We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful old theatre!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of KiMo Theatre

KiMo Theatre
423 Central Avenue Northwest, Albuquerque, NM 87102
(505)768-3522
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 205 things to do in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
wildwildwest, New Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful old theatre!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I've always enjoyed each and every venue I have had the opportunity to be a part of the KiMo Theatre. I have seen musical productions there, comedy, theater, you name it, and I have been there. The KiMo is such a beautiful place to just visit; it's a shame there is not more of a marketing objective to take advantage of such a wonderful theatre. Somebody is not doing their job! (And even more special: the ghost(s) of the KiMo Theatre!)

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    20
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great (and histoical) Theatre!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

You could go here just for the fascinating history, but the decor is incredible, too. The Kimo Theater sign was just recreated recently, which was a very big deal, and you can't miss the place when you are downtown. It's a piece of the areas history that I am very glad has been restored. This is my favorite place go for plays!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Phantom of the Opera and the Alloy Orchestra”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The silent movie "the Phantom of the Opera' with Lon Chaney, was tinted and a 3 man orchestra, which sounded like 12, played music choreographed for this film. It was wonderful. The Kimo Theatre is gorgeous Indian Art Deco built in the 1920's. I do wish they would remove the Indian symbols that look like swatztikas. I understand that they were symbols before the Nazis used them, but seeing them is still disturbing. We have been traveling through New Mexico for a week now, and have not seen those symbols anywhere else, although we have seen many Indian art. Something to consider

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placitas, New Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

What a great place to see and hear performers. A fine old theater restored to it's former glory. Comfortable seating and good sound.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Most New Mexican theater in New Mexico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

It's small, but authentic. They don't do very good at vending. You typically cannot buy or carry snacks into the theater. But it's intimate, clean and ornate, and they do a lot of cool movies and performances.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KiMo Theatre also viewed

 

Been to KiMo Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KiMo Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.