We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Parq Central

Save Saved
You added Hotel Parq Central to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Parq Central
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   806 Central Ave, SE, Albuquerque, NM 87102 (Huning Highland Historic District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 145 hotels in Albuquerque
Albuquerque, NM
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Outstanding!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This hotel gets the details just right. Breakfast is great, beds are terrific, staff is friendly and helpful. The location is great. This is our go-to in ABQ. You won't be disappointed. I have seldom been to hotels where the staff works so hard to get things right. Plus, the bar on the roof is the best in town. A+

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelleWallace, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Parq Central, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear HoyaSaxa,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us at Hotel Parq Central. We are delighted that you enjoyed the breakfast each morning, found the beds to be terrific and that our staff provided you with great hospitality. We are pleased that the location worked well for you and honored to be your go-to in Albuquerque. We do our best to make everything just right and we are happy that we did not disappoint you. The Apothecary Lounge offers handcrafted libations to accompany the amazing views of the New Mexico landscape- we are glad you were able to enjoy some time up on the rooftop.

We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

All the best,

Noelle Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    702
    121
    22
    10
    8
See reviews for
146
386
65
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staunton, Virginia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We can't wait to stay here again. The staff was very accommodating (even in a situation where we were at fault, not them), efficient, and pleasant. The room was CLEAN (our top priority), well-appointed, with thoughtful amenities, robes, nice linens, a very comfortable bed, and good towels. The rooftop bar is great, and the location of the hotel is convenient (10 minutes to the airport and not far to restaurants, etc.). Our room was on the third floor, under the rooftop bar area, on the freeway side, and near the elevator, but we had no trouble with noise. We've definitely found our preferred hotel in Albuquerque in this charming, city-spa styled boutique hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelleWallace, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Parq Central, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear travelgirl898,

Thank you choosing to stay with us at Hotel Parq Central. We are delighted that our staff provided you with excellent hospitality and that your room was clean, well-appointed and quiet. We are pleased to know that the location of the hotel worked well for you and that you were able to enjoy some time in the Apothecary Lounge on the rooftop. We are honored to be your preferred hotel in Albuquerque!

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

All the best,

Noelle Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truth or Consequences, New Mexico
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

No doubt about the hearty welcome you and your furry friend will receive when General Manager, Yancy Sturgeon's BCF (best canine friend) Molly, is on hand to greet guests at check-in.
Complimentary is the byword at the Parq Central: Wifi, beverages, European style buffet breakfast, parking, fitness center and transportation to and from the airport.

Soothing contemporary styling and neutral tones offer a respite from the bustle of downtown Albuquerque. The guest comfort factor is high: ambient lighting, luxury Frette linens and towels, traditional stylish decor, wood flooring, Rainforest glass shower, bath products from CO Bigelow, a view of the landscaped courtyard and access to adjacent park ensure a restful respite for pets and humans.

Pampered pups will enjoy their own pet bed, bowls and plentiful dog chews.

Not all rooms are designated pet friendly—so call ahead to reserve. My expectations of this hotel were more than met—you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: ask for room facing back courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelleWallace, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Parq Central, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Sheila W,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us at Hotel Parq Central. We are so glad that you received a warm welcome from Molly and that you found the property to offer a respite from the bustle of downtown Albuquerque. We are delighted that you and your pup enjoyed all of the complimentary amenities. We feel guests, both human and pets, should be pampered during their stay with us, so we are glad that you enjoyed the Frette linens and towels, CO Bigelow bath products and the pet bowls and beds.

We appreciate you choosing to stay with us at Hotel Parq Central and we look forward to seeing you again next time you are in Albuquerque!

All the best,

Noelle Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Ridge, IL
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Our second time at the Parq Central was every bit as good as the first--the staff are still the best I have encountered, the accommodation spotless and well maintenance. the roof top cocktail lounge truly over the top and the breakfast varied and interesting. This is the place in Albuquerque as far as I'm concerned.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelleWallace, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Parq Central, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear JimParkRidge_IL,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us for a second time! We are always happy to see familiar faces checking in and we are honored that our staff is the best you have encountered. We are pleased that the accommodations were spotless and the property is well maintained for you. The Apothecary Lounge offers lovely views and we are happy to spend some time on the rooftop. We are glad that you enjoyed the breakfast each morning. We appreciate that you find Hotel Parq Central to be the place in Albuquerque!

