We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelona Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelona Suites to your Saves list
Barcelona Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   900 Louisiana Blvd NE, Albuquerque, NM 87110   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 146 Hotels in Albuquerque
lubbock, tx
1 review
“Horrible!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

First room heater made bad noise, they said it couldn't be fixed. They moved us to an outside room and it wasn't much better. No iron, coffee pot didn't work, finally they replaced late the next day. The noise was bad from the atrium on fri and sat. nights. They allowed everyone from wedding on Sat. to park in the parking for hotel guest so we had no place to park. The people were not helpful at all. Then by credit card was billed twice for the same trip, still have not gotten that straightened out. I was charged 130.00 per night during balloon festival, that was too much for the service.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    73
    40
    30
    25
See reviews for
104
56
7
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

Not a picky person and knew that this hotel was somewhat in the "budget hotel" range...but would not stay there again. Rooms are roomy and mostly comfortable, but the breakfast area is an open area leading to all of the rooms and the owner/managers book weddings and dance parties there. All night long you get to hear the festivities pounding though the walls and doorway. We had this 2 nights in a row and this also causes a shortage in parking. Had to park in the surrounding neighborhood which was sketchy...cop cars all over.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monument, CO
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

use this hotel only if you have no other choice for a place to sleep. We arrived and the hotel had our reservations wrong. Was prepared for this because of other reviews so I had my paper work ready. Staff was rude. Pool was gross. Room was shabby, but the beds were clean. Would not ever stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City and LA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

They couldn't find our reservation to begin with, luckily I had printed it out so had something to show them, it was 'Balloon Weekend" when we were there so the place was crowded and they didn't have a King room for us, the desk clerk was overwhelmed and the place is a design nightmare, so insane that the clerk couldn't even explain to us how to get to our room, originally saying that the elevator didn't go to the second floor, but then saying that it did but we had to go up another flight of stairs. The room was awful, it looked like a really crappy apartment , was less than spotlessly clean and it was supposed to be a King Suite, no decor , horrible furnishings and really loud. And don't get me started on the horror that was the parking garage, which ironically had a fountain in the middle of it! Our experience here made me never want to set foot in Albuquerque ever again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altadena, CA
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

Had a bad feeling about the place as soon as we arrived. We totally relied on the reviews from tripadvisor on this selection. The price was reasonable, $89 during Balloon Fiesta, but you get what you pay for. The place holds a Karaoke events during the weekends and even though their underground gate secured parking is supposed to stay closed they leave it open all night long.

Our car was one of 5 cars that got hit that night. I would not recommend this place unless you like to spend your vacation getting you're car windows replaced and trying to get a hold of the hotels management.

If you're on vacation stay away from this place, you can get better accommodations elsewhere

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

I can't imagin what the other reviewers saw in this place. Yes the lobby was nice but the rooms are horrible! You walk in and realy can't imagine taking your shoes off. The beds were clean and so were the bathrooms but I turned the hot water on to fill the tub and the water was a rusty color. I checked out the next day because it's just not comfortable to me to stay in a building that is so old and had very little upkeep. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2009

Earlier this month, my family and I stayed at BS.. My boys 5 & 12, and my husband came with me to a drs appt. The kids loved the elevator in the hotel, and I really liked the design of the place.
The guy working at the front desk did not give any instructions, like where the breakfast would be, where the pool was, or anything like that.
We had a good time. The indoor pool was small, but perfect for my 5 yr old. The room was pretty big, which helped to not feel cramped up with 4 people. I do have to complain that there was a dead bug in my room by the door, but other than that it was pretty good. I HATED the beds though.. They were very hard and uncomfortable.
The game room had about 3 video games that functioned and a pool table.
The free breakfast was good..

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelona Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona Suites

Address: 900 Louisiana Blvd NE, Albuquerque, NM 87110
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 146 Hotels in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Barcelona Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms are spacious (500 sq. ft) two rooms suites with a separate living area, bedroom, two televisions and pull-out sleeper sofa. Free HOT cooked to order breakfast. Indoor pool, Seasonal Outdoor pool, Spa, and Business Center. Lounge Open Thursday - Saturday. Conveniently located in Uptown Albuquerque close to ABQ Uptown, Coronado Mall, and numerous restaurants. Also nearby to the State Fairgrounds (EXPO NM) and the Downs racetrack and casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Barcelona Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Hotel Albuquerque

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelona Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.