We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Second Satisfying Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Parq Central

Save Saved
You added Hotel Parq Central to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Parq Central
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   806 Central Ave, SE, Albuquerque, NM 87102 (Huning Highland Historic District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 146 Hotels in Albuquerque
Park Ridge, IL
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A Second Satisfying Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Our second time at the Parq Central was every bit as good as the first--the staff are still the best I have encountered, the accommodation spotless and well maintenance. the roof top cocktail lounge truly over the top and the breakfast varied and interesting. This is the place in Albuquerque as far as I'm concerned.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelleWallace, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Parq Central, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear JimParkRidge_IL,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us for a second time! We are always happy to see familiar faces checking in and we are honored that our staff is the best you have encountered. We are pleased that the accommodations were spotless and the property is well maintained for you. The Apothecary Lounge offers lovely views and we are happy to spend some time on the rooftop. We are glad that you enjoyed the breakfast each morning. We appreciate that you find Hotel Parq Central to be the place in Albuquerque!

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your second stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

All the best,

Noelle Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    744
    128
    25
    11
    9
See reviews for
155
412
68
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico, USA
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We've read a few articles lately about this local hotel so we checked it out - and just fell in love with it. This historic former hospital has been remodeled into a clean, modern boutique hotel that has probably just become my favorite place to stay in New Mexico.

Hotel Parq Central is located right next to the freeway, so it's not totally quiet in the rooms - though it's not loud. The area used to be - well, frankly a dump, but it's been rehabilitated to where it's comfortably safe and I never saw a single view from the hotel that was in any way shabby. There's plenty of onsite parking but once you park your car, you really can have a great time without ever touching it again. The Hotel Parq Central is conveniently located near great restaurants in EDo and frequently run bus and rapid ride bus stops that can whisk you to Nob Hill, Downtown or Old Town. No need to drink and drive - take ABQ Ride for a buck each way. Or - use the hotel's complimentary shuttle to travel in a three-mile radius. Can't beat it!

Onsite, Hotel Parq Central features the Apothecary Lounge, a rooftop bar (inside and out - fine for cold nights or pleasant ones) that's modern, friendly, and has great views of Downtown, traffic rocketing silently by on I-25, and the volcano cores on the West Side. The service in the lounge was really terrific (thanks Heather!) and the drinks and bar food were spot-on.

Hotel check-in was efficient and friendly. The room (an executive king) was a great deal larger than we were expecting, and had a lovely view of the park across the street and the hotel's lovely garden area. The room was quite comfortable (plenty of seating and storage space - and ROOM to move as well as a large bathroom with nice amenities) and came with free WiFi, convenient coffee stations on each floor, and an honestly terrific continental breakfast (that included cereals, boiled eggs, quiches, all manner of lovely little pastries, juices, all manner of toasts and toppings, tea and solidly good coffee) - this was one of the better continental breakfasts we've found at similar properties. The hotel property was lovely - tastefully decorated lobby and solarium lounges, gorgeous Xeric garden with great seating (several comfy rockers!), lots of newspapers around for guests. I wanted to spend more time there - and I'm sure we'll be back.

Very minor things that were less than perfect: the design of the place makes primary access to upstairs through one elevator, which could be slow - there were a couple times when we waited two minutes for one. The coffee station on our floor wasn't kept as full as it might have been and had the wrong lids set out for the cups provided. The staff in the breakfast room were pretty slow to clean up previously occupied tables - crumbs sat there for some time.

Hotel Parq Central was great for a weekend getaway - and I'd wholeheartedly recommend it to friends and relatives coming in from out of town.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelleWallace, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Parq Central, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Erich505,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us at Hotel Parq Central. Nothing makes us happier than hearing that you fell in love with our property! We are pleased that you enjoy the renovation of our building and found the views from the hotel to be nice. We are glad that you took the time to explore our historic neighborhood and also took advantage of the shuttle service to Downtown, Old Town, and Nob Hill. The Apothecary Lounge offers truly amazing views and we are delighted that Heather took great care of you while you enjoyed some food and drinks. The Executive rooms are very spacious and we are glad that check-in went smoothly. Breakfast is something we enjoy offering and we are happy that it is one of the better continental breakfasts you have had- we pride ourselves on making the quiche in-house with a variety of fresh ingredients. We are sorry to hear that the servers were a bit slow during your stay at cleaning up tables and that the coffee stations were not kept as full as you would have liked. They have taken these comments to heart and are more alert to vacancies in the Parlor room, where they can clean it up quickly and are also checking the coffee stations more frequently. We do apologize for the cup-lid confusion as well; this was an ordering error and it has been corrected. We are glad that you were able to enjoy the many common areas on property while reading the newspaper or browsing the internet.

