We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your average chain hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Los Poblanos Historic Inn & Organic Farm

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Los Poblanos Historic Inn & Organic Farm to your Saves list
Los Poblanos Historic Inn & Organic Farm
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   4803 Rio Grande Blvd NW, Albuquerque, NM 87107   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 25 Albuquerque B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not your average chain hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This is a wonderfully different establishment to stay when in Albuquerque. It's on a working farm, with wild geese, peacocks and ducks. We stayed in the Gallinero Room, which is a standalone cottage. It was so cute and comfortable, with a fireplace. The bed was incredibly comfortable (for me, my husband thought it was a bit soft). The only downside of the room was it had a somewhat strong smell of smoke as though someone didn't properly use the fireplace recently. Other than that, the room was great, as was the entire property. The breakfast that's included in the room rate was also very good (we had the aebelskivers - pretty good, and the eggs benedict - very good). We didn't eat dinner there, so can't comment on that. We want to go back in the summer to see the farm when everything's green and in bloom. It would be a very different experience than in the winter and probably better. All in all it was a wonderful departure from the standard hotel right off the freeway. Like a little piece of heaven to go and get away from it all, yet very near to old town ABQ.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    26
    6
    6
    1
See reviews for
78
170
19
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Los Poblanos offers exceptional service, quaint, comfortable rooms complete with working fireplaces and lavender shampoos and lotions in this historic Inn. The delicious and beautifully presented gourmet breakfasts and dinners are made with locally grown ingredients. As you drive down the tree-lined entrance, you are entering a quiet retreat from the hectic pace of day to day life on this farm where the air has the aroma of lavender.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

In the Albuquerque area on a cross-country trip, we happened upon this amazing gem. What a wonderful experience - we stayed in the Farmhouse Suites and were just taken aback by the room, the bed was like melting into a perfect sleep - great sheets, comfortable mattress. Mini wood-burning fireplace - even the wood was awesome! Smelled fantastic. The bathroom was spotless - bath tub worthy of using w/hot, hot water. Pantry w/snacks, drinks, robes in the closet. Breakfast was AMAZING! just too delicious for words. Animals to see - baby sheep! Farm House shop w/lavender soaps, gifts, snacks, quality items to take home from a day/night we won't forget. Only drawback for us was the time of year - chilly (but fireplace and smelling incredible food smells from the kitchen - dinner available too, helped while taking an evening walk to say good night to the animals. I can only imagine how beautiful this place must be in the spring, summer and fall. I will make a point to travel through Albuquerque just to return to Los Poblanos Historic Inn & Farm.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
detroit
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We checked in for the night prior to flying back home, as it is near the airport. We had a perfect little cottage with a private patio behind the pool area. The room was like a suite with a sitting area, but we spent the evening out on the patio sipping drinks and watching the full moon rise. A very gourmet breakfast awaited in the dining room. The place is just lovely and i wish we'd allotted a day for relaxing at the pool and exploring the grounds. We will go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

After two work related trips to ABQ where I stayed in a) an expensive absolutely awful filthy large chain hotel, and b) an acceptable but predictable airport large chain hotel, I said to myself "there has to be a better way" even if not on the corporate approved list. Let's just say that on my second stay at Los Poblanos, I purposely delayed my return home for an extra night by adding a late afternoon meeting (don't tell my family), because staying at this place is just so restoring. What's more, I wanted to try having the organic farm/local dinner, and I was not disappointed by a luxurious homemade pasta and terrific glass of wine. Other highlights: Elegant grounds, tree-lined driveway out of a movie set. Delicious interesting breakfast. Bike ride on goofy purple cruiser up the Rio Grande bike path early one morning, looking up to see hot air balloon, and looking right to see large coyote trotting alongside me (EEK!). The lavender stuff (I bought their travel sachets for all my colleagues for Christmas). The albino peacock who left me a feather on the path to my car when departing. The roosters crowing in the morning (not too close by). The high-end french press coffee and tea in the cozy room. The nice people who were glad to accomodate my late arrival and early departure (not too many people at the airport had a just-laid set of hard boiled eggs and home made granola to take through security!). And all this for less $ than the unnamed big chain hotels. What's not to love? See you next time!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
915 reviews 915 reviews
250 hotel reviews
381 helpful votes 381 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Situated in North Valley Albuquerque amongst the mansions and ranches, this is a totally different feel to the other parts of the city.

My room - Meem 1 - was unbelievable. If I could have put it on wheels I would have taken it with me.

King size, four-poster bed, sofa, work table, chairs, kitchen and a fireplace.

The fireplace was ready to go, all I have to do was light it (properly), which I did. I had a roaring fire in minutes and, as it had snowed that night, it was welcome.

The bathroom is an art deco lovers dream, all white tiles, shower and perfect length bath so that your head sits just out of the water on the sloped edge.

The kitchen is a galley hidden behind doors. It has a mini bar and tea & coffee (including a kettle, not a coffee maker. Very hard to make tea in a coffee maker!).

The grounds are wonderful and you are free to roam, as the peacocks do.

The farm shop is fully stocked with delights so that you could have a picnic in your room if you so desired.

Breakfast is restaurant quality and the service very good.

I highly recommend you stay here if you come to Albuquerque.

Room Tip: Meem 1, its the photo used on the accommodation page of the hotel website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Although we only used Los Poblanos as our landing pad before going on to Taos, it was a completely perfect stay. The historic inn has an almost transcendent feeling as you walk into the middle courtyard. Everything feels in its place; the rooms in the old inn are traditional with kiva fireplaces, lovely windows looking onto the grounds, old tiled bathrooms, and beautiful beds. There are comfortable libraries to hang out in, there is a gallery, you could easily have a retreat or conference here. We ate winter dinner in the ballroom with a grand fireplace, wonderful food, and a lot of atmosphere. Albert the albino peacock roams the grounds. There is a romantic story of the inn's renovation by a couple who met after each was a widower since they sat next to each other in their seats at the U.S. House of Representatives.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Los Poblanos Historic Inn & Organic Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Poblanos Historic Inn & Organic Farm

Address: 4803 Rio Grande Blvd NW, Albuquerque, NM 87107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Poblanos Historic Inn & Organic Farm 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set among 25 acres of lavender fields and lush formal gardens, Los Poblanos is one of the most prestigious properties in the Southwest. Detailed tours of the historic property are available to all guests, as well as the included gourmet breakfast incorporating ingredients from our organic farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Los Poblanos Historic Inn & Organic Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Poblanos Historic Inn & Organic Farm Hotel Albuquerque
Los Poblanos Historic Inn And Organic Farm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Poblanos Historic Inn & Organic Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.