We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overall, a nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelona Suites

Save Saved
You added Barcelona Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barcelona Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   900 Louisiana Blvd NE, Albuquerque, NM 87110 (Uptown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 145 hotels in Albuquerque
1 review
“overall, a nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

the room was roomy, the televisions were old and needing being updated, nice and quiet. the layout of the hotel was a bit confusing, lots of walking. the main lobby atrium is beautiful, but carpets need to be vacuumed more often.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newmexicot123, General Manager at Barcelona Suites, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Kromero01,

Thank you for your great review about our hotel. We have taken your suggestion about televisions and have already installed flat screen televisions in 80 rooms. We will definitely address your other suggestions at the next staff meeting. We thank you for you kind comments about our hotel. We hope to see you again soon.

Malini Perumal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    68
    33
    25
    21
See reviews for
96
49
7
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The entire place smelled off. Funny...like a grandmother's dentures, long dried up and sitting in the sun. The smell was just peculiar, and not pleasant. The room's paint, carpet and entire bathroom need to be replaced...the toilet handle had to be held down in order to flush.

Room Tip: Room service consisted of Hamburgers and hot dogs from the "bar."
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newmexicot123, Manager at Barcelona Suites, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Thomasaab,

Thank you for posting a review about our hotel. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced and that the hotel was not up to your expectations. We are currently going through a remodel of some of our rooms. I would personally like to speak with you about your recent stay and would hope that you contact me at 505-255-5566 at your earliest convenience.

Malini Perumal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas, Ontario
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for one night while passing through Albuquerque. We found it through the hotel coupon booklet at the New Mexico Welcome centre. The hotel did honour the coupon but charged us an additional $20 since there were 3 of us in one suite.
The hotel has a spectacular atrium with a fountain and the hotel itself is quite impressive, although a little worn around the edges. Our suite was quite nice with a very large bedroom with 2 queen beds, a comfortable living room, although the couch was quite old, a spacious counter area with fridge and microwave and a roomy bathroom. Overall, the whole space was very clean. The beds were comfortable, it was quiet and we slept well. We originally thought the foyer outside our room was indoors, but realized it was actually outside. Very unique layout in a beautiful hotel.
We didn't get a chance to use the pool area but it looked quite nice. We had been travelling all day so we were hoping for room service because we didn't feel like going out. This hotel uses an outside service for their room service and we called and were told they were closed because it was a holiday (Labour day). We thought that was weird, never heard of hotel room service being closed on a holiday. We ended up getting take-out from Burger King next door, yuck.
The breakfast was included and made to order. The food was excellent and the service good. We were very happy we found this hotel and got to tour Albuquerque the next day.
We love the hotel coupon books because we always find places we would have never picked by driving by.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newmexicot123, Manager at Barcelona Suites, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Hogs-dogs,

I would first of all like to that you for posting such a nice review about our hotel. We truly appreciate the time that you took out to do that. We are glad that you enjoyed our large suites and breakfast. We hope that you will try us out again on your next visit to Albuquerque.

We will share your kind comments with the entire staff.

Thanks again,

Malini Perumal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This was our third stay in 4 months at this hotel. The suites are very clean and comfortable. A little older so a bit of wear and tear, but staff was right on hand to replace items that needed replacement (like an iron that did not heat up). The staff is friendly and attentive - on our return visits we were able to pick the room of our choice (mountain view). I would definitely recommend this as a very comfortable and homey place from which to enjoy Albuquerque.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newmexicot123, General Manager at Barcelona Suites, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Katherine W.

Thank you for your kind comments about our hotel. We are glad that you felt it was your home away from home. Our entire staff goes out of their way for each guest and we are glad that you recognized that. We hope to see you on your next visit to Albuquerque.