We appreciate your recommendation to other travelers and we hope to see you again next time you are in Albuquerque!

All the best,

Noelle Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wildwildwest, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

First, full disclosure: I was a manager at this hospital property, before it became a hotel. (Perhaps a little biased) Prior to this, earlier in my life, I have worked at several 5-star hotel properties...

I had a friend stop in Albuquerque for a few days, to do his annual evaluation of his rental properties. We had planned a movie, and dinner, in the Nob Hill area. I suggested we stop in between, at the Hotel Parq Central, to perhaps grab a drink and maybe a snack. We were well received by the gentleman in the lobby, and had good conversations with him. When we arrived to the roof (on a Saturday night) to the Apothecary Lounge, they were quite busy and the room was loud, due to the musician out on the roof/deck (who was wonderful, by the way). We sat down in the lounge, and after receiving no offer of service, we moved out onto the roof/deck. We talked for awhile, mostly about the amazing view (and my stories about my old experiences as an administrator at the hospital) but we never received a greeting, or a suggestion of service from the staff. We had a nice visit, but again, we were never approached by any of the Apothecary staff. We eventually moved on, to dinner at Scalo's. Needless to say, I left disappointed, after recommending the hotel to my California friend...

Room Tip: Be patient in the Apothecary Lounge. While you're waiting, enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelleWallace, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Parq Central, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear wwildwest,

While you did not stay with us at Hotel Parq Central, we appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts on the renovation of our building. We are glad that you were well received in our lobby and had a nice conversation with our staff. We apologize that you did not receive the prompt service we strive to provide in the Apothecary Lounge, but we are glad you were able to enjoy the music provided that evening and the stunning views of Albuquerque. Please let us know if you would like to visit the Apothecary Lounge again, as we do our best to ensure that each guest is well taken care of and we know that if your lack of service on the night you were here was brought to the attention of either of the two managers on duty that evening we certainly could have rectified the situation.

We are again glad to know that you enjoy the renovation and that you were able to share your stories with your friends while enjoying the view from the Apothecary Lounge.

All the best,

Noelle Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I stayed here on the drive home from Flagstaff to Dallas. I read the reviews which led me to stay here. This hotel is a historical facility which once housed a railroad hospital. It is unique in very many respects; beautiful Spanish renaissance exterior, very clean, comfortable beds, superior bath products, a nice vanity kit that even included a pony tail holder, breakfast way beyond the run of the mill continental included fresh fruit, different kinds of quiche, bakery quality pastries, and good coffee. Also nice, had coffee right outside my room in the hallway. Also, the spaces around the hotel had unique furniture and nooks to sit in. I got here about 1:30 in the morning after driving in a driving snow for several hours and had to leave the next morning so I didn't get much of a chance to explore or enjoy the hotel. Only one slight issue; there was some mix up when I arrive about my reservation and they said I could not get double beds unless I "upgraded" to a different rate; I was too tired to really argue, but the next morning I found they had made good on my original request and didn't charge me anything extra; no problem. If I ever need to stay in Albuquerque again, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelleWallace, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Parq Central, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Amber K,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your way home to Dallas to Flagstaff. We are so glad that you enjoyed the history of the hotel and found your guest room to be very clean and comfortable. Breakfast is something we love offering and we are so happy that you enjoyed it. We are glad that we were able to resolve the confusion with your reservation and that you were able to find a good night's rest after a long drive.

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you next time you are in Albuquerque!

All the best,

Noelle Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This was the first trip to Albuquerque for my sister and I, and we liked both the city and this intimate boutique hotel. The owners did an outstanding job renovating the historic, conveniently located property. We loved the many clever references to the hospital that preceded it. There are several inviting areas on the first floor to sit and relax, both inside and out. The staff is pleasant and was very helpful, offering great recommendations for dining.

Our room was small, especially with two beds, and it didn’t have a seating area. It faced a highway and was a little noisy (I live in downtown Chicago so had no trouble, but some might.) The bed was unbelievably comfortable. The bathroom was spacious, the shower over-sized, the toiletries better than most, and the comfy robe a pleasant surprise. The room and bathroom were immaculate throughout our three-day stay. There’s free coffee on each floor in the morning, especially appreciated by caffeine addicts like us.

We looked in on the rooftop lounge one night, and it was hopping. You can get a meal here and even sit outside and watch the sun set. Unfortunately, we never made it back to the hotel until it was dark. Oh well, next time. Although there’s no restaurant, the hotel offers a complimentary breakfast. During our stay, it fell short. The pastries were stale, the fruit bowl consisted of apples and apples, and the salty quiche was not edible. Additional free amenities include parking (which many Albuquerque hotels charge for), plus a shuttle service to local attractions.

