We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“timetable is lacking but it's a great train” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Mexico Rail Runner

New Mexico Rail Runner
410 S. Guadalupe St, Albuquerque, NM 87102
866 795 7245
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 125 Attractions in Albuquerque
Type: Transportation, Scenic Railroads
Attraction Details
Bay Area, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“timetable is lacking but it's a great train”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Sadly, this train runs on a schedule in which you can't really plan to take it all the time. You have to truly preplan everything since the next train may not come for 1-2-3 hours! They need MORE trains.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    47
    7
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“When You want to go between Albuquerque & Santa Fe, Take the Train”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This little used and inexpensive way was fantastic. We were within one mile of the station in Santa Fe. We walked and got the 7:13 AM train. 90 minutes later we were in Downtown Albuquerque. It cost us 7 dollars for all day pass. That means we could travel back to Santa Fe and take all the other bus transportation within Albuquerque and Santa Fe for the $7.

They had a great system with cross town buses waiting for you when you arrive at either station. The trains were new, clean and comfortable. The country side we saw was great between the cities.

The center of the train had upper windows for viewing. It had wifi and the staff were very young and helpful. You can even get the train from Santa Fe to the airport with one bus added. Same cost.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“good experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Good way to go to & from Albuquerque &Santa Fe. Scenic ride. Easy to get on & off. Iwould do again. The train can be very full because,its commuter for many. Decount for children & seniors.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent commuter transportation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

When considering this train transportation from ABQ to Santa Fe, we evaluated the price of the train and the price of traveling by car. The train won and instead of driving, I got to see the scenery. I must say that some aspects of the scenery were not the greatest but it gave you some idea of how the locals live. The train was clean, well maintained, convenient to our location in ABQ and the depot wasn't too far from Old Town, Santa Fe. Shuttles were provided.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“FUN! KIDS WILL LOVE IT!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Except for the fact that I don't think they have enough schedule choices, especially on the weekends, this is a wonderful way to get from Point A to Point B...for us, that means Albuquerque to Santa Fe. VERY affordable, clean and scenic. It's a little hike to Santa Fe Plaza from the depot, but I know there are shuttles and cabs, but you have to fight the crowd to get one. Truthfully, we don't use the Railrunner because it's a great way to commute or get to Santa Fe...it's the fun-of-the-ride"...we think of it as a an "experience" rather than transportation. The very limited schedule sometimes makes for a CROWDED ride...hard to find seating and your party might be seated separately, so that's a problem as well. Still, it's fun and kids love it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Mexico Rail Runner also viewed

 

Been to New Mexico Rail Runner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Mexico Rail Runner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.