We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Mexico Rail Runner

New Mexico Rail Runner
410 S. Guadalupe St, Albuquerque, NM 87102
866 795 7245
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 199 things to do in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Cortez, Colorado
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A fun trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We parked in a garage (you do pay), then took the RR to Santa Fe and stayed a couple of nights and returned on the RR. It is fun. When the doors close it goes "Beep, beep."

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    69
    10
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Super trip to Santa Fe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This train service is excellent if you don't want to drive to Santa Fe and, once in Santa Fe, don't plan to visit much beyond the plaza area. The cars are clean, and they have a 'quiet' car for those who wish to read, nap, or use a laptop. There is a free shuttle that takes one from the depot to the plaza. Museums and restaurants all around the plaza. Trips are limited vs. frequent, but we usually take the one that puts us at the plaza at approx 11:30; we walk to a local restaurant for lunch and then have plenty of time for shopping, walking, or museum'ing' before catching the 4pm"ish" train back to Albuquerque

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“I like the Railrunner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

The Railrunner is still a great way to go to and for Sante Fe from Abq. The o ly problems is the return times, especially o. The weekends are pretty limited so dinner would need to be early to have a return trip home.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great way to sightsee.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I was tired of driving, so we decided to visit Santa Fe via the Rail Runner. Access from our B&B (the Brittania & Mauger) was mere blocks away, ticket purchases were simple (agents mingle with those waiting at the station), agents provided helpful information on boarding, and our train was spot on time. The rail cars were very clean, well maintained, had AC outlets to charge our devices, and surprisingly quiet and comfortable. I enjoyed the chance to just stare at the raw nature of New Mexico all the way from Albuquerque to SF (admittedly, the first few miles north include a trip through a sketchy neighborhood, although the quality of gang graffiti was at least above average). The second stop (end of the line) in Santa Fe drops you off very near the Plaza. Tickets are cheap and my family enjoyed playing games and visiting in way never possible by car. I heartily recommend the Rail Runner.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great for tourists, not so much for commuters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

If you are a tourist, which I assume since this is a tourism website, I highly suggest taking the rail runner to ABQ if you are in Santa Fe, or Santa Fe if you are in ABQ. A rail runner day pass is quite affordable, especially if you qualify for one of their discounts. It is between $6-$8 depending on your discount. Getting off in the ABQ station will put you downtown, which is a short bus or cab ride from UNM, Nob Hill, or Old Town. Getting off in the Sante Fe station will put you only a few blocks from the plaza. If you are visiting either town and have between an afternoon or a whole day to spare, I would highly recommend taking the rail runner and spending your time exploring either ABQ or Santa Fe.

I had to take away a star, however, because the train does not run very often, and it is not the fastest option. The ride from ABQ to Santa Fe takes about twice as long as driving, but it is cheaper, easier, relaxing, and you get some pleseant scenery. As I stated in the title, it is not very good for commuters, and they need to work on making it better for that.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Mexico Rail Runner also viewed

 

Been to New Mexico Rail Runner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Mexico Rail Runner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.