There were a few issues. We were first assigned a room across from a big party in progress… we complained and were moved to another floor. Once in our room, we reported a problem with the sink… the engineer arrived ten minutes later and fixed it. There weren’t enough towels and hangers for two people, but extras arrived just five minutes after we asked for them. Later in the day, we had a problem with the HVAC, which necessitated another prompt visit from the engineer.

You can encounter issues at any hotel, but it’s the response of the staff that determines whether or not you enjoy the remainder of your stay. We enjoyed ours. It’s apparent this hotel is focused on customer care, and with a little more effort on the part of the owners, it could be five stars.

Note: I noticed criticisms in some of the reviews that do not take into account that this is an intimate boutique hotel, and its goal is to deliver that experience. If you’re looking for the amenities of a chain (room service, bellmen, full-service restaurant), you’ll probably be happier at a Hilton or Hyatt.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelleWallace, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Parq Central, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear altaira4,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us at Hotel Parq Central. We are delighted that you and your sister enjoyed the city of Albuquerque and also the renovation of our historic building. We are thrilled that you find the staff to be pleasant and helpful and your guest room to be comfortable and immaculate. The Apothecary lounge is definitely a hot spot for locals and hotel guests alike. We hope next time you are able to enjoy a sunset view with one of our award winning cocktails. We are so sorry to hear that the breakfast fell short during your stay; we have addressed these concerns with the staff in this area and made efforts to correct it, so it should meet your expectations on your next visit. We are pleased that any issue you encountered was addressed promptly by our team; you are accurate in finding our focus to be on taking care of our guests!

We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

All the best,

Noelle Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This interesting building was converted into a welcoming, warm, charming hotel. Among its excellent features are a fascinating history, lovely, quiet outdoor areas, outdoor hot tub, a very good complimentary breakfast, a wonderful rooftop bar and lounge area, convenient location and shuttle service to and from the airport and downtown. TRULY IMPORTANT TIP for travelers to New Mexico: The airport fees tacked onto car rentals from the airport in Albuquerque are very steep. It is a really smart move to fly in, get the free shuttle to a hotel like the Parq Central, and then get downtown car rental agencies to come pick you up. We have saved hundreds of dollars --- no exaggeration --- on several occasions following this plan. Enterprise has a location very near Parq Central and will cheerfully pick you up.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the back parking area are somewhat quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelleWallace, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Parq Central, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear ladyluke,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Parq Central! We are so glad that you enjoyed the renovation of the building and the many common areas on property. We are so happy that you found the breakfast to be very good and the Apothecary Lounge on the rooftop to be wonderful. We love your tip for other travelers to use the complimentary shuttle service to save on renting a car.

We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and hope to see you again soon!

All the best,

Noelle Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Hotel Parq Central staff went above and beyond to make our experience enjoyable. I was most impressed by the complimentary airport shuttle, and shuttle within 2 miles of the hotel! This was an added bonus, and made traveling around Albuquerque a breeze. The rooms were clean and comfortable with high ceilings. Great value for a great location. We visited for the Balloon Fiesta and it was a very convenient location with quick access to the Balloon Fiesta Park. I would definitely stay there again and recommend it. It was very convenient. It was very nice to have a complimentary breakfast and the food was tasty.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelleWallace, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Parq Central, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Christina4977,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. We strive to provide excellent hospitality and we are thrilled that you found our staff to go above and beyond to make your experience enjoyable. We are pleased that you enjoyed the complimentary shuttle service and found your guest room to be clean and a good value. The Albuquerque International Balloon Fiesta is an amazing event and we are so happy that you were able to make it to the park easily from the hotel. The breakfast is something we enjoy offering to our guests and we are glad that you found it tasty.

Thank you for your recommendation to other travelers and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

All the best,

Noelle Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Parq Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parq Central

Address: 806 Central Ave, SE, Albuquerque, NM 87102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque > Huning Highland Historic District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 146 Hotels in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Parq Central 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect blend of contemporary comfort and historic elegance, our boutique hotel is ideal for leisure and business travelers in search of superior service and a memorable place to stay in Albuquerque. This is a place to rest, relax and refresh with stylishly appointed guestrooms, an outdoor dining plaza, spacious garden park and a rooftop lounge with panoramic views of the mountains, downtown city lights and enchanting Southwest sunsets. Don’t just stay in Albuquerque — get away to an urban oasis at Hotel Parq Central. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Parq Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Parq Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.