We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Immaculate, unique and interesting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Parq Central

Save Saved
You added Hotel Parq Central to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Parq Central
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   806 Central Ave, SE, Albuquerque, NM 87102 (Huning Highland Historic District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 146 hotels in Albuquerque
Dallas, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Immaculate, unique and interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I stayed here on the drive home from Flagstaff to Dallas. I read the reviews which led me to stay here. This hotel is a historical facility which once housed a railroad hospital. It is unique in very many respects; beautiful Spanish renaissance exterior, very clean, comfortable beds, superior bath products, a nice vanity kit that even included a pony tail holder, breakfast way beyond the run of the mill continental included fresh fruit, different kinds of quiche, bakery quality pastries, and good coffee. Also nice, had coffee right outside my room in the hallway. Also, the spaces around the hotel had unique furniture and nooks to sit in. I got here about 1:30 in the morning after driving in a driving snow for several hours and had to leave the next morning so I didn't get much of a chance to explore or enjoy the hotel. Only one slight issue; there was some mix up when I arrive about my reservation and they said I could not get double beds unless I "upgraded" to a different rate; I was too tired to really argue, but the next morning I found they had made good on my original request and didn't charge me anything extra; no problem. If I ever need to stay in Albuquerque again, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelleWallace, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Parq Central, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Amber K,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your way home to Dallas to Flagstaff. We are so glad that you enjoyed the history of the hotel and found your guest room to be very clean and comfortable. Breakfast is something we love offering and we are so happy that you enjoyed it. We are glad that we were able to resolve the confusion with your reservation and that you were able to find a good night's rest after a long drive.

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you next time you are in Albuquerque!

All the best,

Noelle Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    727
    125
    23
    10
    8
See reviews for
151
398
68
136
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This was the first trip to Albuquerque for my sister and I, and we liked both the city and this intimate boutique hotel. The owners did an outstanding job renovating the historic, conveniently located property. We loved the many clever references to the hospital that preceded it. There are several inviting areas on the first floor to sit and relax, both inside and out. The staff is pleasant and was very helpful, offering great recommendations for dining.

Our room was small, especially with two beds, and it didn’t have a seating area. It faced a highway and was a little noisy (I live in downtown Chicago so had no trouble, but some might.) The bed was unbelievably comfortable. The bathroom was spacious, the shower over-sized, the toiletries better than most, and the comfy robe a pleasant surprise. The room and bathroom were immaculate throughout our three-day stay. There’s free coffee on each floor in the morning, especially appreciated by caffeine addicts like us.

We looked in on the rooftop lounge one night, and it was hopping. You can get a meal here and even sit outside and watch the sun set. Unfortunately, we never made it back to the hotel until it was dark. Oh well, next time. Although there’s no restaurant, the hotel offers a complimentary breakfast. During our stay, it fell short. The pastries were stale, the fruit bowl consisted of apples and apples, and the salty quiche was not edible. Additional free amenities include parking (which many Albuquerque hotels charge for), plus a shuttle service to local attractions.

There were a few issues. We were first assigned a room across from a big party in progress… we complained and were moved to another floor. Once in our room, we reported a problem with the sink… the engineer arrived ten minutes later and fixed it. There weren’t enough towels and hangers for two people, but extras arrived just five minutes after we asked for them. Later in the day, we had a problem with the HVAC, which necessitated another prompt visit from the engineer.

You can encounter issues at any hotel, but it’s the response of the staff that determines whether or not you enjoy the remainder of your stay. We enjoyed ours. It’s apparent this hotel is focused on customer care, and with a little more effort on the part of the owners, it could be five stars.

Note: I noticed criticisms in some of the reviews that do not take into account that this is an intimate boutique hotel, and its goal is to deliver that experience. If you’re looking for the amenities of a chain (room service, bellmen, full-service restaurant), you’ll probably be happier at a Hilton or Hyatt.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelleWallace, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Parq Central, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear altaira4,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us at Hotel Parq Central. We are delighted that you and your sister enjoyed the city of Albuquerque and also the renovation of our historic building. We are thrilled that you find the staff to be pleasant and helpful and your guest room to be comfortable and immaculate. The Apothecary lounge is definitely a hot spot for locals and hotel guests alike. We hope next time you are able to enjoy a sunset view with one of our award winning cocktails. We are so sorry to hear that the breakfast fell short during your stay; we have addressed these concerns with the staff in this area and made efforts to correct it, so it should meet your expectations on your next visit. We are pleased that any issue you encountered was addressed promptly by our team; you are accurate in finding our focus to be on taking care of our guests!

We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

All the best,

Noelle Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This interesting building was converted into a welcoming, warm, charming hotel. Among its excellent features are a fascinating history, lovely, quiet outdoor areas, outdoor hot tub, a very good complimentary breakfast, a wonderful rooftop bar and lounge area, convenient location and shuttle service to and from the airport and downtown. TRULY IMPORTANT TIP for travelers to New Mexico: The airport fees tacked onto car rentals from the airport in Albuquerque are very steep. It is a really smart move to fly in, get the free shuttle to a hotel like the Parq Central, and then get downtown car rental agencies to come pick you up. We have saved hundreds of dollars --- no exaggeration --- on several occasions following this plan. Enterprise has a location very near Parq Central and will cheerfully pick you up.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the back parking area are somewhat quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelleWallace, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Parq Central, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear ladyluke,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Parq Central! We are so glad that you enjoyed the renovation of the building and the many common areas on property. We are so happy that you found the breakfast to be very good and the Apothecary Lounge on the rooftop to be wonderful. We love your tip for other travelers to use the complimentary shuttle service to save on renting a car.

