We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wish I had gone to Trombinos!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Torinos' @ Home

Torinos' @ Home
7600 Jefferson Street, Suite 21, Albuquerque, NM 87109
505-797-4491
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #125 of 1,533 Restaurants in Albuquerque
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Northern Italian restaurant. Open 5 days a week Tuesday-Saturday 11am to 9 pm.Children are welcome, but our menu does not have a kid menu, children will have to eat what parents will eatAnd must be polite and dine with rispect for the others guests in the dining room
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“I wish I had gone to Trombinos!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I both had the brisket with gnocchi for dinner and oh my, what an utter dissapointment. The beef was either ridiculously fatty or completely dry and I counted 8 gnocchi in total. For a restaurant that boasts about its pasta, you would expect more than 8 gnocchi. I was very disappointed.
We also had the flour-less chocolate cake. It tasted old and dry.
Overall, we spent way too much money on food that is decidedly sub-par. We will not return.

I wish we had gone to Trombinos. Their food is excellent and fairly priced. (And before you can say that I have no idea what good Italian tastes like, I am Italian, I have eaten many times in Little Italy in NYC, and have travelled to Italy.)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    41
    16
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Titusville, Florida
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“An Italian Party in my mouth!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The Tripadvisor reviews steered us to a dinner reservation at Torino’s… and it was spot on! Everything was geared towards premium customer service – from Daniela’s description of the menu, to Russell’s excellent table service, and finally the quality of the food and dining experience. Each menu item is hand-crafted with skill and love of cuisine. We sat on the patio and enjoyed a delicious appetizer of marinated figs with prosciutto and a sparkling wine. Our entrée, although from the appetizer menu, was a healthy serving of several delicately fried offerings (Fritto Misto): pecorino Romano ravioli, baccalao croquettes, fried calamari, and tarragon aioli. We capped the dinner with some strong espresso and relived our holidays in Italy!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albuquerque
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“still in business?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

golly, i never thought that this restaurant would still be in business. extremely fatty brisket - extremely - and report to the wait person only elicited - oh, i'm sorry....the wines were good but i felt bait-and-switch - we are out of the less expensive wines..... this was months ago but the lack of responsiveness when we showed the amount of fat on our brisket? not only should our entire meals should have been comped but they should have offered a dessert or wine....nope, let me guess, they were out of the wine....

perhaps approximately 3-4 months after we visited, they have improved....just had to post this after i saw how many people said positive comments (and yes, i understand the importance of some fat in the flavor of dishes....this was beyond flavor.....and, yes, i have had authentic italian cuisine in various parts of itay....)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torinos, Owner at Torinos' @ Home, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Yes we are still in business!
What kind of review is that
You came to our restaurant ordering a beef brisquet a fatty cut if you wanted lean meat we serve a flat iron steak. Your review is very offensive, I understand that you might not like our place but I will ask you to change the title of your review as it is uncalled for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A little known gem...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Went to eat for the first time at Torinos' and thought it was absolutely great both in terms of service and the food. Everything was very fresh. The outdoor patio (in the shade) was lovely. I had the tuna steak and it was perfect. The homemade olive bread was delicious!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“They've won us over”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Our first visit, right after they relocated from Santa Fe, did not leave us impressed. We've been back twice and they've won us over. Excellent food that reflects the owners - not the same cookie cutter menu items you see at many restaurants. From appetizer all the way to cappuccino with dessert, the food is high quality, well prepared, and very tasty.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Torinos' @ Home also viewed

 

Been to Torinos' @ Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Torinos' @ Home, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.