We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zacatecas - more than tacos!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zacatecas Tacos + Tequila

Zacatecas Tacos + Tequila
3423 Central Avenue NE, Nob Hill, Albuquerque, NM
505.255.8226
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #151 of 1,398 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $3 - $18
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Zacatecas - more than tacos!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Yes, Zacatecas is a taqueria and a great one, but there's more to it than that. For example, they have the very best Cesar salad ever. Ever. Really.

Go for the tacos, and explore the rest, too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    40
    13
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Food good service really lacking.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Ate on a Sunday night, have been to this restaurant at least 8 times. The food was excellent. Great margaritas, love the wild mushroom empanadas, the tacos were excellent as were the three salads. Desert could have been better if only 1/3 the size and we split it between three.The service was very poor. The waitress was very nice. However, food was delivered to the table based on the kitchen not with the food being eaten at the table. ie twice the server brought next course when previous one was not finished. Every order tried to upsell additional food and dishes. The manager walked around but never interacted with any customers just staff. the restaurant was extremely noisy, even though not full, I counted at least 8 empty tables. While still eating entrée, we were brought the desert menu and asked what we wanted for desert. Did request that it not be delivered until all of us had finished out entrees. Felt rushed rather than being able to enjoy the meal. Plates were not cleared from table when they were finished. At time felt like it was Denny's service rather than a restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
“Daily Specials”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I love to eat there on any day of the week because of the daily special. It is not on the menu and I have had the special at least 3x and I love it! First time it was a decilious salad w grilled shrimp, the a fantastic ahi tuna and the last was a vegetarian Chile relleno. So decilious! J always get good service and it is just a fun place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Great fun night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Our dining experiences in Albuqerque had not been stellar, so we didn't know what to expect.

It was a weekend night and there was a bit of a line-up. However, there was a band playing so we decided to wait for a table. And we are glad we did.

My husband and I had different tacos and margaritas and everything was good. Service was also good. Music was lively and great fun.

We had a very fun night, would recommend and would go back again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
272 reviews 272 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
321 helpful votes 321 helpful votes
“Our newest favorite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Turned on to this place by a friend, we fell in love with the food from the first bite and the romance remained strong all the way through to dessert. This restaurant joins other upscale Mexican food restaurants we have experienced in Cabo San Lucas, Zacatecas and Santa Barbara in quality of the plated delights and in value for your money. What we had and can heartily recommend is: empanadas de hongos and the queso fundido to begin, tacos of carne asada and rock cod, and the churros for dessert. The prickly pear margarita should also not be missed. From the jovial banter with our mustachioed waiter to the modern aesthetic of the interior design to the scrumptious food, this restaurant is now our not-to-be missed place to eat whenever we go to Albuquerque...our only disappointment is that there is not a sister eatery in our town. Go and Enjoy!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zacatecas Tacos + Tequila also viewed

 

Been to Zacatecas Tacos + Tequila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zacatecas Tacos + Tequila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.