We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and hope to see you again soon!

All the best,

Noelle Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Hotel Parq Central staff went above and beyond to make our experience enjoyable. I was most impressed by the complimentary airport shuttle, and shuttle within 2 miles of the hotel! This was an added bonus, and made traveling around Albuquerque a breeze. The rooms were clean and comfortable with high ceilings. Great value for a great location. We visited for the Balloon Fiesta and it was a very convenient location with quick access to the Balloon Fiesta Park. I would definitely stay there again and recommend it. It was very convenient. It was very nice to have a complimentary breakfast and the food was tasty.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelleWallace, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Parq Central, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Christina4977,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. We strive to provide excellent hospitality and we are thrilled that you found our staff to go above and beyond to make your experience enjoyable. We are pleased that you enjoyed the complimentary shuttle service and found your guest room to be clean and a good value. The Albuquerque International Balloon Fiesta is an amazing event and we are so happy that you were able to make it to the park easily from the hotel. The breakfast is something we enjoy offering to our guests and we are glad that you found it tasty.

Thank you for your recommendation to other travelers and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

All the best,

Noelle Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in October. The location is close by to bus routes, train station & the ABQ shuttle route. Staff could not have been friendlier and Gabriel was outstanding. The hotel has a shuttle service that will pick up and drop off at the airport, train station, plus take you into Old Town if you want. Brkfst at hotel had good selection. We asked for a "park view" and although the room was a little small, the bathrooms are very nicely updated. The best part is the rooftop deck. There are several places for lounging and table and chairs to enjoy cocktails. We saw one of the more spectacular sunsets while on our trip from the rooftop. Get there early for good seats!

Room Tip: Ask for a park view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelleWallace, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Parq Central, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear hardydesk,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us at Hotel Parq Central. We are delighted that our staff could not have been friendlier and that the location was convenient for you. Gabriel has been with us since nearly the beginning and we are happy that you feel he is outstanding. We are pleased that you enjoyed the complimentary shuttle service and the breakfast each morning. We are glad that you were able to enjoy the sunset view from the rooftop accompanied by a handcrafted cocktail.

We appreciate you choosing to stay with us during your time in Albuquerque and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

All the best,

Noelle Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had a nice room, although a bit tight. But you notice this only briefly, since the room had a high ceiling and huge windows, making it very friendly. Everything is new, of good quality and well-tended. Parking was included and the breakfast was really good. It definitely deserves an excellent ranking!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelleWallace, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Parq Central, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear theshadowvienna,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us at Hotel Parq Central. We are glad that you enjoyed your guest room and found the property to be of good quality and well-tended. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the breakfast each morning and the complimentary parking.

We appreciate you choosing to stay with us at Hotel Parq Central and we hope to see you next time you are in New Mexico!

All the best,

Noelle Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

My husband and I planned a weekend trip to Albuquerque for some much needed rest and relaxation. I chose Hotel Parq because they advertised themselves as an urban oasis. Their web site made it sound like the perfect place for us. But it couldn't be farther from our experience.

At this very moment, we are sitting in a lovely room with paper thin walls. The party up on the third floor lounge is at full speed. We can hear the music and the DJ very loud and clear. There are partiers coming and going up and down the hall. Being loud, and at time obnoxious. I asked to be moved, but the only room they could offer was one with a smaller bed.

The shower loses pressure when the room next door turns on their water. There is no bathtub in this room. The towels are thick but stiff and harsh. Apparently the AC controls need to be turned on from another area in the hotel. And ours was not set at the time of check in. The room became quite stuffy.

This is not the promised urban oasis. There was no warning, no notice of the party. had we known, we would have made different plans. I am not looking forward to tomorrow night, And will be looking for any way out of our reservation. If you do choose to stay here, ask at the time of booking what events will be taking place. In all honesty, don't bother. It's not worth the price.

Room Tip: Don't pick one on the first floor. There is very little privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelleWallace, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Parq Central, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Sammie M,

We cannot express how incredibly sorry we are that your experience with us was so disappointing. This was the first and last time that we will be hosting a party of this nature and we regret that it took place during your stay with us. We are sorry that the shower pressure fluctuated and that the towels were stiff; we will address these concerns with our operations manager. The AC controls are available in the room and if you give us another opportunity to provide you with the hospitality and serene experience we typically offer, we will show you how to operate them so your room is kept at the exact temperature you would like.

We again are terribly sorry that you were inconvenienced and your weekend was not at all what you expected. Please contact me directly at nwallace@hotelparqcentral.com or call the hotel at 505.242.0040 and ask for me so we can discuss what we can do to remedy your first stay with us. I know we can provide you with an excellent stay if you would like to try us again.

I look forward to hearing from you.

All the best,

Noelle Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Parq Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parq Central

Address: 806 Central Ave, SE, Albuquerque, NM 87102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque > Huning Highland Historic District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 146 hotels in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Parq Central 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect blend of contemporary comfort and historic elegance, our boutique hotel is ideal for leisure and business travelers in search of superior service and a memorable place to stay in Albuquerque. This is a place to rest, relax and refresh with stylishly appointed guestrooms, an outdoor dining plaza, spacious garden park and a rooftop lounge with panoramic views of the mountains, downtown city lights and enchanting Southwest sunsets. Don’t just stay in Albuquerque — get away to an urban oasis at Hotel Parq Central. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Parq Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Parq Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.