14 day visit to North Central New Mexico. Highly recommended for inexpensive clean comfort.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed here less than 24 hours, but found it to be exactly as the other reviews. If you are looking for an inexpensive and comfortable lodging, dont' care about a lot of amenities, or lovely location, this is your place. Very clean, very comfortable. Decor is dated - kind of "grandmotherly", but with a great mattress and sheets that aren't worn - this works for me. We didn't try the pool as it turned a little chilly. Free wi-fi too. No fridge, no hairdryer. Small coffeepot. TV is fine.

We walked the few blocks to Old Town. After seeing Santa Fe we were disappointed that shopping/historic area was so small - about 2 blocks altogether. Lots of souvenir shops. This was right after the Balloon Festival, so maybe some places were closed. Don't plan on spending the day there though!

Overall the area where the motel is located is very commercial and it is on a 4 lane busy boulevard. Nothing quaint about this part of Route 66. It is a very short trip - 10 minutes or so - to the airport, so the location is good for early flights.

We drove around Albuquerque to get the feel of it and to try to find a few Breaking Bad sites - found "The Dog House" and actually had a foot-long chili-cheese dog for supper.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This relic from the 1960s is none the less a nice find only a 5 minute walk to the historic old town. The room is spacious and quite clean. The bathroom is modern well lit and all fixtures worked well. Nothing fancy but a solid choice close to the historic area. Free parking. Recommended.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Fantastic location on Central Ave (Rt 66) a block or so from Old Town Plaza and a Walgreen (hey, handy for buying 64 oz drinks to keep hydrated). Also easy access to I-40 and excellent restaurants on Central Ave like the Standard Diner (do go!). Owner very welcoming and the room was charming and immaculate - could NOT have been cleaner. The small fridge was handy for storing leftover dessert from the Standard Diner. Even though right on a major road, could not hear any road noise or any from other rooms. Would have happily stayed more nights, but we were on our way to Santa Fe and Taos.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

had a great time at this old time motel. The property was well maintained and the owners (Bo and her husband) were most welcoming. Their motto: European charm and it is the truth.

I was attracted to this property because I had never seen a Non-Smoker's motel. I was thrilled that we were addressed as a group. It was nice not to have that smokey smell in the room. The rooms were plain, but very clean.

I later found out that this motel was located on historic Rt. 66. That was a thrill for me! It was also in walking distance to "Old Town" Albuquerque. I would not hesitate to stay there again if I were in the area.

Room Tip: Great motel on Rt. 66, just outside of the historic district. Caters to non-smokers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monterey Non-Smokers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Non-Smokers Motel

Address: 2402 Central Ave SW, Albuquerque, NM 87104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#7 Best Value Hotel in Albuquerque
#35 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
#47 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Monterey Non-Smokers Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Monterey Non-Smokers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Non-Smokers Hotel Albuquerque
Monterey Non Smokers Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monterey Non-Smokers Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.