We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow - so much more than I could have expected!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Parq Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Parq Central to your Saves list
Hotel Parq Central
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   806 Central Ave, SE, Albuquerque, NM 87102 (Huning Highland Historic District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 146 Hotels in Albuquerque
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wow - so much more than I could have expected!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Let's just say that when my husband told me we would be in Albuquerque for our anniversary, I was a bit...underwhelmed. Or so I thought. And then I met HPQ (or Hotel Parq Central). Originally a hospital from the late 1920's, the building has been carefully restored. While they allude to the history in various decor items, the interior design is gorgeous. Contemporary, yet warm and inviting. Customer service is the name of the game here, and it is something they excel at. Our first instance of this was when they upgraded our room on behalf of our anniversary. We had a beautiful corner room with great windows. I fell in love. The bathroom amenities were C.O. Bigelow, and the shower was wonderful. Comfy robes hung in the closet, and I could have stayed there a week! But the best was yet to come...

The Apothecary Lounge in on the 4th floor and features tapas, desserts, and a wonderful drink menu. Customer service was again outstanding. Bartender Andre candidly answered all of our questions about drinks and also schooled me on what was to become my new favorite: The St. Germain Cocktail. Delicious!! I highly recommend it. The food and desserts were equally delicious!

For breakfast the next day, we enjoyed the free breakfast. I couldn't help but be pleasantly surprised - yet again - by the stellar customer service. The staff is obviously proud of the hotel and it shows. Instead of being abandoned at a cold cereal and doughnut bar, we were greeted by a server ready to warm up quiche or muffins for us and make sure we had everything we needed. When they weren't serving customers they kept busy restocking, cleaning, and straightening items.

I hated to have to leave! Another thing I enjoyed was that rather than having a tiny coffee pot in the room, each floor had a coffee station only steps out into the hall. What a great idea!!

This hotel is now close to my heart and easily slips into one of the top three of my favorites. Between the customer service, amenities, and decor, it had everything I needed and then some. I will be back, and I am looking forward to it!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelleWallace, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Parq Central, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Courtney F,

Thank you for spending your anniversary with us! We are thrilled that you were impressed with your first experience with us and found the restoration of the building to be well done. You are correct in noting that customer service is our top priority! We are glad that we were able to upgrade your room and that you enjoyed everything from the amenities to the robes. The Apothecary offers stunning views and delicious drinks. We are so glad that Andre was able to help you find your new favorite cocktail and that the food and dessert were on par with the rest of your experience. Breakfast is something we truly enjoy offering each morning and we are delighted that you found the experience to be enjoyable- the young ladies in the Parlor take pride in creating a superb experience for our guests by keeping the room tidy and baking fresh quiche with a variety of ingredients. We are happy that the coffee service was something you really liked.

Nothing pleases us more than being fondly remembered as one of your three favorite hotels. Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

All the best,

Noelle Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    789
    144
    32
    12
    10
See reviews for
162
444
69
158
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I recently stayed here for 10 days with 3 others on a work trip (I'm from Australia).
I have to agree with most of the other reviewers here and say this was an excellently run hotel. The breakfast is great, free wifi, free shuttle bus, laundry facilities (only one machine and dryer though), awesome rooftop bar and the staff were very helpful and friendly. There is even a beautiful border collie dog that stands up at the counter which I found charming.
Although close to the i35 freeway, I did not hear any traffic noise from my room.
It is only 1.6km to downtown, but there is no need to go that far as there are some great restaurants within a few blocks. I can recommend Farinas or Artichokes for dinner and Holy Cow or the Grove for lunch.
Albuquerque is a bit run-down in places, but hopefully places like Parq Central will increase in number and help to lift the whole city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelleWallace, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Parq Central, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Scott H,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Hotel Parq Central during your recent visit to Albuquerque. We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us, finding the breakfast to be great, the shuttle service and laundry room to be convenient and the staff to be very helpful and friendly. The Apothecary offers amazing views of New Mexico and we are happy that you were able to spend some time on the rooftop. We are always delighted when our guests experience what our neighborhood has to offer and we are happy that you enjoyed the restaurants nearby the hotel.

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your stay with us and we look forward to your next visit!

