We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't fault this lovely Route 66 motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Non-Smokers Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Monterey Non-Smokers Motel to your Saves list
Monterey Non-Smokers Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2402 Central Ave SW, Albuquerque, NM 87104   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 145 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Can't fault this lovely Route 66 motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

A bit late with my review. This was our second stay at this little gem. This time travelling 66 from Chicago to LA, with our adult daughter we drove in from Santa Fe well before lunch, and without a booking. Nothing was too much trouble , we were checked in immediately and were able to unload our luggage and freshen up. Our daughter , a nurse , couldn't believe the attention to detail in the room and how spotless it was, even down to cling wrap over the drinking glasses . The brass surrounds on the light switches were even fingerprint free. This is truly a genuine 66 motel , with lovely hosts who went out of their way to accommodate us. We were at the top of Sandia Peak and enjoying lunch only an hour after check in .

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jubyMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
tucson
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The price is hard to beat and the motel is very well maintained. A classic motor inn. Nothing fancy, no breakfast served, but a clean and comfortable room in a convenient location. Aquarium and Botanic gardens are a couple blocks to the left and Old Town is a couple blocks to the right. Both easy walking distance. Bus stops for route 66 city bus are very close. This was my second stay here and no complaints. Well, maybe one complaint about no breakfast, but for the price it is worth it. McDonald's directly across the street and there is a small fridge in the room (but no microwave).

A couple runs the hotel, which means there is no 24 hour lobby. If you have a very late arrival you may need to stay someplace that is staffed overnight, but if you are arriving at a reasonable hour this is a good choice. Early departures are no problem because to check out you just leave your key on the hook next to the door in your room.

The parking spaces are very tight, however, so if you have a large truck or an RV you may need to look elsewhere. There is also a laundry room, though I have not gone inside it.

Room Tip: All rooms are essentially the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheetahguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingwood
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is a great little motel -- large rooms - friendly staff - in the perfect location. Rooms were very large and clean -- nothing fancy but perfect for the price. Everyone enjoyed the pool which was sparkling clean -- would stay here again and highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fireheartfrancie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Gustav and his wife keep this delightful motel immaculately The furnishings are perfectly in keeping with the period and the situation is close to the old town. It was the start of our trip on Route 66' we couldn't have chosen a better place to kick off our journey

Room Tip: Choose rooms at the back as they are a little further from the roadway
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank peter r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My wife and I had the chance to stay at Monterey Non-Smokers Motel twice,coming and going and both times it was great. The motel room was clean and best of all, it didn't smell like cigarette smoke. After taking a shower, the bed beckoned us,and the beds were comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LarryC321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

My wife & I just returned from another fantastic visit to New Mexico. We try to visit once a year & always stay at the Monterey Motel during our time in Albuquerque. The motel is walking distance to some of the very best New Mexican restaurants in Albuquerque and to all of the Old Town attractions, The Monterey Motel is very quiet, impeccably clean, & secure. It is a classic Route 66 style motel where you park your car right outside your room. One of the nicest features of staying here is the genuine friendliness of the motel owners. The couple who own & operate this motel truly exemplify the ethic of a small independent business. They care deeply about the comfort & enjoyment of their guests & work tirelessly to ensure that it remains a quiet comfortable refuge for travelers to this uniquely beautiful desert city. They always are eager to recommend new places for us visit. This time we went to Ojo Caliente resort for a day of relaxing in the natural mineral springs. We wouldn't have ever known about that special place had it not been recommended by the motel proprietor. We always feel like we are visiting friends when we stay at Monterey & that is something we really have not experienced at any other hotel. Highy recommended!

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet & safe. If you want to be close to the swimming pool, request a room tow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank charlies2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We were on a driving trip to Colorado and decided to make our midpoint stop at a place on "The Mother Road". Having read reviews of Monterey's cleanliness and friendliness, we chose to spend the night there and were not disappointed. Though we had just finished a long drive, the proprietor's dinner recommendation and suggestion regarding a walk to Old Town were just what we needed to finish out our day. The room was immaculately clean, exactly the way I remembered such 'motor courts' that we frequented as a family 50 years ago. The place felt safe, secure and, well, a bit like something out of the Eisenhower era... in the very best sense. My wife and son enjoyed the in-room refrigerator.

Don't miss the sign at night; it is absolutely gorgeous and part of the art of the road that is Route 66...

Room Tip: Don't miss the sign at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deep_in_Dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Econo Lodge Old Town
#6 of 145 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 stars 550 reviews
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#16 of 145 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 stars 1,303 reviews
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#2 of 145 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 stars 1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#11 of 145 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 stars 1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Non-Smokers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Non-Smokers Motel

Address: 2402 Central Ave SW, Albuquerque, NM 87104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#13 Best Value Hotel in Albuquerque
#26 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Monterey Non-Smokers Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Monterey Non-Smokers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Non-Smokers Hotel Albuquerque
Monterey Non Smokers Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing