We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Parq Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Parq Central to your Saves list
Hotel Parq Central
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   806 Central Ave, SE, Albuquerque, NM 87102 (Huning Highland Historic District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 146 Hotels in Albuquerque
Albuquerque
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

The wedding and reception for our middle son (former Marine...HooooHaaa) was held at the Hotel Parq Central in August 2011. I'll cut to the chase and say it was an outstanding experience if every respect. From start to finish the relationship with hotel staff and management was everything you could want; courteous and professional, and they really listened and made appropriate suggestions and recommendations. As much as wedding planning can be no fuss and no muss this was it. The accomodations, the hotel facilites and guest rooms were fantastic. The hotel works with a local restaurant chef for catering, and again the experience was wonderful. Chef Don and his partner Carla provided a buffet dinner that was delicious and much commented on by all our guests. It was a wonderful event and we cannot thank the hotel staff, most especially Christina and management. I know it is their job, but they have taken hospitality and service to the highest level.

Room Tip: While the hotel sits alongside and elevated section of I-25 in Albuquerque (east side), the hotel wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelleWallace, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Parq Central, responded to this review, September 25, 2011
Dear Richard S,

We would first like to thank you for allowing Hotel Parq Central to be a part of such a meaningful moment for your family. We are all thrilled that everything went so smoothly and we are honored that we were able to establish a relationship with your son, new daughter-in-law and family, which makes the wedding planning process much more enjoyable and less stressful. We are happy that hotel accommodations and the guest rooms were comfortable for you and your out of town guests. The dinner prepared by Chef Don and his partner Carla is something we are pleased to offer and we are glad that your guests found the meal to be delicious. Weddings are a wonderful part of the hospitality industry and we appreciate the opportunity to provide a memorable experience for you and all of your guests!

Thank you again for your kind words and we hope to see you all again soon!

All the best,

Noelle Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    760
    137
    28
    11
    9
See reviews for
158
427
69
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hinton, Oklahoma
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

I loved our recent trip to Hotel Parq. The staff was kind, helpful, and gracious. The amenities were luxurious, and the overall atmosphere was peaceful and serene. We enjoyed drinks on the rooftop at sunset overlooking the Sandia Mountains and the lights of Albuquerque. The stay included an extensive breakfast which we ate on the sunlit patio where the weather was perfect. I did not want to leave and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelleWallace, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Parq Central, responded to this review, September 25, 2011
Dear red_miata,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Hotel Parq Central. We are delighted that you found our staff to be kind, helpful, and gracious. Our team strives to make each guest feel at home at Hotel Parq Central. We are also glad that you enjoyed the in room amenities and the serene atmosphere; hopefully you were able to relax during your stay. We are pleased that you were really able to enjoy the lovely weather Albuquerque has this time of year with breakfast on the patio in the morning and drinks overlooking the city in the evening.

We again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to your next stay with us!

All the best,

Noelle Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Having watched the restoration of this former hospital, we were very interested in seeing the finished product. The hotel is beautiful. We won't say more about it; you can see for yourself on the website.

Unfortunately, the service is not good at all.

We were surprised - no, astonished - by how argumentative the staff was. When our room key would work in the room door BUT NOT the elevator, we asked the front desk man to re-code the key card; he argued about whether it would actually fix the problem. (We insisted, and of course it fixed the problem.) When my wife wanted her tepid breakfast warmed up, the woman working the breakfast counter argued that it had just come out of the oven. (I can't even BELIEVE we had this conversation. Really? You're going to argue over microwaving a slice of quiche for 30 seconds?)

Secondly, the front desk is grossly understaffed. Although the two people who work there would be plenty if they actually stayed there, many of the "little touches" that would otherwise make the hotel nice come at the expense of sending one of the front-desk folks away. When we checked in, she walked us to our room; this may be a cute touch, but we can find our room just fine, thank you...perhaps Sarah's service, friendly though it was, would be better if she stayed at the front desk. Likewise, the free shuttle service is nice, but there is no dedicated concierge or shuttle driver. Again, the shuttle takes someone away from the front desk, leaving it understaffed, which was perhaps why on the third night the shuttle driver left us waiting half an hour for a ride from two miles away. This was after we asked them what time the Apothecary Lounge (the very scenic bar on the roof) closed. We had intended to return for an enjoyable nightcap; the front desk gave us a "last call" time that was 1 hour AFTER actual last call.

All in all, we had one too many disappointments on this trip. The Hotel Parq Central is beautiful...but they're counting on the beauty to distract you from their indifferent service. We even tried to contact the hotel manager before posting this review, so we could present this critique in person; our request was ignored.

For the amount of money you're going to spend at this hotel, you might as well stay at the nearby Embassy Suites. You get far more for your money.

Room Tip: Even the cheapest rooms are tasteful, quiet, and comfortable. Don't be suckered in by the highe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelleWallace, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Parq Central, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Dear BW S,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us at Hotel Parq Central. We are delighted that you found the renovation of the former hospital to be beautiful. It is very important to us that the local residents enjoy the preservation of this historic building. We apologize that our level of service was disappointing. Service is absolutely the most important piece of your experience with us and we take it very seriously that we missed the mark during your stay. We have discussed each concern you mention in your review with our management and staff and are taking measures to ensure that these instances do not happen again. Our manager would be happy to meet with you at any time to discuss the concerns of your stay with us.

We hope that you will give Hotel Parq Central another chance to provide you with the excellence in hospitality that our team is capable of offering. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you soon!

