We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The other way to get to Santa Fe, the low stress way.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Mexico Rail Runner

New Mexico Rail Runner
410 S. Guadalupe St, Albuquerque, NM 87102
866 795 7245
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 179 things to do in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The other way to get to Santa Fe, the low stress way.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I've never been on a train, and we knew the Rail Ruuner goes to Santa Fe everyday and wanting a weekend getaway, we took the train and stayed at Buffalo Thunder. Great ride, neat views and a carefree trip. Oh and it's cheap, but don't tell anyone, or everyone will want to go....

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    86
    14
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A Convenient way for a day trip to Sante Fe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This is the only way to travel to Santa Fe for the day. We purchased a day pass online or you can buy a ticket on board. It was just a few blocks to the plaza for shopping and lots of restaurants close to the station. Sure beats driving! We look forward to the next trip on the Rail Runner. Such a relaxing ride.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithia Springs, Georgia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Way to Santa Fe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

I decided to visit Albuquerque and the hotel told me about the Rail Runner. Instead of renting a car and driving to Santa Fe I took Rail Runner. Best decision ever! I was very impressed with the train and how convenient it was to get to Santa Fe. I purchased an all day pass for $9 for the round trip. When I arrived in Santa Fe I walked to the Georgia Okeefe museum. That's how close the train station is in Santa Fe. Then I walked to the Plaza and finally walked back to the train station. All attractions in Santa Fe are within walking distance of the Rail Runner. If you don't want to walk 2-3 blocks then by all means take the shuttle, (but the exercise will do you good). I'm so glad the state of New Mexico saw a great opportunity to take extra vehicles off the freeway and put in the commuter train. I plan on taking the Rail Runner again next time I'm in Albuquerque.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Great way to go to Santa Fe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Easy to buy tickets ahead of time on internet. Ease to get on and off. Very clean and smooth ride. Good way to sight see and relax.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eltham, Australia
Level Contributor
211 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great cheap way to see Santa Fe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Train is $7 for students so it's the easiest and cheapest way to see Santa Fe for the day.
Right next to Amtrack and Greyhound, buy your tickets on board and just enjoy the ride.
Use the free shuttle in Santa Fe to get around. It's ever 15 mins

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Mexico Rail Runner also viewed

 

Been to New Mexico Rail Runner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Mexico Rail Runner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.