We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Celebrate Special Occasions Elsewhere” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pizzeria Luca and Wine Bar

Pizzeria Luca and Wine Bar
8850 Holly Ave, Suite J, Albuquerque, NM
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #200 of 1,535 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Celebrate Special Occasions Elsewhere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We had dinner at Luca a couple of weeks ago to celebrate my husband's 30th birthday. The waiter knew the occasion which was being celebrated. My husband ordered a slice of cake – which showed up on our bill. It seems a small token to comp a dessert – so if you’re celebrating something special, this is not the place. Overall, the service was fine and the food was good, but portions were very very small and quite expensive. I ordered a meatball calzone – it was stuffed with tomato sauce and only 4 small meatballs for about $12. So while the food is tasty, it’s a poor value.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    11
    10
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Poor Management”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

I really love this place but am getting tired of the same old reply, "sorry but are out of this wine" or "sorry but your table drank our last bottle of that wine". This is the fourth time in a row that the waitress makes excuses for not having the wine requested because they sell so much wine! If that is the case, then why not stock up on more of advertised wines? Food was excellent, service very good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Really good food and service too.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Salad dressing was freshly made - not store bought and you you tell and taste that in other foods they served.
Baked ziti was a hit as was the pizza and chicken Parmesan. Only disappointment was they were out of cheesecake but the cannelloni was a good replacement. Will go back again. Waitress was friendly, attentive and personable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Awesome pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Tried this place for the first time. Had their pizza and salad for lunch. Being from NY I am very fussy about pizza. I learned the owners hail from NJ so I ordered pizza and salad for lunch. It was unbelievably good. The crust was perfect and the sauce was tasty and a balanced with the right amount of cheese. The salad was fresh with a nice balsamic dressing on the side. It's a repeat experience when I am in town!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not too bad food but ridiculous 'management'”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Figured a simple scheme: Call in an order and pick it up. Girl at other end hung up right away by mistake I guess, then couldn't figure out an item I was requesting. I was looking at their website but she didn't know about it. ?????!!! It was just freakin pasta w/ oil as a side. Anyhow she calls me back while I'm driving to ask me more about it??? I go in and this is where my skill of patience helps save me from acting like an indignant jerk. The reality is quickly obvious from seeing her efforts, talking to her, and seeing the 'help' the manager. She has been working for an hour or two, VERY new. Trying desperately to make sense of me asking for something that is not on their simple paper menu or on her order computer. Well here meanders the manager, the guy that apparently never trained her, with a REALLY spaced out look, holding a dirty dish and kinda shuffling around. I'm a customer there at their front, I should be picking up my order, not trying to show them what they show as their menu online, and anyhow its just freakin noodles w/ oil and I want to get the damn simple order in! He vaguely mumbles somethings to her, apparently requires a completely bizarrre computer process that includes a blank entry and having her type out 'angel hair pasta' as if its a new creation. This manager literally walked away in mid 'help' because he was too busy 'sorta' bussing a single plate from a table. He showed he cares nothing for good service by way of anything like training, and when the situation was demanding his quick decisive and apologetic attention he just wandered off looking a bit 'off'. Poor girl and I'm glad I didn't get pissed at her. And I'm not pissed at him either because maybe he just got a death threat from the Mafia and was understandably distracted. I mean its possibility. If not Luca-get it together!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizzeria Luca and Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Pizzeria Luca and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pizzeria Luca and Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.