All the best,

Noelle Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Agree completely with other positive reviews. We recently stayed two nights at the Parq Central and thoroughly enjoyed it. It is in concept an upscale boutique hotel, very stylishly appointed, with very nice amenities such as exceptionally comfy robes, hot tub, fitness center, free wifi and parking, coffee set out on each floor in the morning, excellent complimentary breakfast (including various quiches, fresh fruit salad, yogurt, various hot drinks and juices, tasty pastries, etc.) The rooftop bar (open to the public) also has a lovely night view of Albuquerque. The best thing about it, however, is the staff. They were without exception the friendliest and most helpful hotel staff we have ever encountered. The front desk staff, breakfast staff, and managers clearly wanted to do everything possible to be helpful. Even the staff one casually encountered in the hallways - maintenance and cleaning people, etc.- always had a friendly greeting and a smile.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelleWallace, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Parq Central, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Dear VirginiaTravels,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us at Hotel Parq Central. We are so glad that you were able to enjoy your time here relaxing in the cozy robes, spending some time in the hot tub and utilizing our fitness center. The breakfast is something we really enjoy offering and we are pleased that you found it to be delicious. Albuquerque in the evening is gorgeous and we are glad you were able to take in the scene on our rooftop. We agree with you that our staff is the most vital piece of Hotel Parq Central. Each member of our team enjoys interacting with our guests, making sure the experience they have with us is memorable, and to us, that is what hospitality is all about.

We again thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Albuquerque!

All the best,

Noelle Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

We found the hotel lovely and very comfortable. The staff was the best. Many pleasant little suprises such as a morning coffee station and laundry facility on our floor. Internet and parking are actually free. The location wasn't very convenient to the business district but they do offer a free shuttle that was available when we needed it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelleWallace, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Parq Central, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Dear Valval44,

We appreciate your review of your stay at Hotel Parq Central. We are so happy that you were comfortable during your time with us and that you found our staff to be the best. The goal of our staff is to ensure that each guest has an excellent experience with us from the moment of arrival. The morning coffee stations are something we enjoy offering, as it allows you to relax with a cup of coffee in your room without having to brew it yourself. We are glad you found the laundry room to be useful during your stay. It pleases us that while we are not situated in the business district that you were able to utilize our shuttle service and hopefully relax after your day of work upon returning to the hotel.

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to your next stay with us!

All the best,

Noelle Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Absolutely deserves its #1 ranking - perfect location, fantastic rooms and decor, free breakfast with fresh made pastries and quiches, free wifi, extremely friendly and helpful staff. It's absolutely perfect for a trip to the area and I would happily stay here again (and that's saying a lot because I travel a ton, stay at a lot of hotels, and can be pretty demanding and high maintenance).

The only minor consideration is if you're traveling for business - there isn't a desk in the room (there is technically a pull-out shelf in the dresser that can be used as a desk but there's no office chair, so you can't sit down). There is lots of space in the public areas and a business center, so that's an option.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelleWallace, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Parq Central, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Dear RubyBolt,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us! We are so glad that you liked the decor and the location. We are also happy that you enjoyed your room and even though there was not a suitable in-room work space, we are pleased that the public areas and business center met your needs. Most importantly, is delights us that our staff was friendly and helpful during your stay.

We appreciate your feedback, especially since you are a seasoned traveler, and we look forward to your next visit to Hotel Parq Central!

All the best,

Noelle Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

This completely restored hospital turned into a very unique hotel. I loved the decor, the beds were very comfortable. Yes, the rooms are a tad small, but thats just part of the charm. The rooftop bar was really neat. I found this hotel on trip advisor as we were rolling into Albuquerque. We only stayed here one night as we were passing though on our summer road trip to the Grand Canyon. Originally, we weren't planning on stopping in Alburquerque, but what a little gem we would have missed. We walked down to the Standard Dinner for dinner, a little more route 66 nostalgia.My one and only complaint was that i didnt have quick access to a diet coke...my husband got me one from someone in the dinning area, when, someone, I'm guessing was a manager asked us about our stay, i said the only thing missing was my morning diet coke, no pepsi please. the next thing I new the guy brought me a 2 litter diet coke, even let me take with me....Thanks so much, just the little extra service. The breakfast was fabulous, have them warm the muffin with a little butter, just wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelleWallace, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Parq Central, responded to this review, September 16, 2011
Dear Razorbackmomma,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to write a review. We are so happy that you found the rooms comfortable; a great nights sleep is very important and we made sure to find the best mattresses to ensure the comfort of our guests. The rooftop bar offers a beautiful view and we are pleased that you enjoyed your time up there. Standard Diner has a fun twist on traditional diner food and we think it is a great choice for dinner in our neighborhood.
We have heard from several guests that the availability of Coke and in some cases Pepsi is the only thing they would change and we have listened! We now have a mini-fridge with a variety of offerings behind the front desk and a guest service agent would be more than happy to provide one at any time of day. We are delighted that our Managing Director was able to talk with you and find a Diet Coke to bring you with your breakfast; connecting with our guests is truly a joy for all of us.
We are so glad that you found us and we hope your trip to the Grand Canyon was spectacular! See you again soon!

All the best,
Noelle Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Parq Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parq Central

Address: 806 Central Ave, SE, Albuquerque, NM 87102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque > Huning Highland Historic District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 146 Hotels in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Parq Central 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect blend of contemporary comfort and historic elegance, our boutique hotel is ideal for leisure and business travelers in search of superior service and a memorable place to stay in Albuquerque. This is a place to rest, relax and refresh with stylishly appointed guestrooms, an outdoor dining plaza, spacious garden park and a rooftop lounge with panoramic views of the mountains, downtown city lights and enchanting Southwest sunsets. Don’t just stay in Albuquerque — get away to an urban oasis at Hotel Parq Central. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Parq Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Parq Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.