We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location, lovely host!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Petroglyphs! Guest House

Petroglyphs! Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Albuquerque
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Petroglyphs! Guest House
Save
You added Petroglyphs! Guest House to your Saves list
8032 Petroglyph Avenue NW, Albuquerque, NM 87120   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 24 Albuquerque B&B and Inns
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful location, lovely host!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The location of the guest house can't be beat - right across from Petroglyphs National Monument. You can go for a walk whenever you want and the neighborhood is very comfortable. Carol is a great host - there is a library of books about the area (history, geology, activities, etc.) - and if you ask she will give you lots of information. Carol knew what we were interested before we arrived and she had obtained some very helpful materials for us. What a great welcome.

Her breakfasts are yummy - breakfast burritos and more. When the weather is nice, it's breakfast on the patio. On the day we flew home VERY EARLY, she had left a variety of breakfast bars and travel-size juice for us. That was so thoughtful.

Yep - the bed is small for a couple. But it didn't bother us that much because we happily booked a second stay with Carol.

If you are looking for a plush, romantic B&B, this is not for you. But we weren't and the description on the web page was quite accurate. It's comfortable, clean, and with a kovely host and breakfasts.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    0
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

This guest house is located at the foot of one of the most significant petroglyph locations in the area. The accommodations are simple and satisfactory. The breakfast good and filling. The innkeeper knowledgeable, direct and somewhat intrusive.

We were in Albuquerque during a bitter cold spell. The home was kept quite cold and we slept in several layers of clothes so as not to have to trouble the status quo.
It was like staying with a family member. One whom you enjoyed visiting and discussing things with, but one you could never escape once inside the house.

The petroglyphs were magical. Carol mentioned that they "reveal" themselves to you and she was so right.

That said, I would go back if the conditions were right. It would have to be warmer and I would have to be without my spouse. The conditions were unsatisfactory for someone who needs it warm.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Petroglyphs! Guest House, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
Seldom is heard a discouraging word...a small B & B isn't to everyone's taste..and if guests don't alert the owner to heat/cold or other issues, they can't be remedied. We welcome constructive input, especially while you're still here and can fix it right away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

So you have a house with three bedrooms - so you "create" a Bed and Breakfast without any modifications to the house. Carol was nice and the location was right next to Petroglyphs National Monument, BUT this was like staying with an elderly aunt.

The bed was a standard, too small for a couple, the sheets were cheap and scratchy, and the bathroom was not in the bedroom.

The breakfast was only OK with really cheap and bad coffee.

This is Bed and Breakfast hell.................

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Petroglyphs! Guest House, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
There are no hotels, motels, campgrounds or other B&B's adjacent to the petroglyphs, so the only lodging is this home. Before you inquire or book here, be sure to read the web site and reviews. The site indicates what breakfast options are, that there is a queen bed and the bath is adjoining.
Elderly--not. The vast majority of guests enjoy the accommodations; the setting; the breakfast and the host. But, you can't please all the people, all the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

Carol was a wonderful host, very knowledgeable of the area, especially the petroglyphs, really made us feel at home. the breakfast omelets were a thing to behold, such a scrumptuous way to start the day off, especially when topped with local Albuquerque salsa.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Petroglyphs! Guest House, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
Thanks! You can read many many more reviews like this one on the web site. While we can't be all things to all people, we try our best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Petroglyphs! Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petroglyphs! Guest House

Address: 8032 Petroglyph Avenue NW, Albuquerque, NM 87120
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albuquerque Bed and Breakfast adjacent to Petroglyph National Monument. Scenic hiking, birding and rock art. A peaceful, ancient setting. Perfect for singles, couples or families. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petroglyphs! Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.