We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelona Suites

Save Saved
You added Barcelona Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barcelona Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   900 Louisiana Blvd NE, Albuquerque, NM 87110 (Uptown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 145 hotels in Albuquerque
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is the third time we have stayed here for family vacation. We were there June 27-30. It is perfect...we have three kids and this hotel offers a suite w/ two tvs, pool, free breakfast, and is close to where we want to go. However, this visit was disappointing. First of all...breakfast was wonderful and the chef was super friendly and professional. The kids LOVE the waffles. We notices the new linens and the are very pretty. The pool was wonderful and the kids favorite thing! Now...the front door was broken when we arrived and I almost had to call to get in the building. The "new" smoking area was always locked and my husband actually got locked out there a couple times. The shower in our room was stuck on the hard massage setting which let to painful showers. I told the front when we left but they did not seem concerned. Our daughter was going to sleep on the sofa bed but there were weird stains on it. The sofas should definitely be replaced. We have always looked forward to staying here...but this trip may make us think again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newmexicot123, General Manager at Barcelona Suites, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear StephandFamily-

Thank you for your recent review about our hotel. We are especially excited to read your review since it is the third one about our hotel. We apologize for the few problems that you experienced during your stay. We are definitely working on these issues and will address them at our next staff meeting. We are in the process of replacing our sofa sleepers as well. I hope you will try us out again as we are making some upgrades to our rooms.

Thank you,

Malini Perumal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    68
    33
    25
    21
See reviews for
96
49
7
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

this was the first hotel and suites we stayed at where the pictures didn't lie! What you see is what you get, and what you get is excellence! Will always plan on staying there for all of our get a ways.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newmexicot123, General Manager at Barcelona Suites, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Yvonne E,

Thank you for your kind review about our hotel. We tried to represent our hotel well online with our website and virtual tour. We will let the entire staff know about your kind comments. We can't wait to see you again.

Thank you,

Malini Perumal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Good value. The bathrooms need to be bigger and updated. With some attention to the cosmetic issues this could be a really nice place. Please lable the ice machine location. The beds were comfortable. It was a nice surprise to have two rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newmexicot123, General Manager at Barcelona Suites, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Eagle Jet,

Thank you for your review about our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed our two room suites, they are very spacious - about 500 square feet! We are currently working on upgrading our rooms and doing some of those cosmetic things that you spoke about in our public areas. We can't wait until we see you again!

Malini Perumal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington Fl
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This hotel was located across the street from the show grounds. The staff was terrific and the breakfast was perfect. The hotel was clean but could use a little TLC. A/C was not working properly and maintenance took some time to fix.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newmexicot123, General Manager at Barcelona Suites, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Queenbee4444,

We love having the Arabian Youth Nationals stay with us every year! We are located right across EXPO New Mexico so it is within walking distance. We are having our maintenance staff go through every room so we can provide that TLC that you spoke about. We hope to see you again next year!

Malini Perumal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The Barcelona Suites is an excellent place to stay in Albuquerque. The staff is very competent, helpful and pleasant. You get a great breakfast as part of the package. The rooms are quite and comfortable. They could do some basic maintenance. The A/C wouldn't turn on two nights - the first time, I called and they fixed it. The second night, it was so late I didn't bother. It could stand some paint and fixing little things.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newmexicot123, General Manager at Barcelona Suites, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Eleanor R,

Thank you for your kind review about our hotel. We apologize about the air conditioner problem that you had. We are taking your comments very seriously and we are currently conducting preventative maintenance in all of our rooms to make sure it does not happen again. We are glad that you enjoyed the rest of your stay.

Thank you

Malini Perumal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The employees were excellent and very courteous. Best Management I've seen in twenty years. The rooms were very well maintained. Front Desk personal were very professional. House Keepers were also very courteous and polite, always smiling. The breakfast was good. Manager was very attentive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newmexicot123, General Manager at Barcelona Suites, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Adrell A,

Thank you so much for your great review about our hotel. The management and staff were very excited to read this review. We do very work very hard for each guests to ensure their stay is a pleasurable one. We can not wait to see you again at our hotel.

Thank you,

Malini Perumal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mays Landing, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stayed here for one night while traveling across country. The pictures they have look great, but the rooms and the actual hotel are pretty worn down. When I walked into my room, I walked into a sitting area. Then into the 'kitchen'. The microwave in the wall had to be nearly 20yrs old. Then you walk into your room. The AC was like this little unit in the ceiling. It did not pump much cool air. The bathroom was okay but a few hairs and I just refused to shower in it. The breakfast was okay, not your typical breakfast though. Its a wide open area and you place your order with the woman (or whoever) behind the counter. She then cooks it up and you can sit wherever and eat. I felt pretty out of place here, and not 100% safe. There is a parking garage which is where you have to park. This is a bit shady for someone traveling alone, especially a woman alone like myself. The locks on my room doors weren't your typical doors & I did not feel that safe. I've stayed at a lot of hotels since my husband and I travel a lot and this one I just wouldn't stay at again. I am not one to be picky about hotels, but spend your money elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newmexicot123, General Manager at Barcelona Suites, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Nina F,

Thank your for your comments about our hotel. We apologize that your stay was not up to your satisfaction. We are taking your comments about our rooms very seriously and are upgrading our rooms with new furniture, artwork, lighting, and lounge chairs. We are eagerly awaiting for the furniture to be delivered! We also have added additional lighting in the parking garage to ensure each guest's safety. I would like to personally apologize to you about your experience at our hotel, please contact me at 505-255-5566.

Thank you,

Malini Perumal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barcelona Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona Suites

Address: 900 Louisiana Blvd NE, Albuquerque, NM 87110
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque > Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Barcelona Suites 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms are spacious (500 sq. ft) two rooms suites with a separate living area, bedroom, two televisions and pull-out sleeper sofa. Free HOT cooked to order breakfast. Indoor pool, Seasonal Outdoor pool, Spa, and Business Center. Lounge Open Thursday - Saturday. Conveniently located in Uptown Albuquerque close to ABQ Uptown, Coronado Mall, and numerous restaurants. Also nearby to the State Fairgrounds (EXPO NM) and the Downs racetrack and casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Barcelona Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Hotel Albuquerque

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelona Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.