We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“timetable is lacking but it's a great train” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Mexico Rail Runner

New Mexico Rail Runner
410 S. Guadalupe St, Albuquerque, NM 87102
866 795 7245
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 179 things to do in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“timetable is lacking but it's a great train”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Sadly, this train runs on a schedule in which you can't really plan to take it all the time. You have to truly preplan everything since the next train may not come for 1-2-3 hours! They need MORE trains.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    86
    14
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
211 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“When You want to go between Albuquerque & Santa Fe, Take the Train”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This little used and inexpensive way was fantastic. We were within one mile of the station in Santa Fe. We walked and got the 7:13 AM train. 90 minutes later we were in Downtown Albuquerque. It cost us 7 dollars for all day pass. That means we could travel back to Santa Fe and take all the other bus transportation within Albuquerque and Santa Fe for the $7.

They had a great system with cross town buses waiting for you when you arrive at either station. The trains were new, clean and comfortable. The country side we saw was great between the cities.

The center of the train had upper windows for viewing. It had wifi and the staff were very young and helpful. You can even get the train from Santa Fe to the airport with one bus added. Same cost.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“good experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Good way to go to & from Albuquerque &Santa Fe. Scenic ride. Easy to get on & off. Iwould do again. The train can be very full because,its commuter for many. Decount for children & seniors.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent commuter transportation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

When considering this train transportation from ABQ to Santa Fe, we evaluated the price of the train and the price of traveling by car. The train won and instead of driving, I got to see the scenery. I must say that some aspects of the scenery were not the greatest but it gave you some idea of how the locals live. The train was clean, well maintained, convenient to our location in ABQ and the depot wasn't too far from Old Town, Santa Fe. Shuttles were provided.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
113 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“FUN! KIDS WILL LOVE IT!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Except for the fact that I don't think they have enough schedule choices, especially on the weekends, this is a wonderful way to get from Point A to Point B...for us, that means Albuquerque to Santa Fe. VERY affordable, clean and scenic. It's a little hike to Santa Fe Plaza from the depot, but I know there are shuttles and cabs, but you have to fight the crowd to get one. Truthfully, we don't use the Railrunner because it's a great way to commute or get to Santa Fe...it's the fun-of-the-ride"...we think of it as a an "experience" rather than transportation. The very limited schedule sometimes makes for a CROWDED ride...hard to find seating and your party might be seated separately, so that's a problem as well. Still, it's fun and kids love it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Mexico Rail Runner also viewed

 

Been to New Mexico Rail Runner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Mexico Rail Runner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.