We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location, Clean Hotel, with Friendly Staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express - Balloon Fiesta Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express - Balloon Fiesta Park to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express - Balloon Fiesta Park
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5401 Alameda Blvd NE, Albuquerque, NM 87113   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #60 of 146 Hotels in Albuquerque
Fremont, CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location, Clean Hotel, with Friendly Staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2007

My boyfriend and I stayed here during the Balloon Fiesta 2007 for 3 nights. We got a non-smoking handicap room so it was quite spacious! The room we got was very clean, and pretty quiet despite us being on the first floor, adjacent to the indoor pool.

Breakfast was served around 5am (normally it starts around 6am if it were not for the Balloon Fiesta. Breakfast included coffee, pastries, do-it-yourself waffles!

The location of this hotel cannot be beat. On most days we opt to walk to the Fiesta rather than drive. It took us about 20 - 25 minutes walking leisurely. Just a hint - if you decide to book this hotel, and will be attending a Balloon Fiesta - take the backroad (I believe the street is called Eagle Rock, but not sure), walk down a short block, take a right on San Mateo. Eventually you will see the Balloon Fiesta on your left.

I wholeheartedly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    25
    12
    12
    6
See reviews for
27
24
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2007

My husband and I just stayed at this hotel last weekend for the Balloon Fiesta, and it was a great choice! We had two rooms during our stay (king handicapped and two regular queens), and both were clean. The bathroom in the queens room was really small; we had to squeeze in just for the door to close, and we're not big people. The queens room faced the Fiesta park, so we saw a mass ascension from our room! The location was great; we walked the mile to/from the Balloon Fiesta Park for the events and were glad that there were cops around directing traffic in the early morning or at night since there weren't any street lights along the roads. The complimentary breakfast buffet was ok; there weren't as many items as we've seen at other hotels, but they do have those delicious cinnamon buns! Service was very good. This hotel definitely knows how to handle the crowds, unlike the Staybridge Suites down the street.

My one complaint is that we were bumped from our room choice on the first night to accommodate the number of people in town for the Balloon Fiesta since we had two reservations - one using points and another that paid for the room. We understood the reason, but it was a bit annoying since we had to switch rooms after the first night. We had purposely booked the same type of room for both reservations since we wanted to avoid that.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
147 hotel reviews
Reviews in 145 cities Reviews in 145 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2007

This Holiday Inn Express is in a convenient location near the freeway, but not in the congestion of the downtown area.
Bathroom was small, but useable. The bath mirror had a dirty splotch on it which looked like it could have easily been cleaned. The bathroom caulk was sloppy and ugly at the tub, toilet and the sink countertop. There was a tacky access hatch in the bathroom ceiling. We could not move the shower curtain out of the way of the toilet. The office chair was wobbly, and the 2 treadmills in the fitness room were in poor, barely useable condition. Housekeeping was very slow. People were waiting in the lobby for their rooms to be cleaned from before 3PM until at least 4PM. It was on a weekend, so maybe they were short-handed, but an inconvenience for guests anyway.
On the bright side, our room had a quiet refrigerator, a micro, easy chair, sofa and tables. The breakfast bar had cook your own waffles with chopped pecans and strawberry topping available.

  • Liked — location, waffles
  • Disliked — small tacky bathroom
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, CA
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2007

The room was large and roomy however the bathroom was tight and the bath tub 'squeaked" when you stood in it. And I only weight 153 pounds. Wonder what the folks down below thought? There was plenty of coffee and a frig. Breakfast was adequate with cereal and hard boiled eggs, sweet rolls, fruit cups, coffee, milk and juice. We were close to the freeway but there was no noise. One downside/upside was that they had LARGE security lights that helped protect your car but you had to work to block out the light from your room. My wife said a plus was the ability to walk to the balloon park museum. My plus is the cheapest gas was next door at $3.15.99 about 4 cents cheaper then anywhere else.

  • Liked — Close to the tram to Sandia Peak & restaurant
  • Disliked — The security lights and squeaking bath tub
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, CT
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2007

I was looking for a basic motel for only one night, a little bit north away from the airport and downtown; and one that had an indoor pool and free breakfast. Booked this hotel because using the Entertainment card, the price came to only $56.

Took maybe 20 minutes to get there from the airport, great central location, I felt, to Old Town, casino, tram, etc.

Wasn't expecting much, but was pleasantly surprised from the moment we entered the lobby. Beautiful and clean inside. The young girl at the front desk during check-in was rather rude, but a different staff the next day at check-out couldn't be nicer.

Not only was the lobby more than basic, but so was the room. Nicely appointed with quality bedding and GREAT pillows. Pool area and deluxe continental breakfast were average. Coffee was really good though.

Our toilet was blocked twice. The first time, it took a bit too long for maintenance to arrive; the second time (the next day) was a holiday and I was told by a housekeeper that maintenance was "off", so I asked for a plunger and did it myself.

Still, I would highly recommend and would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — great value for the price
  • Disliked — problem with plumbing
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
265 helpful votes 265 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2007

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express-Balloon Fiesta Park for the 2006 Balloon Fiesta (October 6 and 7, 2006). Our room was a king suite, non-smoking with a sofa and fridge/micro. Can't say enough good things about this hotel. Staff was excellent. Very welcoming. Room was above average for a holiday inn. Despite our room facing the parking lot, it was still quiet, considering all the activity in the area. Manager's reception was held both evenings we were there to celebrate the Balloon Fiesta. Extensive continental breakfast (which started early) to accomodate Balloon Fiesta attendees. This hotel is the closest to the Balloon Fiesta park. We walked (made a couple of trips each day) in order to avoid all the parking hassles. Felt completely safe walking on the sidewalks to the Park. It is a bit of a distance, but take your time and you will be fine. We highly recommend this hotel for service and location. The only downside is there is not much else around the hotel (a convenience store and Carl's Jr. fast food place). Eat at the Balloon Fiesta or hotel receptions/breakfast. Not many other options in the area within walking distance.

  • Liked — Location, Service and Facility
  • Disliked — No complaints.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wherever I lay my hat
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2006

This is a quiet clean place to rest. The staff was friendly, accomodating and receptive. I would suggest staying here for families as well as business travellers. Don't expect a happening nightlife or fancy restaurants in the neighborhood. The surrounding area is architecturally sterile and north of the city, but very easily accessed. There is a grocery store nearby. Everything was clean and fresh. The breakfast bar included hard boiled egs, waffles and fruit. The bed linens were very clean and comfortable. If you need a clean, restful, efficient place to stay then this is a good one.

  • Liked — Friendly staff and clean rooms
  • Disliked — dull neighborhood
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express - Balloon Fiesta Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express - Balloon Fiesta Park

Address: 5401 Alameda Blvd NE, Albuquerque, NM 87113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 146 Hotels in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express - Balloon Fiesta Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Albuquerque North-Balloon Fiesta Park was designed to provide a comfortable stay, whether you are traveling for business or pleasure. We take great pride in our property and our staff is dedicated to providing total guest satisfaction. We are minutes from the Albuquerque International Balloon Fiesta Park and Sandia Casino, with easy access to Interstate 25. Hotel features include complimentary hot breakfast and free local phone calls. Visit Albuquerque, NM and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express - Balloon Fiesta Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express - Balloon Fiesta Park Hotel Albuquerque
Holiday Inn Express Albuquerque
Holiday Inn Albuquerque
Albuquerque Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express - Balloon Fiesta Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.