We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Urban oasis and an important travel tip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Parq Central

Save Saved
You added Hotel Parq Central to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Parq Central
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   806 Central Ave, SE, Albuquerque, NM 87102 (Huning Highland Historic District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 146 hotels in Albuquerque
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Urban oasis and an important travel tip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This interesting building was converted into a welcoming, warm, charming hotel. Among its excellent features are a fascinating history, lovely, quiet outdoor areas, outdoor hot tub, a very good complimentary breakfast, a wonderful rooftop bar and lounge area, convenient location and shuttle service to and from the airport and downtown. TRULY IMPORTANT TIP for travelers to New Mexico: The airport fees tacked onto car rentals from the airport in Albuquerque are very steep. It is a really smart move to fly in, get the free shuttle to a hotel like the Parq Central, and then get downtown car rental agencies to come pick you up. We have saved hundreds of dollars --- no exaggeration --- on several occasions following this plan. Enterprise has a location very near Parq Central and will cheerfully pick you up.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the back parking area are somewhat quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelleWallace, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Parq Central, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear ladyluke,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Parq Central! We are so glad that you enjoyed the renovation of the building and the many common areas on property. We are so happy that you found the breakfast to be very good and the Apothecary Lounge on the rooftop to be wonderful. We love your tip for other travelers to use the complimentary shuttle service to save on renting a car.

We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and hope to see you again soon!

All the best,

Noelle Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    735
    126
    23
    10
    8
See reviews for
153
402
68
136
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Hotel Parq Central staff went above and beyond to make our experience enjoyable. I was most impressed by the complimentary airport shuttle, and shuttle within 2 miles of the hotel! This was an added bonus, and made traveling around Albuquerque a breeze. The rooms were clean and comfortable with high ceilings. Great value for a great location. We visited for the Balloon Fiesta and it was a very convenient location with quick access to the Balloon Fiesta Park. I would definitely stay there again and recommend it. It was very convenient. It was very nice to have a complimentary breakfast and the food was tasty.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelleWallace, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Parq Central, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Christina4977,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. We strive to provide excellent hospitality and we are thrilled that you found our staff to go above and beyond to make your experience enjoyable. We are pleased that you enjoyed the complimentary shuttle service and found your guest room to be clean and a good value. The Albuquerque International Balloon Fiesta is an amazing event and we are so happy that you were able to make it to the park easily from the hotel. The breakfast is something we enjoy offering to our guests and we are glad that you found it tasty.

Thank you for your recommendation to other travelers and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

All the best,

Noelle Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in October. The location is close by to bus routes, train station & the ABQ shuttle route. Staff could not have been friendlier and Gabriel was outstanding. The hotel has a shuttle service that will pick up and drop off at the airport, train station, plus take you into Old Town if you want. Brkfst at hotel had good selection. We asked for a "park view" and although the room was a little small, the bathrooms are very nicely updated. The best part is the rooftop deck. There are several places for lounging and table and chairs to enjoy cocktails. We saw one of the more spectacular sunsets while on our trip from the rooftop. Get there early for good seats!

Room Tip: Ask for a park view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelleWallace, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Parq Central, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear hardydesk,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us at Hotel Parq Central. We are delighted that our staff could not have been friendlier and that the location was convenient for you. Gabriel has been with us since nearly the beginning and we are happy that you feel he is outstanding. We are pleased that you enjoyed the complimentary shuttle service and the breakfast each morning. We are glad that you were able to enjoy the sunset view from the rooftop accompanied by a handcrafted cocktail.

We appreciate you choosing to stay with us during your time in Albuquerque and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

All the best,

Noelle Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had a nice room, although a bit tight. But you notice this only briefly, since the room had a high ceiling and huge windows, making it very friendly. Everything is new, of good quality and well-tended. Parking was included and the breakfast was really good. It definitely deserves an excellent ranking!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelleWallace, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Parq Central, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear theshadowvienna,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us at Hotel Parq Central. We are glad that you enjoyed your guest room and found the property to be of good quality and well-tended. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the breakfast each morning and the complimentary parking.

We appreciate you choosing to stay with us at Hotel Parq Central and we hope to see you next time you are in New Mexico!

All the best,

Noelle Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

My husband and I planned a weekend trip to Albuquerque for some much needed rest and relaxation. I chose Hotel Parq because they advertised themselves as an urban oasis. Their web site made it sound like the perfect place for us. But it couldn't be farther from our experience.

