We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tapas were a real treat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cosmo Tapas - CLOSED

Cosmo Tapas
4200 Central Ave SE, Albuquerque, NM 87108 (Nob Hill)
(505) 232-0535
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Nob Hill
Cross street: Sierra
Transit: The city bus stop is 30 yards from our doors.
Description: The Albuquerque Journal gave us its highest rating a few months after we opened, the first time they gave that rating to a new restaurant in 20 years. Come for the food and you will also enjoy the upscale contemporary decor, the full bar/lounge, and the patio. The perfect place in upscale Nob Hill. We serve "tapas" (small plates) with European, Asian, and South American influences and a great selection of entrees for a wonderful dining experience. Tapas are the essence of an entree, not fillers. A second review "An Affair to Share" highlighted the social nature of tapeo (eating tapas). We invite you to taste the foods we prepare with love and with the best ingredients- including our Albuquerque the Magazine award winning scallops. If you cannot decide which ethnic restaurant to go to, visit us- our motto is "taste the world". Enjoy our very specially selected wines and drink creations our bartenders/chef team won second place in the city! Our entertainment is great.
EDGEWOOD,NM
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Tapas were a real treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Had been meaning to try this place for a while, since I've enjoyed other Tapas restaurants across the country. This one certainly ranks high on my list after taking my wife there on a recent Friday evening. Nice variety of tapas on the menu, arranged by seafood, meat and vegitarian. They also have several entrees if you don't want to deal with deciding which tapas to get. Not having been there, we each ordered three tapas... all were delicious, but especially the stuffed dates. Although we were pretty full after that, we shared a dessert; it was a caramel flan, but was correctly described as a cross between flan and cheesecake. Quite yummy. The ambience is cozy, with a seperate bar area and dining area. The evening we were there they had a small jazz group performing in the bar. We picked the dining room to have a bit more quiet. All told, a very nice evening. Oh, and if you don't have a huge appetite, two tapas per person is probably plenty... we walked out stuffed! They also have a nice wine and specialty cocktail list.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    7
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Not-So Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

After three straight New Mexican meals, we were ready for a bit of a change of pace, and something a little lighter. Cosmo Tapas certainly filled the bill. Even though it's located just a few blocks east of the busy Nob Hill area on Central Avenue, it has the feel of being off the beaten path. It proved to be a real gem.

Although there are full entrees available, we opted for several of the tapas plates. Some have a bit of an Asian influence, but we stuck with more traditional options. The lanza de carne with chimichuri sauce was delicious, as was the grilled artichoke. The bowl of sauteed mushrooms with wine and garlic was a tremendously generous portion for a mere $6. Overall, the amount of food, coupled with the quality was a great value. We also enjoyed a nice bottle of Spanish granacha for a mere $24. The dining room is pleasant enough, and we did enjoy warming ourselves by the fireplace while live music from the bar area wafted in. The service was excellent - always available but never overbearing. We left warm, full and very satisfied. Cosmo comes highly recommended!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Regular stop for locals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We usually go to Cosmo every month or so. The tapas are fantastic and the house margaritas are some of the best in town. The wine list is also great. The owner always greets us. We like to sit in the bar and enjoy the live music they usually have.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Fabulous food, service and atmosphere!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I had no idea that Albuquerque had such a delightful eating establishment, the food and service top notch. Owner's are a delightful couple that make you feel right at home! Now my favorite place to eat and take friends to.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longboat Key, Florida
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Change of Pace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We needed variety after Thanksgiving and Cosmo was just the place to offer it. Spanish guitar in the bar provided the mood and the menu provided the variety. We had fabulous Chilean empanadas, as good as any in Santiago. The small 4 oz. beef with chimichurri was just right in size, preparation and taste. We also had a variety of Spanish hams, cheeses and chorizos. Of special interest was the $ 10 flight of three Chilean wines. Dessert was the best three leches we ever had. Service was attentive and professional.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cosmo Tapas also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cosmo Tapas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.