We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but Run Down” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelona Suites

Save Saved
You added Barcelona Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barcelona Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   900 Louisiana Blvd NE, Albuquerque, NM 87110 (Uptown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 146 hotels in Albuquerque
New Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Clean but Run Down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The hotel is clean, but it is very run down. They decor, carpet, & furnishings are old. The mattresses were hard. Half of the lights in the pool area were out so our children swam in the dark. The "full, hot breakfast" is make-your-own waffles or two eggs made to order w/toast, sausage or bacon. We were only there one night, so it satisfied our needs, but I would not stay there more than one night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newmexicot123, Manager at Barcelona Suites, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for you comments about our hotel. Your comments are important to us and we take our guests' comments very seriously. We have put a new bedding package in our rooms and this is the first part of our renovation. We are also trying to install Flat Screen Tvs and new drapery by the middle of this year. We noted your comments about the pool area and our maintenance staff is verifying all the lights are working. If you have more suggestions about our breakfast -we would be happy to hear them and will add items based on guests' request. We hope you will try us again and will be able to experience this renovation.

Thank you,

Malini Perumal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    68
    36
    25
    22
See reviews for
97
50
8
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Roswell, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This hotel is very very nice, the staff from the service desk, bartenders, breakfast an cleaning aids were all very nice and helpful!!! We found a hotel we will always book from now on. The pool was awesome it was very warm we had a blast! I loved that you could take your breakfast to your room. i would recommend Barcelona suites to everyone! It was close to restaurants a bowling alley gas stations it was awsome.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newmexicot123, Manager at Barcelona Suites, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Our staff is working very hard to satisfy our guests and maintain a high level of customer service. They will delighted with the comments that you have mentioned here about our hotel. We will definitely pass your comments along to them. We hope to see you again in the future.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirtland, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

As a music teacher, I have taken student groups to Albuquerque many times. This is probably the fiftth time I have stayed at this hotel with students in the last several years and have enjoyed every visit. The only problem we ever had was some guests (young men) that stayed near us who wanted my femaie students to hang out in their room with them. My chaperones and I made sure we were visible and the guests knew we were watching them. This was a guest problem, not a hotel problem and we got it taken care of easily. The rooms are clean and roomy and the price is right. My students and I are place in a secluded part of the hotel where we don't have to worry to much about bothering other guests which is nice. The free made to order breakfast is excellent and since it is free, this frees up funds for other meals. The staff has been excellent to work with, all the way from the head of group sales to the breakfast attendant. While this hotel is not the Waldorf Astoria, it is a nice place to stay, at a reasonable price, in a convenient location. The pool is a plus also. We will be staying there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newmexicot123, Manager at Barcelona Suites, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
We love having your group stay with us every January! We accommodate many school groups and the rooms are perfect for teams as all room are two room suites with a pullout sofa in every room.

We will let our staff members know about your kind comments.

We can't wait to see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Mississippi
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The place is a little on the old side, not shabby per se but slightly run down. The interior decor in the common areas is quite nice, with lots of tile and fountains. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, but the furniture is older and the lighting is insufficient. There's not a lot to do in the immediate vicinity, but if you have a car you can get places quickly. "Kitchenette" is just a mini-fridge and ancient microwave with some cupboards.

Good:
Friendly staff, good breakfast with eggs cooked to order, strong wireless internet signal, covered parking.

Bad:
Thin walls, particularly if you're next to laundry, small towels, poor lighting in rooms, not the best neighborhood

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newmexicot123, Manager at Barcelona Suites, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are working to make some upgrades in our rooms to eliminate the older appearance. We have already upgrading our bedding package and I hope the that you will come back to enjoy these upgrades.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snohomish, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This hotel has a lot of elements we like, so we stay here whenever we're in town. The covered/secure parking is really nice. Having a separate bedroom and living room is great because I'm a morning person and my husband is not. I can feed the dogs and get my day going while he sleeps in. The furnishings are a bit dated, but the rooms are clean. The place is old, but it's built well and there's not a lot of noise from adjacent rooms. The staff seems to be trying hard to improve the hotel. Our most recent stay was better than the last one from a customer service perspective. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Some areas are not accessible from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newmexicot123, Manager at Barcelona Suites, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your comments about the hotel. We are upgrading our hotel and we feel that you will be happy with the improvements. We have already upgrading the bedding package. I'm glad you will try us again and I hope that you will like the improvements we are making!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballwin, Missouri
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Our family, a group of five, stayed here for a week over the New Years Holiday. We had come here about three years ago and stayed here then and I think we were using the same broken furniture then. The kids couldn't sleep on the fold out couch because...well, only half of it was standing. The staff at the desk was very courteous and allowed me to "hunt" room-to-room to find a better 2-queen unit for us to move, but EVERY room I looked at was run down and had some very serious need for updating. I understand some of the King rooms have been updated. The pool is WONDERFUL!!!! it's warm and we all had fun. I wish the staff and pool could overrate the disappointment in the room - but for $10 more a night we could have stayed in a room at the Residence Inn where they have a stove, oven and all kitchen accessories (plates, silverware...).....AND A POOL.

Room Tip: Only stay here if you want an updated KING room!!! Even the indoor pool and breakfast can't com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newmexicot123, Manager at Barcelona Suites, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your comments about the hotel. We are sorry that you did not have a good experience at our hotel. We are updated our rooms so I'm sure that on your next stay, you will be happy with those improvements. We are using all your comments as a training tool for our hotel and our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The rooms were older but comfortable and clean. Breakfast was very good with excellent service.
Centrally located and priced very good. We were there during the Balloon Festival and would stay there again. Underground parking is a big plus.

Room Tip: Get an inside room away from the street side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newmexicot123, Manager at Barcelona Suites, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for visiting us during Balloon Fiesta. We are so glad that you liked the hotel. We are upgrading our rooms so we hope you can come again this year to see them.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelona Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona Suites

Address: 900 Louisiana Blvd NE, Albuquerque, NM 87110
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque > Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 146 hotels in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Barcelona Suites 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms are spacious (500 sq. ft) two rooms suites with a separate living area, bedroom, two televisions and pull-out sleeper sofa. Free HOT cooked to order breakfast. Indoor pool, Seasonal Outdoor pool, Spa, and Business Center. Lounge Open Thursday - Saturday. Conveniently located in Uptown Albuquerque close to ABQ Uptown, Coronado Mall, and numerous restaurants. Also nearby to the State Fairgrounds (EXPO NM) and the Downs racetrack and casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Barcelona Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Hotel Albuquerque

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelona Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.