We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'home' away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Non-Smokers Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Monterey Non-Smokers Motel to your Saves list
Monterey Non-Smokers Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2402 Central Ave SW, Albuquerque, NM 87104   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 148 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“'home' away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Visiting from NYC to handle family matters, I stayed at Monterey for 2 weeks. My room was clean, quiet, comfortable, well-appointed, w. 2-block residential walk to Old Town. The owners, Henry and Bo, are friendly, efficient and helpful, making my difficult mission as pleasant as possible. They have become my friends. The old-fashioned convenience of my vehicle parked just outside my room was a landmark blessing. I'll take their hospitality and quarters over any chain or high-end establishment.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    131
    27
    7
    6
See reviews for
76
184
56
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed twice in the last week during our Route 66 trip, once on the westbound trip and again eastbound on the way home.

This is not similar in any way to a chain motel. There are patterned sheets on the bed, a packet of cookies from the owners' homeland of Poland in the room. The decor is more like staying with family, as some other reviewers have mentioned.

When we called for reservations, it was made very clear (politely) that the motel and grounds are non-smoking. It is a shame that some people have a hard time with that, according to prior reviews. Seriously, it is on the sign, in neon. Don't come here if you smoke.

Back to the room: spotless. We had a queen bed, room 11, to the rear of the propety. It was quiet. Given that it was March, the pool was not open. It is a classic 1950s motel so you park at the door to your room. We had a refrigerator, coffee maker, iron, ironing board, a desk, and a table and chairs, and a ceiling fan. A hairdryer was in the drawer. TV reception was good. Internet was great going westbound but spotty going east, although we didn't mention the internet to the owner because it was late and we used my husband's phone as a hotspot.

On our westbound trip, we needed the heater, which was effective and efficient baseboard heating. On our eastbound trip, no heat was needed, but we opened the window and used the ceiling fan. There is a/c but we did not use it.

The bed was comfortable, more for me than my husband, with four pillows, sheets, and blanket. There was an additional blanket in the closet, that we did not need.

Toiletries were provided: shampoo, several bars of soap. There were plenty of bath and hand towels, and wash cloths. The shower pressure was rather magnificent, the best of our trip.

Upon arival, Henry, the owner, gave us a map to Old Town and recommended a place to eat. It was a perhaps seven minute walk to Old Town. Although I would say be cautious while walking along Central Ave (Business Route 66), I was not worried. I would not wear my diamond tiara in the neighborhood, but I felt fine just being aware of our surroundings. No one approached us, nor was there much foot trafic. There was plenty of vehicle traffic though, and the street was well-lit.

I would not hesitate to stay again or recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are away from the din of Central Avenue. Room 11 is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We travel in the usa a lot this was a good motel very clean and the owners a smashing husband and wife team.The Old Town just a 5 mins walk away .We were their for the ballon fest and could not have picked a better place to stay. With Walgreens across the street whats not to like.Would go back tomorrow .darbsrv

Room Tip: Go to Trip Adviser the best tip
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This place is a bit old-school as the name might imply. It's clearly an older hotel, single story with parking spots right in front of each room. We actually really liked this because it was easy to get our luggage from the car. The whole place is impeccably clean and well maintained with cute little touches like a packet of cookies in the room. They have a laundry room for guests. We didn't get to enjoy the pool since it was fairly cold out but it looked nice.

The owner (or owners? We only spoke to the husband.) was exceptionally friendly and helpful. He had great recommendations for restaurants nearby.

It's right on Route 66. This makes it really easy to find but the street is quite busy, even late at night. If you're a light sleeper it might be an issue but I'd hardly say it was a deal-breaker. It was very easy to walk into Old Town for dinner, shopping or just to look around. Plus there's a Walgreens right across the street which can be super helpful when you forget the toothpaste.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Wonderful atmosphere, very much like staying at your Grandma's both in decor and hospitality without the curfew. It's an easy walk to Old Town. The proprieter has wonderful recommendations for restaurants. You are able to help yourself to the coffee packets so that you can brew it the way you want it. Very clean, wonderful scents in all the linens, spotless corners, etc. We enjoyed our spacious room very much plus it's a great value and so convenient.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamos, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Their motto is "European Hospitality" and the Polish couple that own and run the motel have become friends of ours. Impeccably clean, comfortable, and quiet. Bo and Henry are very solicitous to their clients needs.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

It may not be "new," but tht is part of the charm. It is an old style motel located on old Route 66.

You can walk to Old Town. You can park in front of your room. There's a clean laundry room on-site with iron and ironing board.

The owners/managers are on-site and willing to give advice and help with anything.

The room wa clean and I didn't have highway noise. The owners were updating some of the carpeting in some of the rooms when I was there.

Plenty of light and electrical outlets.

I liked this place so much I stayed an extra night. I was on a quick cross-country trip from CA to VA in late August-early September 2012. I called and was a bit suspicious because the price was so great. I liked the fact that they sort of asked me "qualifying" questions before taking my reservation for that same night. I looked at the room before agreeing to stay.

It was such as great location and so comfy that I decided to spend one more night and see more sights. It is conveniently located. I felt quite safe and had no worries.

This is a great value. If I ever go back, I will stay there.

Room Tip: I don't think there would be a "bad" room since this is a small motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Econo Lodge Old Town
#10 of 148 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 stars 466 reviews
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#14 of 148 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 stars 1,152 reviews
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#2 of 148 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 stars 1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#8 of 148 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 stars 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Non-Smokers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Non-Smokers Motel

Address: 2402 Central Ave SW, Albuquerque, NM 87104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#8 Best Value Hotel in Albuquerque
#28 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Monterey Non-Smokers Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Monterey Non-Smokers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Non-Smokers Hotel Albuquerque
Monterey Non Smokers Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monterey Non-Smokers Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.