We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy Hotel and Guests” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelona Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelona Suites to your Saves list
Barcelona Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   900 Louisiana Blvd NE, Albuquerque, NM 87110 (Uptown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 146 Hotels in Albuquerque
Germany
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Noisy Hotel and Guests”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here during the balloon fiesta and the hotel was pretty but lacking a little luster from her early days. I think she could use a bit of TLC and bring her back to her once grand state. The room itself was nice, plenty of space but when I went to go to sleep that was another story, it was so noisy I hardly slept a wink. The walls are thin so I could hear the neighbors talking, I could hear every flush and shower turn on, then when the room above me came in, it sounded like a herd of elephants above me-terrible for sleeping! They did have a good system set up for the Balloon Fiesta but bring some earplugs!

Room Tip: Get the Top Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    72
    40
    30
    22
See reviews for
102
55
7
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Our son stayed at the Barcelona Suites for several months in 2012 while he was working temporarily in Albuquerque. They offered him a very reasonable rate, with a daily hot breakfast included. My son really liked living there, especially the staff and management. He said they were always pleasant and helpful. He felt safe and secure living there. While he was there, we visited him a couple of times and stayed at the hotel ourselves. We noticed the same thing about the staff and management. They seem eager to please. Although the hotel is older, the staff does a good job of maintaining it. It is clean and spacious. The suites themselves are large with plenty of room. The furniture is older but in good shape. There is an indoor pool and spa, but no workout room. The hot breakfast is adequate and served daily with a smile. One plus is the underground parking, which is great during the hot summer. If you are looking for a modern fancy resort with nightlife, this probably won't be your cup of tea. But if you are looking for a quiet, older charming hotel, this might fit the bill. The lobby itself is worth a look. All in all, I feel the Barcelona Suites is a very good value for your money. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daleville, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed for 3 days at the height of the International Balloon Fiesta. Our suite was at the far end of the hotel requiring a luggage carrier trip up the elevator, to another stair case, unloading the luggage carrier, carrying the luggage down the stairs reloading on another luggage carrier in order to get ot our room. Getting to your room should not be an African Safari.

The alcove to our suite was filled with trash and dirt, the screen to the living room window had been kicked out, the counter top in refrigerator area was sticky and crusted with dirt. Breakfasts were served in a huge cavernous dining/bar area that stayed in perpetual gloom and was cold -- which meant whatever you ordered to eat, it was going to be stone cold by the time you sat down to eat it.

On the flip side, the staff was very friendly and helpful. The free underground parking is a real plus. The lady who ran the shuttle was professonal and always prompt. It seemed to be a hotel in contradictions. They want your trade but the amenities have serious flaws. Maintenance is a chronic issue with signs of disrepair everywhere.

Room Tip: Choose a room either on ground floor or one that has direct access to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I really liked this place. Lots of tile, definately older, but kept up. We had the jacuzzi tub suite with a fireplace in the separate tub room. Everything was great. Loved the hot tub with the indoor pool. Our suite had the microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker and a sink. We all enjoyed the breakfasts that were served. The underground parking was a definate plus. Hotel is pet friendly. No grass for the dog, but not a problem for mine. Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed for a week during the Balloon Fiesta. Unless you are coming for that, visit Albuquerque during another time- everything is three times the price!!! That said, we had a fabulous week. Everyone at the hotel was wonderful and helpful. We had a light out in front of our room ( which was in a little alley like hallway and if I had been traveling solo, I would have changed my room. ) They fixed the light ( it was more than a bulb change) immediately. My 85 year old mom needed a shower chair because there was only one bar outside the shower wall. The housekeeper brought it promptly and with a big smile. The breakfast was great! The early morning chefs were always smiling. During the week, when it was not so crowded, we got my mom into the pool for her exercises. The parking garage ( gated) was a huge benefit as well.
The only things keeping it from 5 stars:
-The towels were threadbare- did not really fit with how good everything else was.
-Not having the sink in the 'kitchen' area was a bit awkward. I don't really like washing dishes where people are washing up:)
- I was surprised, knowing that my mom was traveling with us and uses a walker, that the room we were put in required a short flight of stairs even to get to the elevator. So every time we went out and came back, she had to do the stairs. She is very spry and if not for this, would have been happy to stay behind and rest if we wanted to go out and do something else. The room was kind of like a dungeon. (# 176) It was behind and down a little from the great open room where the breakfast was served. The night before I had to leave ( had to get up at 4:30am) there was a singer in that space who sang until at least 11. That was a bit rough...
Overall, though, it was great- very convenient. There is a Trader Joe's not too far away
( within walking distance). We noted that many balloonists stayed here which is a good sign!
I would stay here again, I'd just request a different room!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bray, Oklahoma, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The elevator to a stairway was difficult for my back. The lack of attention of the shuttle driver making me walk 2 miles was difficult for my back and pinched nerve in my leg. The bedroom sitting feet from a busy roadway made my sleep difficult. The breakfast was great.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side did not seem to have the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newmexicot123, General Manager at Barcelona Suites, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you so much for you review. We are sorry that you felt that the walking was a little to much for you. Next time, you can request a room a little closer to the elevators and you may find the walking to be a little bit better for you. I am glad you enjoyed the free hot breakfast. Thank you for your stay.

Malini Perumal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

A week at the Barcelona Suites during the Balloon Fiesta resulted in an opinion change. Our reservation, made six months before, became the subject of some concern when we attempted to confirm it 10 days before departing Florida for New Mexico. The rate changes for the event prompted the staff to respond negatively to the quote that I had received in writing. A second confirmation with the original rates was sent to us just a few days before departure.

At first blush, the appearance of the lobby and the dining room a floor above made us think of a movie set in the 30s's--over sized, over tiled and with plastic plants. A "limited service" hotel with only a microwave , a coffee maker a miniature refrigerator and no kitchen sink in the "kitchen", the Barcelona still offered an indoor and outdoor pool, an absolutely outstanding staff and an early morning chef that was 110% helpful. The underground parking was a big plus. With the Asst. Managers help even the 1990 "business Center" internet was up and running--Belle at the front desk was quick to help and bakes great cookies!

Room Tip: Suites at the rear of the hotel offer more insulation from street noises on Louisianna Blvd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newmexicot123, Manager at Barcelona Suites, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Donald,

Thank you for your review. We apologize for the confusion in your rate, but we were delighted to have your stay with us for 7 days. We are glad that you liked the unique appearance of the hotel.
I will convey your kind comments to our staff members.

Thank you,

Malini Perumal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelona Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona Suites

Address: 900 Louisiana Blvd NE, Albuquerque, NM 87110
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque > Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 146 Hotels in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Barcelona Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms are spacious (500 sq. ft) two rooms suites with a separate living area, bedroom, two televisions and pull-out sleeper sofa. Free HOT cooked to order breakfast. Indoor pool, Seasonal Outdoor pool, Spa, and Business Center. Lounge Open Thursday - Saturday. Conveniently located in Uptown Albuquerque close to ABQ Uptown, Coronado Mall, and numerous restaurants. Also nearby to the State Fairgrounds (EXPO NM) and the Downs racetrack and casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Barcelona Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Hotel Albuquerque

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelona Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.