We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We always stop here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of American RV Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added American RV Park to your Saves list
American RV Park
13500 Central Ave SW, Albuquerque, NM 87121   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Cruz, California
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
32 hotel reviews
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“We always stop here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We've been stopping here once or twice a year for at least a decade. It's not the most convenient park to the city (far west side) but it's a great place to rest. The sites & hookups are decent, there are some trees & a little bit of grass, the bathrooms are immaculate, the help (& new management) have been great, & the breakfast (tho definitely nothing special!) is handy & appreciated. The park is right next to I-40 so there's a lot of truck noise, but after a while we hardly notice it. Our only complaint is that the hot tub is only warm & that closing it at 6pm is an insult to the mostly-adult clientele of the park.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    28
    8
    3
    5
See reviews for
33
34
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We have just come from spending three nights at this park. We found the service efficient and the cleanliness of the facilities excellent. We only took advantage of the free continental breakfast once, but found it a nice touch. The swimming pool was closed but at this time of the year you would not want to use it anyway. They also had a special deal stay for 3, pay for 2, which we thought was very good value. A very well organised park and I would certainly recommend to all.

Room Tip: Stayed on 77 which was close to facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minden, NV
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
57 hotel reviews
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This park staff is by far the most organized I've seen in years! We always stay here when we come thru Albuquerque as it is clean and a great RV park. Mostly shady and paved sites. Less than $35 Good Sam rate which includes a continental breakfast in the clubhouse. It is located about 6 miles west of town but all sightseeing is freeway close - 10 minutes to Old Town.

Would recommend without hesitation

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We spent weeks planning across country tour for 3 weeks and had made all reservations before we left home. We got to American RV Park, and everything was looking promising until we got all set up. ARP Employee Doug comes by and says are temp. Pet fence is allowed but only if our dogs were leashed behind the fence. The reservation staff was informed of our pet fence and we even requested a larger site because of the fence which their staff said no problem. We get here to find out the pet fence is not allowed. Sure, take our reservation, let us set up and then say something. Not a fair way to treat a customer. Then Doug gets the park manager over and tells me "we have a problem". Park manager says they do not allow the pet fence at all. Well their reservation staff did not have a problem with it and Doug said it was ok but you needed to leash your dogs even with the pet fence but the manager said we were misinformed, twice not once. I believe a previous reviewer got it right when he said unwritten rules apply here. Watch out for the old bait and switch with American RV Park. Other reviewers were right, cramped spots, unwritten rules. I should have listened but this park appeared in a little booklet saying it was one of the best places to RV. I DO NOT THINK SO. My three days here, we cut to 1 and that is because I did not want to reset everything back up. Saves your self some money and aggravation, DO NOT STAY HERE UNLESS YOU LIKE BEING TREATED LIKE CRAP. I have no clue where these people that had good things to say stayed because it was not here.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama, United States
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Very friendly staff. We paid extra for an end site, as the regular sites are cramped. We could not utilize the grassy area on our site due to ant hills everywhere. So that was $80 waisted. Also, the internet was not good at all. I had to go to the office several times to hook up directly to their network just so I could connect to a website. Other than that, it's a nice park. With a bit of attention to detail, they could have a real nice park here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma, Arkansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I stayed at American rv park in june,2012.very nice rv park. it had shade grass. Great pool and very good breakfast. all employees I talked to were very nice and offered great advice. I had to have the 5th wheel trairler work on at camping world( same exit on north access road ) Don't stop at first rv park on south access road(high desert rv park no shade. it is cheaper though.I have been travelling 30 years . If I were in the area,I would always stay at american rv park.Nice dog area. Good playground for children. It is on the west side of town at exit 149.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Nice place. very clean, flat, easy in, and out of spots. clean pool. and breakfast too. they are a little far out of town for some people, but I like it out here. If you have a dog there is the dog run or you can take a few steps and turn them loose in the praire. small park for the kids. employees were all very nice. The Internet is very quick too!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to American RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American RV Park

Address: 13500 Central Ave SW, Albuquerque, NM 87121
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to American RV Park, an Albuquerque New Mexico RV park and the highest rated RV Park in New Mexico. With our convenient location to downtown Albuquerque, New Mexico, we make the perfect NM Balloon Festival camping location. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage American RV Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.