At this very moment, we are sitting in a lovely room with paper thin walls. The party up on the third floor lounge is at full speed. We can hear the music and the DJ very loud and clear. There are partiers coming and going up and down the hall. Being loud, and at time obnoxious. I asked to be moved, but the only room they could offer was one with a smaller bed.

The shower loses pressure when the room next door turns on their water. There is no bathtub in this room. The towels are thick but stiff and harsh. Apparently the AC controls need to be turned on from another area in the hotel. And ours was not set at the time of check in. The room became quite stuffy.

This is not the promised urban oasis. There was no warning, no notice of the party. had we known, we would have made different plans. I am not looking forward to tomorrow night, And will be looking for any way out of our reservation. If you do choose to stay here, ask at the time of booking what events will be taking place. In all honesty, don't bother. It's not worth the price.

Room Tip: Don't pick one on the first floor. There is very little privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelleWallace, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Parq Central, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Sammie M,

We cannot express how incredibly sorry we are that your experience with us was so disappointing. This was the first and last time that we will be hosting a party of this nature and we regret that it took place during your stay with us. We are sorry that the shower pressure fluctuated and that the towels were stiff; we will address these concerns with our operations manager. The AC controls are available in the room and if you give us another opportunity to provide you with the hospitality and serene experience we typically offer, we will show you how to operate them so your room is kept at the exact temperature you would like.

We again are terribly sorry that you were inconvenienced and your weekend was not at all what you expected. Please contact me directly at nwallace@hotelparqcentral.com or call the hotel at 505.242.0040 and ask for me so we can discuss what we can do to remedy your first stay with us. I know we can provide you with an excellent stay if you would like to try us again.

I look forward to hearing from you.

All the best,

Noelle Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinetop-Lakeside, Arizona
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This hotel is so unique, comfortable and located close to downtown. We have stayed in this hotel twice and have not been disappointed. There is a roof top bar overlooking the city with great drinks and service. Walking distance to several local restaurants. Very comfortable, will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelleWallace, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Parq Central, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear ReginaR84,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us again at Hotel Parq Central. We are always happy to see familiar faces at the front desk checking in. We are happy that you find the hotel to be unique and comfortable and that the location works well for you. We are happy that you have been able to enjoy time on the rooftop in the Apothecary Lounge.

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

All the best,

Noelle Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Lunas, NM
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

A trully wonderful experience, impeccably executed. My family held a Celebration of Life for my husband in the Santa Fe Room of the Hotel Parq Central for many friends and family. From the first experience of examining their website to dealing with LIndsay Joule, the Director of Sales who made the room and food accomodations; to the attentive, accomodating staff Fernando Ramon, Nate-Cheff Danielle who were our bartender and hosted us at the hotel as though they were hosting a marvelous party in their own homes and the desk employees who guided our guests and helped them with rooms, the entire celebration, from planning to execution was handled beautifully, respectfully and without any difficulties. The menu was imaginative and the food was exceptionally well prepared and served. I have traveled quite a bit in Europe and the US in many venues and this ranks in the upper 99.9 percentile of quality, attention to detail and to the customer's needs. Even if you are not able to stay at the hotel or to hold an event there, you MUST drop in and see this lovely historical building and speak briefly with the folks working there...you WILL stay there on your next visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelleWallace, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Parq Central, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Sandra C,

Thank you for allowing Hotel Parq Central to be a part of the celebration of life for your husband. We are so glad that your experience was wonderful and impeccably executed. We are delighted that our banquet team hosted you as though they were hosting a party in their own home. Our culinary team prides themselves on using only the freshest ingredients and we are happy to know that you enjoyed the imaginative menu. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and your recommendation to others.

All the best,

Noelle Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Parq Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parq Central

Address: 806 Central Ave, SE, Albuquerque, NM 87102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque > Huning Highland Historic District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 146 hotels in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Parq Central 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect blend of contemporary comfort and historic elegance, our boutique hotel is ideal for leisure and business travelers in search of superior service and a memorable place to stay in Albuquerque. This is a place to rest, relax and refresh with stylishly appointed guestrooms, an outdoor dining plaza, spacious garden park and a rooftop lounge with panoramic views of the mountains, downtown city lights and enchanting Southwest sunsets. Don’t just stay in Albuquerque — get away to an urban oasis at Hotel Parq Central. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Parq Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Parq Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.