We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair french fare” 3 of 5 stars
Review of P'Tit Louis Bistro Nob Hill

P'Tit Louis Bistro Nob Hill
3218 Silver Ave SE, Albuquerque, NM 87106
(505) 314-1110
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #215 of 1,533 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fair french fare”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

It had potential but failed to impress. The east coast oysters were fabulous as were the pommes frites with steak poivre. The steak and the duck l'orange were bland and disappointing.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    6
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Corrales, NM
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Small French bistro. Our food was very good. Fresh oysters Thursday and Friday nights. We had goat cheese and beet salad and French onion soup. Classic. The mussels in saffron cream were very good. The Dijon encrusted salmon was excellent. Cheese selection was wonderful. For blue cheese fans only, be sure to have the Roquefort papillion. Atmosphere and service were top notch. Wine list is short but the bottle of Graves was very good. Will definately return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“French perfection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Mussels in curry, mussels in white wine....more and more mussels... heaven. Tiny bistro akin to its Parisian counterparts. Probably can't seat more than 30 people. Once the word gets out, it's going to be hard to get a table. Only two kinds of beer are served, try the Scotish Ale. Wine is served in carafes as in France. Lemon tart for dessert. Divine!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere but flavorless food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We were so looking forward to a nice meal at this Nob Hill location based on other reviews but were sadly disappointed. When we arrived, the servers were friendly & we were seated promptly. There were only 3 other tables occupied at that time. We agree with other reviews that the decor is charming and very reminiscent of a bistro in France. Our meals, though, were the most lackluster that we had eaten in a long time. First, out starters took 30 minutes to arrive despite the fact that the restaurant was not yet busy. We finally asked about them, the server went to check on them and they arrived soon afterwards. Not sure how much longer it would have been if we had not asked. It would have also been nice if one of the servers would have noted how long we had been waiting and checked on it themselves.

My husband's French onion soup was very bland. It definitely needed salt but it lacked the characteristic caramelized onions one usually finds in this soup. Rather, they seemed to have only been lightly sauteed, if at all. It was also without the delightful sweetness of a good French onion soup. My beet/goat cheese salad was OK. The beet/goat cheese part was nice but the greens lacked any vinaigrette and would have been greatly improved by a sprinkle of sea salt.

We hoped our main courses would be better but, they also were so lacking in flavor. The Boeuf Bourguignon was lukewarm and, once again, had a bland taste. My husband's Chicken Cordon Bleu was better as the chicken was well-cooked and moist. The potatoes that accompanied the dish, though, were flavorless. It did not taste as if there was any butter or seasonings at all. The menu advertised that it came with sauteed squash but his came with a small amount of creamed spinach. When he asked, he was told they were out of squash. We understand that, but it would have been nice if the server would have been proactive about informing us of this. To their credit, they did offer a substitute vegetable after we asked why there was no squash.

All in all, the food was not bad, just very bland and not worth what we paid for it. Because of this, we opted not to try dessert. We were so disappointed and wonder why our experience seemed so different than other diners.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“Authentic.......................”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

If you are looking for French Fusion cuisine, keep looking. If you are looking for a very authentic French bistro, you have found it. There is nothing about this place that didn't make me think I was back in Paris at a little neighborhood bistro. I loved it!

There is no "green chile" anything here. If the chef's family didn't make it, they don't serve it. Everything we had was straightforward French bistro fare and was done perfectly! I asked the chef to bring the items he thought best exemplfied his food. That was a great idea. First course was escargot, followed by mussels and pommes frites. I would have never thought to put mussels with blue chesse broth but it really works. Fabulous and perfectly cooked! The frites were also done to perfection. As the end to a terrific, dessert was a wonderful creme brulee. Heaven!

So it is obvious that this is not their first rodeo. Everything was delicious and the service was amazing! If you walked into this restaurant somewhere in Paris, you would be happy and think "What a great little bistro". Doing it in Albuquerque is almost surreal!

Very good and we will be back soon!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed P'Tit Louis Bistro Nob Hill also viewed

Albuquerque, NM
Albuquerque, NM
 
Albuquerque, NM
 

Been to P'Tit Louis Bistro Nob Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage P'Tit Louis Bistro Nob Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.