We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smoker's Paradise, Non-Smoker's Nightmare” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Albuquerque Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites Albuquerque Airport to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites Albuquerque Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2601 Mulberry Street Southeast, Albuquerque, NM 87106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #88 of 146 Hotels in Albuquerque
NM
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Smoker's Paradise, Non-Smoker's Nightmare”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

A really pretty motel but to get in the door, one must walk right through a cloud of cigarette smoke. The hotel is smoke-free inside but designates the entry as a smoking area so on both sides of the entry door are smokers puffing away. What good is a non-smoking room if guests and their luggage reek of smoke after being forced to walk through a cigarette smoke cloud just to get in? Every time we exited or entered, scruffy smokers glaring at us stood within 5 feet of the door so there was no way to escape the stench.
Did you look at the pretty pictures of the motel on the web site? See the pretty blue water in the pool? Forget it. It's closed most of the year! Call ahead if you have kids because they're in for a disappointment except for mid-summer months when the pool reopens. You'll have no warning from the hotel of the pool closure ahead of your stay, regardless of their ad promises.
On the positive side, there is minimal creaking of the floors above when other residents are walking above and no hallway noise unless children are really having fun in the hallway itself. The breakfast buffet had 2 waffle machines, something rarely found in other motels! Coffee is always available in the lobby as well as in-room coffee and a refrigerator I'd not expected.
If I weren't a swimmer and didn't hate to stink of cigarette smoke, I'd stay here anytime but...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    60
    34
    26
    22
See reviews for
60
43
22
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Yes, as most of the reviewers stated, most everything in the room is outdated. I talked to the front desk people and they said that they have big renovations planned for this summer which include updating the decor in the rooms and the TV's! (See the picture, they were made in 2000) It's been a while since I've seen an old CRT television in a hotel. Who knew they still had "Nintendo 64" games for rental (on demand)... Maybe that needs upgraded too? The room I had was a King bed. The bed was very comfortable and the internet service at the hotel is actually pretty decent as far as wireless hotel internet goes. Their breakfast is really good. The shuttle service to and from the airport was extremely valuable. The room doors do not always shut by themselves, so make sure you pull it closed as you leave. I found the staff very friendly and helpful. I did have 1 problem during my stay and that was an alarm clock started going off at 4:00am and woke me up (wasn't in my room). I figured whoever set the alarm would shut it off in a minute, but 45 minutes later it was still going off. By this time, I was wide awake and frustrated about it. I went to the front desk and the clerk came to my room and checked the noise. He agreed it sounded like it was coming from next door, but after he knocked on the room next door and woke up the guest, found it wasn't in there. Turns out it was a vacant room directly above mine that the previous guest set the alarm. (Thanks to whoever you are, buddy) The clerk was very apologetic about the problem, but since the Airline paid for the hotel room, I wasn't after a free room or any type of compensation. I would probably stay here again if I came to Albuqeurque, but I'd rather wait until their renovations are complete. I think once they get done with that, it will be MUCH nicer. I think the hotel gives a break to the airline because I saw what the voucher amount was for. If not, it's a VERY good value for the room!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herrin, IL
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012 via mobile

First and foremost be prepared the entire property is surrounded by a tall chainlink fence with signs saying there is 24 hour surveillance yet we could see two cameras were broken! We brought everything in out of the car because of the big sign stating that they're not responsible for damage or lost/stolen items. The lobby appears nice, the staff is less than helpful. Our sheets & pillowcases were stained, the room doors do not shut completely and the rooms are really outdated. No fridge/micro, no extra blankets, or pillows. Not even enough towels for two people. I complained to the desk and the man said " oh ok" not even an apology! Save your money, go elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
436 reviews 436 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
357 helpful votes 357 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

This particular Country Inn and Suites is a bit dated compared to most others. The room next to mine had a hand written room number sign taped to the wall. Apparently the original room numbers had fallen off. It is clean and you will feel safe here. The parking lot is a bit on the dark side and there is very limited parking in front of the hotel. There's a prominent sign telling you to hide any belongings left in your car. The rooms are spacious and clean. The beds are comfortable. The tv is a disappointment. I've noticed that many Country Inns and Suites have not yet upgraded to flat panel tvs. This location as well. There's a 25" tube tv to watch. Breakfast is complimentary. I left very early to get back on the road, but this chain usually offers quality breakfast food.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturbridge, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

I stayed here on the first and last night of my trip due to very late arrival and very early departure. Hotel is very well maintaned, rooms are clean, comfortable and quiet, and only 6 minutes from the airport (courtesy van provided). Refrigerator in room a plus for me, especially when traveling with family. Room included free hot and cold breakfast buffet. Nice variety of cold items, bagels, cereal , etc. Hot items included sausage and biscuits (son loved those) and waffles, bacon, etc. There is a computer in the lobby for guest use, free wifi, a shelf of books to borrow from, and pets are welcome. Staff was exceptionally nice. Courtesy van starts at 5 AM, had a 6 AM flight and was at airport within minutes. Great value for the price. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

This was the third time I have stayed here for an overnight visit to Albuquerque. While the decor in the rooms is certainly not new, the rooms were clean and quiet. The staff was accommodating and helpful. The breakfast was OK. Not as good as the last visit, but quite adequate. For the money its a great value.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

At first we were a little nervous, staying near the airport with an expectation of a lot of noise. But even next the the highway, noise was not an issue. The rate was fairly low so we did not know what to expect, again we were pleasantly surprised. The Suite was great, very clean and large enought for 4 of us, more if needed. The staff was excellent and the hotel exceeded our expectations. We would stay at this hotel next time without any worry.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites Albuquerque Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Albuquerque Airport

Address: 2601 Mulberry Street Southeast, Albuquerque, NM 87106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 146 Hotels in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Albuquerque Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Carlson, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Albuquerque Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Albuquerque Airport
Country Inn & Suites Albuquerque Airport Hotel Albuquerque
Albuquerque Country Inn
Country Inn Albuquerque Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Albuquerque Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.