We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All around a great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1921 Yale Blvd. SE, Albuquerque, NM 87106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #10 of 146 hotels in Albuquerque
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“All around a great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport is a wonderful hotel. Although it was only a stopover on our way to Santa Fe, both of our stays on the day we’d arrived as well as the day of our departure was excellent. The accommodation and facilities are in a tip-top shape, the rooms were impeccable, check ins and check outs were efficient, the staff was friendly and helpful, and it took only 3 minutes to get to the airport. It’s definitely a place we’ll come back to.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABQYI, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear gl0betrotter,

On behalf of our entire staff, thank you so much for your review on our Holiday Inn Express Albuquerque Airport! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warmest regards,

Angel Ortega
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    69
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
57
53
20
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

stayed on 12/29/12, passing through on a long road trip back from the holidays. had a hard time deciding which HIE to stay at in the area & was very glad I chose this one based on other reviews. Hotel is newer than some others & convenient to both I-25 & I-40. Night staff were very pleasant (fairly "bubbly" even, considering how quiet the hotel was at that time of night) & immediately acknowledged me as a priority club member. has all the usual HIE amenities (free hot b-fast, fitness room, indoor pool, fridge & micro in room). the things that distinguish the HIE's from each other are the staffs & the age/cleanliness of the property & this one was above avg on all counts. b-fast area was kept fresh/hot/stocked & clean in a.m., spacious dining area. has an in-room dining menu, but Applebee's just a short walk across the street also & many other nearby dining options. although I didn't hear any airport noise or other outside noises, I did forget to ask for a room away from the elevators & could frequently hear noise of guests in the hall until about 11 pm & then first thing in the a.m. also. morning staff at desk not nearly as friendly as night staff, and while pleasant enough, didn't ask how my stay was or anything other than to thank me for returning the room keys (I was spoiled by the night staff I guess!)

Room Tip: ask for rooms away from elevator to avoid frequent guest noise in hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen, Texas, USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

From the booking experience to the stay, our whole experience was wonderful, which is very typical of a Holiday Inn Express. We were on the road, so I booked with their 800 service. The staff was very friendly, from the front desk to the nice lady taking care of guests at breakfast. The rooms are predictably nice, with great beds, pillows, showers, and towels. The facility was clean and in very nice shape.

Breakfast was very good with a nice selection, and food was all cooked properly. It's conveniently located to an Applebee's, so we walked across the street for a late supper. The neighborhood is good.

We'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I prefer to stay on the top floor so I don't have the sense of elephants walking around above me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABQYI, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip into Albuquerque!

Kind regards,

Angelica Ortega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

For persons flying into and especially out of Albuquerque's International Sunport, the Hoilday Inn Express at the Airport is as perfect a place as one might wish to find. There are a good number of hotels/motels that are physically closer to the airport than the HIE but it is located no more than five minutes away and a straight shot into the grounds whether arriving in a rental car or in the motel's van.

My wife and I, after years of trying whatever chain motel looked the most appealing or, in some cases got the highest rating on TripAdvisor, finally settled some time ago on the Holiday Inn Express as our "go to" place to stay whenever possible. We have never been disappointed and, certainly, we were not when we chose this location for an evening's stay before leaving New Mexico once again after a several week visit. The staff of the HIE is superb -- friendly, outgoing, and perhaps more importantly, knowledgeable about the area. The beds were extremely comfortable, the breakfast excellent, the "extras" such as the small business center very useful. We were especially impressed by the fact that staff, realizing that travelers often want to send picture postcards but, these days, have a hard time finding them, have not only stocked up on a wide selection from Albuquerque but also from throughout the state and then made them available free to those who need them, even offering to mail them free of charge. It is a little thing to be sure but a sign of caring concern for clients that we have never seen anywhere else in the United States.

The HIE Sunport is a fine place to stay in southern Albuquerque. Not only is it perfect for those needing the services of the airport but It is reasonably close to the University of New Mexico's campus and even closer to the Albuquerque Isotopes' fine minor league baseball park as well. Would we return? In a second -- and others ought to consider doing so too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe (California), California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Got off my flight late in the evening to find my hotel reservation was never confirmed. Used Priceline app and found this hotel right at Albuquerque Sunport. Van arrived in 5 minutes, took me to the shiny new hotel lobby. I was given a Queen Suite for $59. Nice folks, great breakfast and bam - courteous staff got me to the airport in 5 minutes.

Room Tip: Ask for queen suite if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABQYI, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear BigDogCa2013,

On behalf of our entire staff, thank you so much for your review on our Holiday Inn Express Albuquerque Airport! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warmest regards,

Angel Ortega
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I have actually stayed at this hotel a number of times and am just now getting around to review it. Overall it is a clean and well maintained property.

I usually get the deluxe room which is a double sized room with a mini fridge and microwave. The rooms have always been clean and comfortable. My only complaint is the lack of in room movies. I was actually surprised that they do not offer this amenity, at least not as of the last time that I stayed there.

The complimentary breakfast is always good. There are a lot of choices and it is set up and kept up pretty good. It has a lot of seating and I have never had to fight any crowds to eat.

The business center computers were not the most reliable and printing was an issue the last time I was there. Fortunately the front desk was able to let me print what I needed from their computer.

The parking is ample and the hotel is conveniently located to the airport which is a big plus for me.

I would say that this is definitely one of the nicest HI Express hotels that I have stayed in and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
275 reviews 275 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
373 helpful votes 373 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Check in went smoothly as you would expect from Holiday Inn Express staff. Hotel was full and I can see why. Parking lot was well lit and was safe. Large room, 2 phones, 2 night stands, nice seating area & great lighting. Frig and microwave. The bathroom was really beautiful. Granite counter tops with a vessel sink. Nice shower with good water pressure. Quiet room, didn't hear a thing. Plug in's everywhere for our phones and electronics. Frig and Microwave. Bed was very comfortable with nice linens.Good price on the room. Breakfast was nice - pancakes were good and they had fresh fruit. Yes! Not all places do. The breakfast room was huge with lots of tables and the staff did a nice job keeping things filled. Other hotels need to have these pancake makers. They are much better and easier to use than the waffle makers.

We were able to get a ride to Old Town via the hotel shuttle. That was really nice!

This was our first stop in New Mexico. We were very pleased. Next time we come to Albuquerque this is where we will stay.

Room Tip: Get a King room. They are really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABQYI, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you so much for your thoughtful comments on your recent stay here with us at Holiday Inn Express Albuquerque Airport. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts and takes the time to say thank you. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make the Holiday Inn Express Albuquerque Airport a leader in excellence.

Once again, thank you for your feedback! We look forward to the opportunity of serving you again in the future. Thank you for choosing IHG.

Yours in hospitality,

Angelica Ortega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport

Address: 1921 Yale Blvd. SE, Albuquerque, NM 87106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#23 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
#42 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the base of the Sandia Mountains, our Albuquerque airport hotel's property offers majestic mountain views and an opportune location near outstanding attractions like downtown Albuquerque, Historic Old Town, Journal Pavilion, Isotopes Park, Balloon Fiesta Park, Sandia Tram, and Sandia and Isleta Casino. If you're traveling with kids, the Albuquerque Zoo and Natural History Museum are also nearby.Looking for outstanding hotels in Albuquerque? Consider staying with us, as we offer perks like a 24-hour fitness center, complimentary breakfast bar and high-speed Internet access throughout this Albuquerque hotel. For great deals and amenities, our modern hotel is definitely the smart choice! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Albuquerque Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.