We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't fault this lovely Route 66 motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Non-Smokers Motel

Save Saved
You added Monterey Non-Smokers Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Monterey Non-Smokers Motel
2402 Central Ave SW, Albuquerque, NM 87104   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 145 hotels in Albuquerque
Melbourne
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Can't fault this lovely Route 66 motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

A bit late with my review. This was our second stay at this little gem. This time travelling 66 from Chicago to LA, with our adult daughter we drove in from Santa Fe well before lunch, and without a booking. Nothing was too much trouble , we were checked in immediately and were able to unload our luggage and freshen up. Our daughter , a nurse , couldn't believe the attention to detail in the room and how spotless it was, even down to cling wrap over the drinking glasses . The brass surrounds on the light switches were even fingerprint free. This is truly a genuine 66 motel , with lovely hosts who went out of their way to accommodate us. We were at the top of Sandia Peak and enjoying lunch only an hour after check in .

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    185
    109
    20
    5
    4
See reviews for
63
146
50
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
tucson
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The price is hard to beat and the motel is very well maintained. A classic motor inn. Nothing fancy, no breakfast served, but a clean and comfortable room in a convenient location. Aquarium and Botanic gardens are a couple blocks to the left and Old Town is a couple blocks to the right. Both easy walking distance. Bus stops for route 66 city bus are very close. This was my second stay here and no complaints. Well, maybe one complaint about no breakfast, but for the price it is worth it. McDonald's directly across the street and there is a small fridge in the room (but no microwave).

A couple runs the hotel, which means there is no 24 hour lobby. If you have a very late arrival you may need to stay someplace that is staffed overnight, but if you are arriving at a reasonable hour this is a good choice. Early departures are no problem because to check out you just leave your key on the hook next to the door in your room.

The parking spaces are very tight, however, so if you have a large truck or an RV you may need to look elsewhere. There is also a laundry room, though I have not gone inside it.

Room Tip: All rooms are essentially the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingwood
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is a great little motel -- large rooms - friendly staff - in the perfect location. Rooms were very large and clean -- nothing fancy but perfect for the price. Everyone enjoyed the pool which was sparkling clean -- would stay here again and highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Gustav and his wife keep this delightful motel immaculately The furnishings are perfectly in keeping with the period and the situation is close to the old town. It was the start of our trip on Route 66' we couldn't have chosen a better place to kick off our journey

Room Tip: Choose rooms at the back as they are a little further from the roadway
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My wife and I had the chance to stay at Monterey Non-Smokers Motel twice,coming and going and both times it was great. The motel room was clean and best of all, it didn't smell like cigarette smoke. After taking a shower, the bed beckoned us,and the beds were comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

My wife & I just returned from another fantastic visit to New Mexico. We try to visit once a year & always stay at the Monterey Motel during our time in Albuquerque. The motel is walking distance to some of the very best New Mexican restaurants in Albuquerque and to all of the Old Town attractions, The Monterey Motel is very quiet, impeccably clean, & secure. It is a classic Route 66 style motel where you park your car right outside your room. One of the nicest features of staying here is the genuine friendliness of the motel owners. The couple who own & operate this motel truly exemplify the ethic of a small independent business. They care deeply about the comfort & enjoyment of their guests & work tirelessly to ensure that it remains a quiet comfortable refuge for travelers to this uniquely beautiful desert city. They always are eager to recommend new places for us visit. This time we went to Ojo Caliente resort for a day of relaxing in the natural mineral springs. We wouldn't have ever known about that special place had it not been recommended by the motel proprietor. We always feel like we are visiting friends when we stay at Monterey & that is something we really have not experienced at any other hotel. Highy recommended!

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet & safe. If you want to be close to the swimming pool, request a room tow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We were on a driving trip to Colorado and decided to make our midpoint stop at a place on "The Mother Road". Having read reviews of Monterey's cleanliness and friendliness, we chose to spend the night there and were not disappointed. Though we had just finished a long drive, the proprietor's dinner recommendation and suggestion regarding a walk to Old Town were just what we needed to finish out our day. The room was immaculately clean, exactly the way I remembered such 'motor courts' that we frequented as a family 50 years ago. The place felt safe, secure and, well, a bit like something out of the Eisenhower era... in the very best sense. My wife and son enjoyed the in-room refrigerator.

Don't miss the sign at night; it is absolutely gorgeous and part of the art of the road that is Route 66...

Room Tip: Don't miss the sign at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Monterey Non-Smokers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Non-Smokers Motel

Address: 2402 Central Ave SW, Albuquerque, NM 87104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Albuquerque
#3 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#23 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Monterey Non-Smokers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Non-Smokers Hotel Albuquerque
Monterey Non Smokers Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monterey Non-Smokers Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.