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your second stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

All the best,

Noelle Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico, USA
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We've read a few articles lately about this local hotel so we checked it out - and just fell in love with it. This historic former hospital has been remodeled into a clean, modern boutique hotel that has probably just become my favorite place to stay in New Mexico.

Hotel Parq Central is located right next to the freeway, so it's not totally quiet in the rooms - though it's not loud. The area used to be - well, frankly a dump, but it's been rehabilitated to where it's comfortably safe and I never saw a single view from the hotel that was in any way shabby. There's plenty of onsite parking but once you park your car, you really can have a great time without ever touching it again. The Hotel Parq Central is conveniently located near great restaurants in EDo and frequently run bus and rapid ride bus stops that can whisk you to Nob Hill, Downtown or Old Town. No need to drink and drive - take ABQ Ride for a buck each way. Or - use the hotel's complimentary shuttle to travel in a three-mile radius. Can't beat it!

Onsite, Hotel Parq Central features the Apothecary Lounge, a rooftop bar (inside and out - fine for cold nights or pleasant ones) that's modern, friendly, and has great views of Downtown, traffic rocketing silently by on I-25, and the volcano cores on the West Side. The service in the lounge was really terrific (thanks Heather!) and the drinks and bar food were spot-on.

Hotel check-in was efficient and friendly. The room (an executive king) was a great deal larger than we were expecting, and had a lovely view of the park across the street and the hotel's lovely garden area. The room was quite comfortable (plenty of seating and storage space - and ROOM to move as well as a large bathroom with nice amenities) and came with free WiFi, convenient coffee stations on each floor, and an honestly terrific continental breakfast (that included cereals, boiled eggs, quiches, all manner of lovely little pastries, juices, all manner of toasts and toppings, tea and solidly good coffee) - this was one of the better continental breakfasts we've found at similar properties. The hotel property was lovely - tastefully decorated lobby and solarium lounges, gorgeous Xeric garden with great seating (several comfy rockers!), lots of newspapers around for guests. I wanted to spend more time there - and I'm sure we'll be back.

Very minor things that were less than perfect: the design of the place makes primary access to upstairs through one elevator, which could be slow - there were a couple times when we waited two minutes for one. The coffee station on our floor wasn't kept as full as it might have been and had the wrong lids set out for the cups provided. The staff in the breakfast room were pretty slow to clean up previously occupied tables - crumbs sat there for some time.

Hotel Parq Central was great for a weekend getaway - and I'd wholeheartedly recommend it to friends and relatives coming in from out of town.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelleWallace, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Parq Central, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Erich505,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us at Hotel Parq Central. Nothing makes us happier than hearing that you fell in love with our property! We are pleased that you enjoy the renovation of our building and found the views from the hotel to be nice. We are glad that you took the time to explore our historic neighborhood and also took advantage of the shuttle service to Downtown, Old Town, and Nob Hill. The Apothecary Lounge offers truly amazing views and we are delighted that Heather took great care of you while you enjoyed some food and drinks. The Executive rooms are very spacious and we are glad that check-in went smoothly. Breakfast is something we enjoy offering and we are happy that it is one of the better continental breakfasts you have had- we pride ourselves on making the quiche in-house with a variety of fresh ingredients. We are sorry to hear that the servers were a bit slow during your stay at cleaning up tables and that the coffee stations were not kept as full as you would have liked. They have taken these comments to heart and are more alert to vacancies in the Parlor room, where they can clean it up quickly and are also checking the coffee stations more frequently. We do apologize for the cup-lid confusion as well; this was an ordering error and it has been corrected. We are glad that you were able to enjoy the many common areas on property while reading the newspaper or browsing the internet.

We appreciate your recommendation to other travelers and we hope to see you again next time you are in Albuquerque!

