We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Airport Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque Airport

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2601 Yale Blvd SE, Albuquerque, NM 87106 (Sunport)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 146 Hotels in Albuquerque
Los Alamos, NM
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Airport Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We always enjoy staying here, especially after it has been remodeled. The rooms are nice, the staff is great, and it easy to get to the airport. Bartender Todd is always so friendly. Both dinner and breakfast are very good. This hotel is close to Isotope's Park and the UNM athletic facilities too. Overall, an excellent place to spend the night in Albuquerque.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    80
    33
    14
    11
See reviews for
35
62
21
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Upon entering the main door of this property, we were not greeted by the familiar layout for Hilton Garden Inns. The lobby transition area beyond the entrance was totally different, the dining space encroaching upon the main aisle way, the airy feeling once created by a "floating" fireplace with seating area beyond had been replaced by a closed conference room. Supposedly, this is the new "look" for Hilton Garden Inns. If true, we found it cramped and smothering...like the crammed bargain basements of department stores. At least the front desk was in its familiar position! And we were grateful the guest rooms remained the same.

Our timing for this particular stay was apparently not the best. We wanted a relaxing trip to visit both Albuquerque and Santa Fe. Our plan to use the fitness facilities and pool/spa area was totally unsuccessful. The reason...a hotel filled with tiny tots, teens and parents not concerned about other guests. The fitness area was overrun by youth in street clothes just hanging out, and the pool/spa was teeming with teens in their underwear! We left the hotel to seek out a quiet place for dinner and drinks. The elevator was always full of kids with bicycles, scooters and toys. And worse yet the following morning...

We arrived for what normally would be a healthy and full breakfast, were initially confused by the lack of signage (purportedly due to the remodel) and even more appalled at the virtually empty-of-food breakfast area! We ordered omelets and picked through the miniscule remnants of fruit, baked goods, etc. At least we managed to find enough juice to have a small glass each. And upon complaining, we learned that they had basically run out of most everything due to the other occupants of the hotel. Apparently, their marketing person had booked some "convention" of families at substantially discounted rates which also included a full breakfast. But the hotel had neither controlled the onslaught nor monitored the hordes making multiple trips through the food lines!! Luckily, we were not much around the hotel in the evening, and our room was away from the elevator and at the end of a hallway, as we normally request. We missed much of the action in the common areas...and resulting costly damage. All this said, the hotel tried its best throughout.

And as luck would have it, they immediately got a second chance. Several days later, after an enjoyable excursion to Santa Fe, my outbound flight was delayed/canceled. I decided to ask the airline to put me at the nearby Hilton Garden Inn. This stay was excellent. The staff was most apologetic and explained all which had transpired during our previous stay. I enjoyed a delicious dinner in the hotel...and the drinks were complimentary. Needing to use the business center for my boarding pass, I was surprised to find a full-sized copier. Too bad I did not need to copy a book or large manuscript :-) I would definitely return to this property but would check beforehand to ensure no concurrent "kiddie" convention! And I truly hope the "new" look is not yet set in stone for them.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socorro, NM
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

I've stayed twice now for family medical visits to Albuquerque, and have also tried to do some work at the hotel. The free wifi works unusually well. Quick to get on, no need to mess w/ access codes or accepting terms. and not laggy like some wifi networks. They also have network based printing. The instructions were not clear, and the front-desk didn't understand it, but once I figured it out it was really cool and worked great.

Beds and bath are fine. Pleased that there is a microwave and a refrigerator in every room.
One odd design feature is that they hide the toilet paper dispensers under the sink. If you walk into the bathroom they are invisible. You actually have to be sitting on the can before you see them.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for two nights in May 2012. The hotel is located very close tO the airport, but with the way the runway is oriented means you don't hear airplane noise!

Front desk staff friendly and helpful. Room clean, spacious, and comfortable. Fridge was nice touch. Bed very cozy-I slept like a log! Bathroom nice with all amenities provided.

I enjoyed the breakfast in the morning (although it cost about 12 dollars) and ample coffee is also available. Small pool and hot tub and a small workout room with treadmills were available.

All in all, hotel is very convenient to airport and Albuquerque seemed to be easy to get around. I would definitely stay here on return and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Seemed good at first, but then after being there 2 nights we saw lots of flaws. Bed not comfortable at all, not a real sleep number bed and didn't change softness/hardness with dial. We got the Junior King Suite for 2 adults and 2 children 7 & 9. The pull out couch was a small twin, both kids couldn't sleep on it. Not sure why this room was chosen by their site to sleep all 4 of us. Small cushioned chair had chips and crumbs in it from previous guests. We were charged for a broken couch because they couldn't get the bed back in the next morning. Not sure all the wear and tear on this couch should be attributed all to our 2 night stay. Spoke to manager and she said that the housekeeper and maintenance person couldn't get it to open right and they have pictures of a bent bar and they had to remove it and were not able to use the room for the next night. Amazing that the charge for the couch was on my credit card less than an hour after we checked out and it was already determined that the room was unusable. Also room service was horrible. Food was visablly burned and they brought it to us anyway. We had to get it replaced. They also forgot our drinks and had to be called again. The pool was so chemically smelling, my kids only got to swim once because it was buring their eyes. You could smell the pool from the lobby it was so strong. Breakfast wasn't worth the extra money. Pretty much a buffet that you get your eggs cooked to order.

Room Tip: Suites only sleep 3 no mater how small your kids are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

I stay at a lot of HGI properties and this one is not a shining star. It is just ok. Each time I stay there I swear I will not do so again. But if I have a crack of day flight, it is convenient. The front desk staff could use a good course in hospitality as they just do not get it. The new decor in the lobby and halls is nice but the rooms are they same old tired rooms from years past at HGI. The bar is fairly small and the food is ok. The recently changed the menu and removed the pizza, which was one of the best things and top sellers according to the assistant GM of the hotel. Advice: bring back the pizza as it was a top seller!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

We have stayed here a number of times in connection with flights in/out of ABQ airport. The staff are extremely helpful, and one of the best features is the easy hotel shuttle to/from the airport (about a five minute trip.)
The rooms are very comfortable and clean, and the hotel is quiet even though it's near the airport.

If you need to return a rental car, that's easy and nearby too, and the staff will pick you up in the shuttle on request.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque Airport

Address: 2601 Yale Blvd SE, Albuquerque, NM 87106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque > Sunport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#22 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
#24 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque Airport Hotel Albuquerque
Albuquerque Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Albuquerque

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.