Thank you,

Malini Perumal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckeye, Arizona
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This was my second and last stay here. We reserved a handicapped suite. Upon arriving, the room's refrig was not working and there were numerous cig. burns on the couch and counter. We were moved to another king "suite" without a sink in the kitchenette. Then to a queen room that had a non working toilet. This dance continued until I gave up and took the second room offered (one of the offered rooms had holes thru the entry door where it appeared someone attempted to kick it in). The room we had (non-smoking) had burns on the couch cushions, the door latch on the microwave was broken and we had to purchase a cooler to keep our drinks in as the refrigerator was iffy at best. The suite had two TVs. Both were picture tube type and the one in the living room did not work well. We asked to have them switched, but even though the staff apologized daily, it was not done. If I had known travel adviser took pictures, the shower knobs would have been shown with what appeared to be mold on the inside of the clear knobs. All in all, a 3rd rate hotel. I would not recommed it to anyone. On the plus side the GM offered to comp a nite but somehow forgot. The last nite, the vp of sales was at the desk and did do the comp. I was told they were upgrading the furniture. I cannot in good conscience recommend this facility to anyone, anytime.

Room Tip: Run fast to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed there on a Friday night, we reserved a "non-smoking" Jacuzzi suite. It was adjacent to the main lobby, I was concerned about the music they play for the salsa activity, but I am happy to say, I didn't hear any music in my room, the main lobby was filled with music but even though I was close to the lobby, I didn't hear anything.
My main problem came from the smoke smell in the smoke free room. I complained to the front desk, they quickly gave me a temp card for another smoke free room to see how that was. That room was even worse, they said those were the only two available. The hotel has multiple signs saying "this is a smoke-free facility" but they also have multiple cigarette canisters that are pretty much full. They don't care if any of their patrons smoke regardless of the posted signs. Its sad too, because I can tell they have recently painted, newer furniture, new tile, but now all that work is wasted because they don't enforce their policies.
The Jacuzzi tub was really weak, didn't really have high pressure, and the fireplace was a light with something rolling in the back of the fake wood. Don't expect much for the added cost of the room.
The breakfast was good, underdone eggs, but other than that, very tasty.
All in all, not a bad stay, but if you are a nonsmoker, you may want to consider staying somewhere else, even your smoke free room, may have a strong smoke smell.

Room Tip: Nonsmoking rooms may still have a strong smoke smell
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The only thing this hotel needs is an infusion of human energies! It's a lot of hotel, with its mammoth atrium. Talk about High ceilings!! If you like High ceilings, not in the rooms themselves, mind you, but in the atrium where one can have an enjoyable, cooked-to-order breakfasts every morning! Fact is in such expanded surrounds, one's being can really be drawn to the forefront! Just being there is great! One hardly needs the pool and jacuzzi to enhance one's being-ness! The atrium and lobby are so grand that it would be a challenge for any management team to keep them up! The tendency is for the little things to be subject to entropy. But, then again, everything in the material universe wears down! The secret is to see pass them all, what Plato called the World of Illusions and Appearances. Then you can enjoy this unique habitat for what it is: huge, majestic and inspiring! Give me a group of people who can do this, and we'll raise the roof right off this grand lady!

Room Tip: There was a fitness center, also? Point it out to me next time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newmexicot123, General Manager at Barcelona Suites, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Wiggleroom,

Thank you for you kind words about our hotel. We appreciate that you took the time out to write this response. We will definitely convey this to the rest of our staff members.

Thank you,
Malini Perumal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barcelona Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona Suites

Address: 900 Louisiana Blvd NE, Albuquerque, NM 87110
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque > Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Barcelona Suites 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms are spacious (500 sq. ft) two rooms suites with a separate living area, bedroom, two televisions and pull-out sleeper sofa. Free HOT cooked to order breakfast. Indoor pool, Seasonal Outdoor pool, Spa, and Business Center. Lounge Open Thursday - Saturday. Conveniently located in Uptown Albuquerque close to ABQ Uptown, Coronado Mall, and numerous restaurants. Also nearby to the State Fairgrounds (EXPO NM) and the Downs racetrack and casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Barcelona Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Hotel Albuquerque

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelona Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.