All the best,

Noelle Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel. The decor is sparse, tasteful, refreshing. This is my new favorite hotel. While the rooms are not overly large, they are relaxing, bright, and very comfortable. If your particular room seems a bit small, you needn't worry as there are plenty of wonderful spaces in this hotel to relax in. The solarium is beautiful and so peaceful; enjoy the sunshine and good vibes in this gorgeous space. The "living room" has wonderful ambience and the views from the Apothecary Lounge are outstanding. Staff are very helpful, courteous and friendly - can't say enough about this wonderful hotel and the people who manage and staff it. Thanks for the fantastic time in Albuquerque!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelleWallace, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Parq Central, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Teresa K,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us at Hotel Parq Central. We are honored to be your new favorite hotel! We are pleased that you found your guest room to be comfortable and the numerous sitting areas to be inviting. The Apothecary Lounge offers beautiful views of the city and we are glad you were able to experience the scene on the rooftop. Our staff strives to make each guest welcome during their time with us and we are delighted that you found each member to be helpful, courteous and friendly.

Thank you for your kind words and for choosing to stay with us during your time in Albuquerque. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

All the best,

Noelle Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I cannot speak highly enough of this place. We booked this hotel at the last minute and we were not disappointed. I've stayed in a lot of hotels over the years and this is the cleanest one I've ever seen. Yes the rooms are smaller than average, but it was very charming. The bathroom is very nice, with nice toiletries. The staff were great and friendly. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: There is a rooftop lounge, and we could hear footsteps fairly late into the night. It didn't rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelleWallace, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Parq Central, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Brandi D,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us at Hotel Parq Central. We are so happy that you were not disappointed with your experience and found the property to be the cleanest you have ever seen. We are glad that you found your guest room to be charming and the bathroom to be very nice. Our staff strives to provide excellence in hospitality and we are pleased that you found each staff member to be friendly. We are sorry you could hear the footsteps in the Apothecary late into the night; next time we will gladly offer you a room on the second floor or the east wing so you are not at all disturbed.

We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

All the best,

Noelle Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This hotel is nicely designed and well run, with a friendly and helpful staff. Common space -indoor and out - is comfortable contemporary. Free breakfast is quite good. Location is convenient, but seemed "transitional." But much of Albuquerque seemed that way (don't get me wrong - I like the town).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelleWallace, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Parq Central, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear BetsyLex,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us at Hotel Parq Central. We are thrilled that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful- we feel hospitality if the most important aspect of your stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed the common spaces throughout the property and thought the breakfast was quite good. We are happy that you found the location to be convenient and glad that you liked the town, despite finding much of it to be transitional.

We appreciate you choosing to stay with us at Hotel Parq Central and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

All the best,

Noelle Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here several times during the week for business. Very nice hotel...all rooms completely remodeled, modern, well appointed, etc... Bar on roof has great views of sunset/stars...food i would describe as good bar food/appetizers...but limited menu. Neighborhood I was worried about on my first visit or two...but candidly found out there are 4-5 great restaurants / bars 2-3 blocks down the street from the hotel....and i felt very safe walking every time. Stayed in several other hotels in the area over the last 2 years and hands down this is BY FAR the best place to stay if you go to ABQ. Recommend calling for rate as Internet may not have best price for frequent travelers.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelleWallace, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Parq Central, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Peter C,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your business trips to Albuquerque! We are pleased that you found your guest rooms to be modern and well appointed. We are delighted that you were able to take in the sunset from the Apothecary Lounge. Our neighborhood- EDo for East Downtown has several of the best local restaurants and we are glad you were able to try them out.

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your stay with us and your recommendation to other travelers. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

All the best,

Noelle Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Ripley, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Wonderful staff, great amenities, beautiful rooms, all day coffee, every detail was covered. It was one of the very nicest hotels with a historical interest we have ever been in. Thank you to Kyle (the young lady who checked us in and then drove us to our restaurant) for SUPERB service.

Room Tip: We had room 221..larger with a view on the veranda. Our second night (later in the week) was on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelleWallace, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Parq Central, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear karleen60,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Hotel Parq Central. We are delighted that you found your guest room to be beautiful and felt that each detail had been cared for. We are pleased that you enjoyed the coffee available all day and the amenities in your guest room. Our staff strives to take care of each guest and we are thrilled that you found our staff to be wonderful, particularly Kyle. We want each guest to feel at home during their time with us and we are so happy she made you feel welcome.

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

All the best,

Noelle Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Parq Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parq Central

Address: 806 Central Ave, SE, Albuquerque, NM 87102
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque > Huning Highland Historic District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 146 Hotels in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Parq Central 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect blend of contemporary comfort and historic elegance, our boutique hotel is ideal for leisure and business travelers in search of superior service and a memorable place to stay in Albuquerque. This is a place to rest, relax and refresh with stylishly appointed guestrooms, an outdoor dining plaza, spacious garden park and a rooftop lounge with panoramic views of the mountains, downtown city lights and enchanting Southwest sunsets. Don’t just stay in Albuquerque — get away to an urban oasis at Hotel Parq Central. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Parq Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Parq Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.