We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for my needs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express - Balloon Fiesta Park

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express - Balloon Fiesta Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Express - Balloon Fiesta Park
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5401 Alameda Blvd NE, Albuquerque, NM 87113   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #75 of 146 hotels in Albuquerque
Midland, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great location for my needs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I was visiting friends in downtown Albuquerque, Rio Rancho and I had a court hearing in Santa Fe. This was the perfect location if you plan to hit all three areas since it is right off of the interstate. There was no noise from the interstate, but construction next door during the day was annoying.

My only complaint was that the tiny pillows are worthless to sleep on. Why do hotel properties use these?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    20
    10
    12
    5
See reviews for
19
23
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We were taking a balloon ride very early the next morning, so we chose this hotel for its location. We actually could walk to the offices of Rainbow Ryders (the balloon company) very easily from here. The first room we were given was right next to the elevator. After 2 seconds, we decided we needed a different room. The elevator actually shook the bed in the room and you could feel the vibration throughout the hallway. The second room we were given was as far away from the elevator as you could get. However, the bed itself was extremely old. An update of the mattress is way overdue. We were planning on staying 2 nights in this hotel, but only stayed for 1 due to not getting any sleep. You get what you pay for though.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We got off to a bad start on arrival Oct 7. I had booked our room for 5 nights a couple months in advance, but silly me, I didn't read the fine print so was surprised when they charged my credit card for the full 5 nights on Sept. 5. And was even more surprised when we checked in and said we wanted to stay only 3 nights, and they said too bad, no refunds. I've never experienced such a policy before. And just now, when I was going over my credit card bill, I found a charge of $15.17 the day after we left. I tracked down their phone number and spoke to someone who said she'd reverse the charge. In between, though, we really enjoyed our stay. The breakfast was generous with an awesome pancake-making machine, and it was fun to see the balloons from the breakfast room on the mornings we didn't go out early. Our room was fine. Except for the front desk clerk on duty when we arrived, everyone was nice and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This hotel was pretty nice and comfy. We stayed for 5 days during the International Hot Air Balloon Festival. The hotel is close to the Sandia Peak/Tram and Sandia casino. It was also very easy to get around from the hotel. The cleaning staff was friendly and we had no problems with our room. The hotel in general was clean and cozy. The front desk staff was friendly as well and they had daily drawings to win Balloon stuff. The price was decent, but was probably higher because of the festival. Wouldn't normally pay over $200 for an Express. All in all it was a great and comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Save your money on the suite unless you have a family staying with you. The suites make the bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I booked this hotel 12 months in advance for the duration of the balloon fiesta. At the time it was rating well on tripadvisor which when combined with the location and the very helpful manager made it seem like a good choice. Imagine my distress when a week before my stay there were three poor reviews of the hotel suggesting that the quality had slipped. As I was locked in I had no choice but to go ahead.
I was pleasantly surprised to find none of the negative aspects mentioned in those reviews. The reception staff were attentive and friendly. The room was clean, very comfortable, well appointed and better than many of this standard I have stayed in ( I should say that if you want a giant bathroom then pay the extra to stay in a top end hotel). Initially it appeared my fridge wasn't working as reported by other reviewers but once I plugged it in it functioned perfectly for the duration of my stay. The housekeeping (and hotel cleaning in general) was excellent. Breakfast was varied, plentiful, kept topped up and (where appropriate) hot. The breakfast staff kept the tables clean and removed the rubbish regularly. They were also extremely pleasant while performing what must be a difficult job dealing with demanding guests. The hot tub was hot and the pool was heated but not overly so. Both were clean. There were towels specifically for the pool area to avoid having to use your bath towels.
The only downside was the ethernet connection for the internet didn't work but the wireless worked fine so was no big deal.
We requested, and were allocated, a top floor room overlooking the Fiesta Park so we could wake up in the morning and watch the launch or the evening fireworks from our room. When we chose to go to the field it was literally a 22 minute walk to the gate.
In summary, if you are attending the Balloon Fiesta this hotel can't be beaten (get a room on 3rd floor with an even number!). If you are just passing through Albuquerque looking for a hotel it will give you a great stay at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Was extremely surprised on how clean the place was and anytime I walked around there was someone cleaning or asking if I needed help with anything. Rooms had a little refrigerator and microwave and even though the rooms weren't the biggest around they had everything you need and comfortable. The breakfast in the morning was really good and had lots of options. I was just really impressed and would recommend to anyone...the only reason I gave a 4 on location was cause it's a distance from old town, zoo, etc.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, New Mexico
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel multiple times. Last time there were problems with breakfast area and climate control. I thought is might just be an anomaly due to past pleasant stays.
We stayed on August 26-28 of this year. The first night, there was no Do Not Disturb sign for our door. My husband called down and spoke to the manager who told him he would bring up a sign and put in in our slot. We woke up the next morning and there was no sign.
The next evening, my husband picked up a Do Not Disturb sign from the front desk and put it in our door. We were awakened the next morning about 8:00 AM by loud laughter in the corridor. I opened the door and there were two housekeepers-a male and female laughing loudly right outside our room which had the Do Not Disturb sign visably in place. There were no other room doors open. I asked them if they did not see the sign and they laughed at me. I did notify the front desk when we checked out and all they said was, "Oh, really."
There were also problems with the breakfast area. Food was lukewarm, what there was of it. Employees standing around eating and laughing. Customers were being totally ignored.
Don't think we will stay here again, despite the convenient location to things we enjoy doing. It isn't worth the aggravation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Balloon Fiesta Park, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear LyleandTerry,
Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I’m sorry you received service which was unacceptable. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express - Balloon Fiesta Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express - Balloon Fiesta Park

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express - Balloon Fiesta Park Hotel Albuquerque
Holiday Inn Express - Balloon Fiesta Park Hotel
Holiday Inn Express Albuquerque
Holiday Inn Albuquerque
Albuquerque Holiday Inn
Address: 5401 Alameda Blvd NE, Albuquerque, NM 87113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 146 hotels in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express - Balloon Fiesta Park 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Albuquerque North-Balloon Fiesta Park was designed to provide a comfortable stay, whether you are traveling for business or pleasure. We take great pride in our property and our staff is dedicated to providing total guest satisfaction. We are minutes from the Albuquerque International Balloon Fiesta Park and Sandia Casino, with easy access to Interstate 25. Hotel features include complimentary hot breakfast and free local phone calls. Visit Albuquerque, NM and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express - Balloon Fiesta Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express - Balloon Fiesta Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.