All the best,

Noelle Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wildwildwest, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

First, full disclosure: I was a manager at this hospital property, before it became a hotel. (Perhaps a little biased) Prior to this, earlier in my life, I have worked at several 5-star hotel properties...

I had a friend stop in Albuquerque for a few days, to do his annual evaluation of his rental properties. We had planned a movie, and dinner, in the Nob Hill area. I suggested we stop in between, at the Hotel Parq Central, to perhaps grab a drink and maybe a snack. We were well received by the gentleman in the lobby, and had good conversations with him. When we arrived to the roof (on a Saturday night) to the Apothecary Lounge, they were quite busy and the room was loud, due to the musician out on the roof/deck (who was wonderful, by the way). We sat down in the lounge, and after receiving no offer of service, we moved out onto the roof/deck. We talked for awhile, mostly about the amazing view (and my stories about my old experiences as an administrator at the hospital) but we never received a greeting, or a suggestion of service from the staff. We had a nice visit, but again, we were never approached by any of the Apothecary staff. We eventually moved on, to dinner at Scalo's. Needless to say, I left disappointed, after recommending the hotel to my California friend...

Room Tip: Be patient in the Apothecary Lounge. While you're waiting, enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelleWallace, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Parq Central, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear wwildwest,

While you did not stay with us at Hotel Parq Central, we appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts on the renovation of our building. We are glad that you were well received in our lobby and had a nice conversation with our staff. We apologize that you did not receive the prompt service we strive to provide in the Apothecary Lounge, but we are glad you were able to enjoy the music provided that evening and the stunning views of Albuquerque. Please let us know if you would like to visit the Apothecary Lounge again, as we do our best to ensure that each guest is well taken care of and we know that if your lack of service on the night you were here was brought to the attention of either of the two managers on duty that evening we certainly could have rectified the situation.

We are again glad to know that you enjoy the renovation and that you were able to share your stories with your friends while enjoying the view from the Apothecary Lounge.

All the best,

Noelle Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I stayed here on the drive home from Flagstaff to Dallas. I read the reviews which led me to stay here. This hotel is a historical facility which once housed a railroad hospital. It is unique in very many respects; beautiful Spanish renaissance exterior, very clean, comfortable beds, superior bath products, a nice vanity kit that even included a pony tail holder, breakfast way beyond the run of the mill continental included fresh fruit, different kinds of quiche, bakery quality pastries, and good coffee. Also nice, had coffee right outside my room in the hallway. Also, the spaces around the hotel had unique furniture and nooks to sit in. I got here about 1:30 in the morning after driving in a driving snow for several hours and had to leave the next morning so I didn't get much of a chance to explore or enjoy the hotel. Only one slight issue; there was some mix up when I arrive about my reservation and they said I could not get double beds unless I "upgraded" to a different rate; I was too tired to really argue, but the next morning I found they had made good on my original request and didn't charge me anything extra; no problem. If I ever need to stay in Albuquerque again, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelleWallace, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Parq Central, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Amber K,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your way home to Dallas to Flagstaff. We are so glad that you enjoyed the history of the hotel and found your guest room to be very clean and comfortable. Breakfast is something we love offering and we are so happy that you enjoyed it. We are glad that we were able to resolve the confusion with your reservation and that you were able to find a good night's rest after a long drive.

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you next time you are in Albuquerque!

All the best,

Noelle Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Parq Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parq Central

Address: 806 Central Ave, SE, Albuquerque, NM 87102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque > Huning Highland Historic District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 145 hotels in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Parq Central 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect blend of contemporary comfort and historic elegance, our boutique hotel is ideal for leisure and business travelers in search of superior service and a memorable place to stay in Albuquerque. This is a place to rest, relax and refresh with stylishly appointed guestrooms, an outdoor dining plaza, spacious garden park and a rooftop lounge with panoramic views of the mountains, downtown city lights and enchanting Southwest sunsets. Don’t just stay in Albuquerque — get away to an urban oasis at Hotel Parq Central. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Parq Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Parq Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.