We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wanted to move in.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Los Poblanos Historic Inn & Organic Farm

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Los Poblanos Historic Inn & Organic Farm to your Saves list
Los Poblanos Historic Inn & Organic Farm
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   4803 Rio Grande Blvd NW, Albuquerque, NM 87107   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 25 Albuquerque B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Wanted to move in.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Truly unforgettable three-day stay. This place goes on my top-ten list of favorite inns.

Los Poblanos isn't close to anything location-wise, but that's part of its charm. In fact, this inn may have been the best part of our ABQ/Santa Fe trip.

From the initial narrow drive down the driveway past tall cottonwoods, to a flock of sandhill cranes crossing as the sun broke across the lavender rows to the the white peacock calling from twenty feet above the reception lodge, Los Poblanos was such a joy.

Even when the foliage isn't in bloom (we went in February), the scenery is striking, the grounds are beautiful and the estate is full of a feeling of authenticity that you don't get from many inns.

We stayed in one of the Meem rooms and really enjoyed having a fireplace and a view to the sunrise each day.

The folks working in the lavender fields were volunteer workers who were happy to discuss their tasks. Everyone we talked to gave us a wonderful, welcoming reception.

Breakfasts were astoundingly delicious. We were continually surprised by all the attention to detail from the staff. Everything from the room layout to the visitor tips and notes is just so. Even the gym is more than I expected for a place of this size.

I know this sounds really exuberant, but I'd go back in a heartbeat, and they're not paying me to say that. : )

Room Tip: We took Meem 2 and loved it. The fireplace was a lot of fun, just be sure you read the instructions...
See more room tips
Green Features: The inn seemed environmentally responsible, but it didn't detract from the experience in any way.
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    26
    6
    6
    1
See reviews for
74
161
19
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
285 helpful votes 285 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I thought this was a great place to stay. I loved the farm and the ability to roam around in the morning looking at this unique property. The property is beautiful and the accommodations are nice. We stayed in Farm House 9, we loved that it had a private patio outback and that we could hear the farm animals in the morning. I would recommend this place to any of my friends because it is Just a great authentic place to stay while visiting Albuquerque.

Room Tip: I thought that farm houses 8, 9 and 10 had the most privacy because they had inclosed patios out bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandia Park, New Mexico, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The setting, a working organic farm, is exceptional. The buildings are historically significant, designed by noted architect John Gaw Meem. We loved the carved mantels by Santa Fe artist Gustave Baumann and Laura Gilpin's photos, set in the 30s and 40s. Staff members are gracious and fully appreciative of the history of Los Poblanos. Food is quite simply the best in New Mexico, using fresh vegetables picked that day from their gardens and pork from their own farm, prepared with imagination and simplicity. The new rooms (Farm rooms) are striking in their spareness, giving more than a nod to the farm's history. Nothing could be more appropriate for a New Mexico setting than an historic property on the banks of the Rio Grande with sweeping views of the Sandia mountains. This was a pre-visit to check out our daughter's September wedding site.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I booked a relaxing 4-day spring getaway here in April. We were looking for a place to get away for a long weekend and were delighted with our experience! Our room (meem 2) was spacious and bright. The property is also quite lovely and we enjoyed just taking a stroll in the evenings before retiring to enjoy a cozy fire. The restaurant is a particular gem. It's obvious that the kitchen staff takes great pride in creating fresh, inventive, delicious meals! Breakfast was exceptional and we were happy to be able to dine in for dinner one night as well. If you're interested in a relaxing, rejuvenating experience, Los Poblanos is a fantastic oasis.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in April and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It definitely is a special and memorable place to stay. This was apparent from the moment we entered the property, turning down the tree-lined driveway, then were greeted by a white peacock as we walked in to the reception area. The beautiful, peaceful grounds, the architecture, the organic farm and the farm to fork breakfasts and dinners make this a place that you will definitely want to come back to. We stayed in one of the newer farm rooms as the historic rooms were already booked when we made our reservation. Our spacious room had a clean, modern feel and was appointed with plenty of amenities. There was a fireplace in the room, a nice sitting area, a small galley area with a sink and refrigerator, and an entry large enough that we could store our 2 bicycles inside. There was free, fast wifi which we always appreciate and there was even a French press for making coffee. Robes were provided as well as really nice lavender bath products. There was a nice pool and workout gym, although we didn't use either during this visit. A real highlight each day was the delicious breakfast, one of many reasons that lured us to stay here. We had dinner here one evening and it, too, was delicious. Service was very good with friendly, helpful staff members. We can hardly say enough about how much we loved this property. If there was any small thing that might have improved our stay, it would have been to have firewood available to use in the fireplace. We were there in April and the pool was already open, so the season for providing firewood had passed. However, a couple of the nights were a little cool, and had there been firewood, we probably would have used it. In conclusion, we really enjoyed our stay and this property really resonated with us. We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in April of 2013. It has cute rooms with fireplaces for cold months. The bedding was luxurious and we really enjoyed the soaps and shampoos. We had a wonderful experience with Sarah at the front desk. She was so helpful and kind. The best part was the breakfast! Each morning we had two choices and they were both delicious! Very fresh and a lot of it made on the farm. It was so fun to have the waitress bring scones and fruit while she told us our options. We took advantage of the free bikes and rode to Old Town to do some shopping. We would go back to Los Poblanos in a heartbeat!

Green Features: They recycle, compost and do everything they can to stay environmentally friendly.
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a quick trip to ABQ for a family celebration. My only complaint is that I wish I had more time at Los Poblanos! Such a beautiful property, lovely rooms and such a super-comfy bed! We spent a little time saying hello to the goats and chickens and loved the Farm Shop.

Breakfast the first day was fantastic, unfortunately the second day was really slow (there were quite a few folks) and after waiting almost 45 mins for our breakfast to arrive we had to leave as we had to get to a family function. My advice is to make sure you have enough time to enjoy the experience - it's not meant to be a quick in and out.

I look forward to getting to visit again and spending more time at this gorgeous inn!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Los Poblanos Historic Inn & Organic Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Poblanos Historic Inn & Organic Farm

Address: 4803 Rio Grande Blvd NW, Albuquerque, NM 87107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Poblanos Historic Inn & Organic Farm 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set among 25 acres of lavender fields and lush formal gardens, Los Poblanos is one of the most prestigious properties in the Southwest. Detailed tours of the historic property are available to all guests, as well as the included gourmet breakfast incorporating ingredients from our organic farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Los Poblanos Historic Inn & Organic Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Poblanos Historic Inn & Organic Farm Hotel Albuquerque
Los Poblanos Historic Inn And Organic Farm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Poblanos Historic Inn & Organic Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.